russel-jet

Rookie
England & SAF
Hi guys, i dont know if this has been discussed yet but just wanted to know your thoughts on who will be playing in the back pocket this year on the oppositions small forwards. Last year we played carrots there but i believe he is more suited to a midfield role. Scrolling through our list it seems that the only player who is quick and nimble enough to play on the farmers and milnes of the competion is walker but i expect him to really cement his place on the wing or in the guts this year...

Any thoughts??

Carrazzo and Walker are interesting. Both have played back over the past few years, but I think now that they have a better understanding of the game, they will be let loose. Walker will certainly be best playing of HBF and in the midfield. Carrazzo i'm not sure about. the only thing i'd question is his pace.

If I remember correctly, Carrazzo has picked up Aaron DAVEY when we've played the Demons and done a fairly good job. He is fairly quick and nimble and I think well suited to the Medhurst, farmer, milne etc type players.

I disagree, Carrazzo not suited as a back pocket player at all, too slow off the mark and not a natural defender. My mate knows him and said he wasn't happy when he was played there through first half of '06.

He's hardly played back pocket since Shannon Grant destroyed him there later in the season. Much more suited up the ground on the half back flank or wing eg in a sweeper role, but unfortunately for him there's heated competition for those spots.

He also isn't very damaging up the ground, often his first instinct is to look backwards or sideways instead of long, but in his favour he's very good at finding the footy and can rack up the touches when he's let loose. Not suited to back pocket at all, but may see some time there on the right opponent given our lack of small back pockets - russel-jet's spot on, we just don't have a match up for the Farmers and Medhursts etc.

Maybe we could try Wiggins back there again - he did quite well on the HFF but could more likely cement his spot for another couple of years if he could do a Dean Rice type job for us in the back pocket.

I disagree, Carrazzo not suited as a back pocket player at all, too slow off the mark and not a natural defender. My mate knows him and said he wasn't happy when he was played there through first half of '06.

He's hardly played back pocket since Shannon Grant destroyed him there later in the season. Much more suited up the ground on the half back flank or wing eg in a sweeper role, but unfortunately for him there's heated competition for those spots.

He also isn't very damaging up the ground, often his first instinct is to look backwards or sideways instead of long, but in his favour he's very good at finding the footy and can rack up the touches when he's let loose. Not suited to back pocket at all, but may see some time there on the right opponent given our lack of small back pockets - russel-jet's spot on, we just don't have a match up for the Farmers and Medhursts etc.

Maybe we could try Wiggins back there again - he did quite well on the HFF but could more likely cement his spot for another couple of years if he could do a Dean Rice type job for us in the back pocket.

I reckon Carazzo will be one of 2007's big improvers. He is definitely not slow and has no trouble finding the footy. I also believe he is probably better suited to a more central role but h has done a pretty good job on some of the smaller, quicker forwards in the past couple of years (in fact his first year was very good in the back pocket).

Personally I think Russell will be worth a try (although may be better suited to HBF/Wing), Bower perhaps, Wiggins or Teague (maybe slow but will try his heart out)....this is defintely a gap for us but may be a fantastic opportunity to blood some of teh young new kids into AFL football

Hi guys, i dont know if this has been discussed yet but just wanted to know your thoughts on who will be playing in the back pocket this year on the oppositions small forwards.
The back-pocket is the nursery for the centre. That's where Ratten started, and where Whitehead starred. Anyone who plays there is destined for bigger things.

Carazzo is potentially a gun midfielder and small leading forward. His kicking is appalling though. How much of it is yips I don't know, but he seems pretty good on snap shots which tells me most of his problems are in his head. He has no problem finding the ball or running - the kid has a great tank.

Walker will also probably graduate to be part of the midfield rotation this year.

It's quite likely that Gibbs will find himself down there.

Not really sure defensive positions mean anything any more. Some guys get pulled back to the goal square more often than not but its really a defensive 6 (or 8 with the flood) working on double teaming some players and creating the run from another. Look at Pearce at Port Power and he lines up on the flank but doesnt pick up anyone, its just his job to get the handball and run it.

Where the defenders line up will depend on the opposition forward line. Pick any 7 of Thornton,Whitnall, Hartlett, Anderson, Russell, Flint, Carrazzo, Austin, Carlos and remember Scotland played 2006 all back and then you'll need 2 or 3 with genuine pace for what you are talking about as back pockets. Probably Russell first if Carrazzo is kept further upfield.

Anderson will pick up the fast types, Flint the ones that play taller.

We have a lot of traditional flankers in Anderson, Russell, Walker

Really think the Joe Anderson will develop into a pretty good BP player in years to come. Has a pretty good defensive side to his game, can run and carry with some pace, and has already played senior footy in Darwin, so he could debut reasonably early next year.

Still think that Carrazzo could find his way into the BP as well nexr year, even if he doesn't like playing there. Hell, SOS hated playing FB.

Carrazzo and Walker are interesting. Both have played back over the past few years, but I think now that they have a better understanding of the game, they will be let loose. Walker will certainly be best playing of HBF and in the midfield. Carrazzo i'm not sure about. the only thing i'd question is his pace.

What are you on about, Carrazzo has heaps of pace, shut down Cam Bruce and hes pretty slow isnt he :) .

And did the work on Lovett and Davey , 2 pacey aboriginals

i said the only thing i'd question is his pace.

Meaning, i couldn't remember if he was a speedster or not.

Thanks for clearing it up.

I wouldn't say he has great speed, but he's certainly not slow either. Really think this could be the season he comes out and shows us what he can do.

He's been a bit of a quiet achiever IMO. I think he will be good for us this year as well. :thumbsu:

The problem is trying to cut the team down to just 22, when we have so many players with the ability to compete with other teams :) It's very exciting :)

He's been a bit of a quiet achiever IMO. I think he will be good for us this year as well. :thumbsu:

The problem is trying to cut the team down to just 22, when we have so many players with the ability to compete with other teams :) It's very exciting :)

That's a good point AWG, and you have touched on something we haven't had at Carlton for some time now - Depth.

Not that it is great at this stage, but we are certainly building some, thats for sure.

That's a good point AWG, and you have touched on something we haven't had at Carlton for some time now - Depth.

Not that it is great at this stage, but we are certainly building some, thats for sure.

Have you attempted to do your line-up for Round 1? It's tough

While Carrazzo is honest enough, he's not good enough to star in midfield.... nowhere near damaging enough. Kicking is shocking. Played his best football as a back pocket and IMO should stay there. We'll have far too many better options in midfield than Carrazzo.

Yeah I have, and there are always going to be a few guys that have to miss out that could count themselves very unlucky.

Exactly. The last few years has seen the fringe players miss out. This time around it may be some big names.