Do Pies need to have a shocking end of year?

1980GFVideo

Jun 21, 2004
Heidelberg
Not Trolling guys, just wanted to pass a conversation between a Collingwood mate and other Collingwood fans during the Port Adelaide game and see what you think.

They were not delirious about beating Port Adelaide but rather they were concerned that if the pies had a good end of the year then it would not spark any type of harsh action at the club.

They felt that wins like this one would only keep the club in a state of 'all is good' and would restore thier faith in everything that was in place rather than make the changes that they wanted to see.

is this your feeling towards wins with the finals unlikely at this stage?

i think after last night that question is not entirely relevant. probably would like to win more than lose, but...meh i think we'll probably be better off long term if we lose a few, hate to say it though

1980GFVideo said:
Not Trolling guys, just wanted to pass a conversation between a Collingwood mate and other Collingwood fans during the Port Adelaide game and see what you think.

They were not delirious about beating Port Adelaide but rather they were concerned that if the pies had a good end of the year then it would not spark any type of harsh action at the club.

They felt that wins like this one would only keep the club in a state of 'all is good' and would restore thier faith in everything that was in place rather than make the changes that they wanted to see.

Atleast we beat the teams we SHOULD beat, I won't complain.

1980GFVideo said:

Yes .............................................. You are trolling

you are right its not a troll its a conversation between die hard Collingwood supporters.

One of those blokes was almost in tears one day because Wilde and Godden was wearing your jumper.

He loves the club but is sick of the way things are going and feels the only way significant changes will take place is if there is a really poor result and end of the season. Things finnished well for you last year and big changes were not made. Expected it to roll on to next year.

Remember it was a crap day against Carlton in 1999 that has Eddie fuming in the commentary box and finally deciding to unseat Rose and his board.

i dont think a good end to the season will save a few from the axe...it is pretty clear our list has deficiencies which need to be rectified, and a few players already have been stamped and red-penned

last years crop of draftees look alright, and if we can have another decent haul this year in the draft, sure we might have some more pain in the near future, but building towards the top again is alright

some players will be playing for futures from here on in, hopefully there will be some pride on the line and perhaps some games getting won for the sake of the Black and White

I think some hard calls will be made regardless , I'd personally really question Balme and Kleiman's positions in our football department and as for players Lokan , Williams and King are givens and I'd hope we would look at de-listing or trading players like Woewodin ,Jason Cloke and the like who are only a step backwards.
I think there is definately some emerging talent in this list and if you were to bottom out I don't think this years draft would be the one to do it.

Fixing the midfield is key but it will most likely take more than 1 season to do.

I think it would be in our best interests not to win another game but we have carlton to come and i reckon we'll beat them thus being ineligible for a priority.

Hopefully there will be mass sackings though at the end of the year.

We need the favours a poor end of the year would bring us. If there is a frustrting point to Malty is that he gets the most out of some very limited players and he is doing it again this year. Sure its honourable and great we knocked of premiership fancies as well as the defending premier but in reality we have and still do lack in the class stakes. We are mentally intimidated by the Lions and it looks like this 'scar' is going to be a generational one which will last for years to come.The only way to overcome it is in with the new and out with the old.Tarrants and Davis's and Obree's and the like have never stood up to this side and never will, therefore we will never be genuine as long as these faces are in the side.

We need to rort the system a bit the way the Saints did it, the way the Hawks are currently doing it and get the most out of placing in the lower regions of the ladder. Hawks will get another 2 great kids this year. we need to blood the rest of the kids and endure the 'ositive' consequences this will ultimatley provide.

Do Pies need to have a shocking end of year?