Do the Ammos...

long_live_alstey

Still really think they are a better competition than EFL Division 1?

After last year seeing Old Haileybury get a nasty smashing by both Noble Park & East Ringwood, in very serious warm up matches & the huge money on offer in the EFL attracting so many players.

Who is the best?

NB: I can confirm the EFL has asked the ammos for an interleague match & the VAFA admin refuse.

Still really think they are a better competition than EFL Division 1?

After last year seeing Old Haileybury get a nasty smashing by both Noble Park & East Ringwood, in very serious warm up matches & the huge money on offer in the EFL attracting so many players.

Who is the best?

NB: I can confirm the EFL has asked the ammos for an interleague match & the VAFA admin refuse.

They probably refused goon because already one of our STATE matches has been cancelled because of the season reshuffle. The only other time a rep match will be played will be against another STATE team.
Go play with your sister.

Interesting to note the result of East Ringwood (mid range EFL Div 1) vs Old Haileybury (DV Ammo Premiers) today.

Absolute belting an under strength East Ringwood dished out to the best side in the VAFA.

How will Old Haileybury go against Noble Park on Thursday Night?

Interesting to note the result of East Ringwood (mid range EFL Div 1) vs Old Haileybury (DV Ammo Premiers) today.

Absolute belting an under strength East Ringwood dished out to the best side in the VAFA.

How will Old Haileybury go against Noble Park on Thursday Night?

Now let me get this straight. Did they give out 4 points for any of these warm up games in discussion?

As a coach I never put any store in the actual result of an early practice game. Sole focus was to work on structure and refining games plans. Add to this the trialling of new and lesser players in the senior game.

Just to help explode the myth of preseason results indicating regular season strength, here is an example from the other side of the coin.
Preseason 2006 Whitehorse Pioneers (eastern div4) at home Vs Box Hill North (vafa D4 or div 8). BHN won in a canter by 4 goals.

Wake up; only Carlton supporters get excited by preseason wins.

I'm sure East Ringwood were missing some but the OH team that played yesterday against East Ringwood would be at least 20 goals behind the OH team that will run out round 1 this year when 4 points are up for grabs.

What is the average match payment at East Ringwood or Noble Park? At OH I reckon the average payment would be zero.

Practice matches are for practice not points.

I'm sure East Ringwood were missing some but the OH team that played yesterday against East Ringwood would be at least 20 goals behind the OH team that will run out round 1 this year when 4 points are up for grabs.

What is the average match payment at East Ringwood or Noble Park? At OH I reckon the average payment would be zero.

Practice matches are for practice not points.

Fair Dinkum. So let me just get this straight. You belive that D1 Ammos is 120pts superior comp to Div 1 EFL. Mate as a guy who has played in both comps I can tell you that the standard is pretty close to each other. What I do know for certain is EFL is a lot tougher when it comes to hard footy. Ammos is cleaner and more open (due in part to the grounds), however, a far better standard overall, I dont think so.

I am not sure what relevence the player payments has to do with it either.

No Slug, you misunderstood my post I was not talking about D section at all. What I was trying to get at was that Old Haileybury (A Section Premiers 2006) were very undermanned on the weekend against East Ringwood (EFL Div 1 Middle of the ladder 2006). As I said I am sure that East Ringwood also had some out but OH had about 10-12 missing from the team that won the flag last year. The 20 goal comment was comparing OH on the weekend with a full strength OH.

I agree with your comments regarding the comparison of competitions and variations in style of play, the standard during the regular season would be reasonably close but I think EFL would currently have the edge. Ammo clubs have had their lists cut back by clubs that are handing out cash, as those players know they can come back anytime they want with the rule change last year.

The point I was making with player payments was that if teams like Noble Park and East Ringwood with player lists that cost upwards of $250,000 per season got beaten by a team from A section amateurs with a list that costs practically nothing then big questions would have to be asked.

Ammo's not paying players? Your nose is growing!

Having seen Ammo footy at close level in Melbourne, Adelaide and Perth, the situation is the same ... dollars slipping out the back of the hand (though it is more confined to A and B levels, and don't say the schools don't do it - there's always reduced/free school fees for the right player).

No Slug, you misunderstood my post I was not talking about D section at all. What I was trying to get at was that Old Haileybury (A Section Premiers 2006) were very undermanned on the weekend against East Ringwood (EFL Div 1 Middle of the ladder 2006). As I said I am sure that East Ringwood also had some out but OH had about 10-12 missing from the team that won the flag last year. The 20 goal comment was comparing OH on the weekend with a full strength OH.

I agree with your comments regarding the comparison of competitions and variations in style of play, the standard during the regular season would be reasonably close but I think EFL would currently have the edge. Ammo clubs have had their lists cut back by clubs that are handing out cash, as those players know they can come back anytime they want with the rule change last year.

The point I was making with player payments was that if teams like Noble Park and East Ringwood with player lists that cost upwards of $250,000 per season got beaten by a team from A section amateurs with a list that costs practically nothing then big questions would have to be asked.

From my memory ER defeated OH last year as well. Also after speaking to some OH players and committee they explained they were missing a few but also had lost upward of 8 players not playing from last seasons premiership team. (This is not a bagging of OH either just a response to this silly posting)

Also from memory ER were not middle of the road but all three sides played of in the Premlinary Final last season.

The only certainty is this continuing argument is that the boys from the EFL have some sort of complex. Why do they constantly want to compare **** sizes on here? Pathetic.

Which comp is better? Who gives a ****?

This is the VAFA site for VAFA talk. Bugger off back to your thread and discuss why the price of Jim Beam cans seems to have risen so drastically over the past couple of seasons.

Went and had a look at the OH v Noble game tonight. Poor performance by OH. Just could not find away around Nobles attacking game and poor decision making as well. No good having a super star such as Lowe if you only go in the 50 2-3 times a quarter. Not sure where OH will stand this year after loosing some players from last season but if that is the standard of the Ammos.....pass me another Jim Beam because it is pretty average.:D

Also sorry to weigh into the argument again but ER played Old Xav today and won by 11 goals. Not sure how full strenght Old Xav's were but Fleming and Graham both played.

ER had a few out as I would expect Old Xav did as well.

Put this on top of the 20 goal hiding Noble Park gave Old Hail last weekend and the 10 goal ER gave them the week before.

The top teams in the EFL are better than the top teams of VAFA but the VAFA have more depth. Aquinas which are in D2 (which is the fifth division of VAFA) beat North Ringwood which are in second Div EFL. Aquinas also beat The Basin, Div 4 EFL.