Do you realistically back us against the Cats?

fella1

Mar 17, 2006
Thinking realistically, rather than hopefully, does anyone give us a decent shot against the Cats?

Just looked through the tipping thread then, and although we (along with the Hawks, although they were playing Melbourne) have to be one of the form teams coming out of Rd. 1, no one is giving us a sniff against Geelong (apart from one hopeful supporter).

From my POV, losing Lucas will make it very hard, as Lloydy will have to convincingly beat Scarlett to give us a chance. And, notwithstanding the great footy we played today, I just can't see many areas on the ground where we can beat Geelong.

What do you guys reckon?

Is going to be difficult but we have to be a chance on todays effort. We were going well against them last season for 2 and a half quarters before dropping off badly. But that said, we look a different side this year

Won't tip your mob next week.
Wouldn't take overs either.

Have said that, I won't be taking Geelong in a last-man-standing tipping comp either, so that shows Bombers earned some respect today (from someone who gave you none for 2008 before today's game).

FWIW I thought it was your hard running that potted the Roos today. After you ran them off their feet, you had your way with them basically. Before they blew up, it was a 50/50 bet.

You will struggle when you come up against sides that are as fit and sides that work to strongly pressure corridor running & handball.

.02 from a Hawks supporter.

I want to win, but being realistic it is going to be hard against the Cats.

Still, the players should learn alot and it will give us a better guage as to how we are travelling.

A loss to the Cats this weekend maybe a win for the future.

Is going to be difficult but we have to be a chance on todays effort. We were going well against them last season for 2 and a half quarters before dropping off badly. But that said, we look a different side this year

Before Hird and Hird went off injured. Interchange rotations killed us after 1/2 time.

Won't tip your mob next week.
Wouldn't take overs either.

Have said that, I won't be taking Geelong in a last-man-standing tipping comp either, so that shows Bombers earned some respect today (from someone who gave you none for 2008 before today's game).

FWIW I thought it was your hard running that potted the Roos today. After you ran them off their feet, you had your way with them basically. Before they blew up, it was a 50/50 bet.

You will struggle when you come up against sides that are as fit and sides that work to strongly pressure corridor running & handball.

.02 from a Hawks supporter.

I can see Essendon beating Geelong then losing to Carlton :(

I think Essendon's problem against Geelong will be can they play at a high standard for four quarters, the first quarter was a shocker, and while both sides were stuffed at three quarter time, I would want a better four quarter effort for Geelong are several classes ahead of North Melbourne.

While we will miss Lucus, I would like to see Davey and Windleich come in for we will need all the legs we can muster.

I agree with this, they were pretty much gone by late in the 2nd and it was free reign for us after that, which is what led to the massacre in the 3rd quarter. It will be interesting to see how Geelong handles this, as the Kangas' fitness was just not up to scratch.

I also thought that North didn't really hurt us on the rebound as much as they could have, which could also have been contributed to by their lack of fitness. We seemed to be slow getting back and marking up (which was demonstrated by their quick start), and I think we will get punished next week by Geelong on the rebound by their direct clean footy through the centre. Our disposal into the forward 50 is going to have to be top notch.

It will be a reality check for the Cats. we are an unknown quantity now. Lucas going down hurts us but with our pace I reckon we will get over the line

To beat Geelong we will need to win minimum 60% of the stoppages which will be a very hard task. Also have to run very very hard both ways and pressure Geelong when they have the ball. They are not quick leg speed wise but they are extremely quick ball speed wise (they don't miss) so thats where Davey, Jetta etc come in with pressure and chasing.
Laycock and Hille will be very important for first use for our midfield and when they are forward in Lucas' absence. Massive test for us i can't wait.

I reckon we're in with a decent chance, but they should come out on top (realistically).

I wouldn't be suprised if we matched it with them though and ended up winning.

I can see Essendon beating Geelong then losing to Carlton :(

I think Essendon's problem against Geelong will be can they play at a high standard for four quarters, the first quarter was a shocker, and while both sides were stuffed at three quarter time, I would want a better four quarter effort for Geelong are several classes ahead of North Melbourne.

While we will miss Lucus, I would like to see Davey and Windleich come in for we will need all the legs we can muster.

Exactly, If we can string a whole game together like our second half today we are in with a real shot.

Also I'd like to see Lloyd play at CHF to pull Scarlett away from the goals or have them play someone else on him. If Ottens is still out we will dominate the ruck and really stretch them going forward with the lack of Egan they only have 2 tall defenders. Key to winning is also shutting down Steve Johnson with Mcveigh playing in the middle its hard to see a real matchup on him (maybe Dempsey), he could be the match winner as I think we have their talls covered pretty well.

We have a habit of surprising a lot of people with our ability to got within a four goals or so of the competitions best teams.

I wouldnt be surprised either way.

Lucas has given us problems in the past so it does help that hes out.

Course u got a chance, cpl of geelong players go down, or they arent mentally ready for the Dons and it can happen. Have seen much bigger upsets than that.

Davey wasnt that bad today:eek: Surely you noticed him playing.

I think we are realistically little chance of beating the Cats. Having said that I believe it is certainly possibly and I take heart from last years performance against them where we battled manfully for 2 and a half quarters before eventually dropping off mainly due to the injuries on the bench.
Our forward line has the capacity to cause their defence some problems. Lloyd is a handful for any team. If he can kick 5, Lovett-Murray, Davey etc will need to be doing more than usual, then we could pose a challenge. Midfield will probably lose out understandably. Our defence will have a tough night against their forwards but by no means will be be totally outclassed. I hope that we are competitive and give them a run for their money.

Davey wasnt that bad today:eek: Surely you noticed him playing.

I think we are realistically little chance of beating the Cats. Having said that I believe it is certainly possibly and I take heart from last years performance against them where we battled manfully for 2 and a half quarters before eventually dropping off mainly due to the injuries on the bench.
Our forward line has the capacity to cause their defence some problems. Lloyd is a handful for any team. If he can kick 5, Lovett-Murray, Davey etc will need to be doing more than usual, then we could pose a challenge. Midfield will probably lose out understandably. Our defence will have a tough night against their forwards but by no means will be be totally outclassed. I hope that we are competitive and give them a run for their money.

Davey kicked the goal of the day :thumbsu:

I meant Lovett :D

I think we're a chance. Like last year I think we've got a reasonable chance to roll any team that comes our way -- one of the hardest teams to pick.

That comes with a young team that has a core of good experienced guys. The youngens will be up and down and when they're up generally the more consistant seniors will fire also.

As much has i would love to beat the cats, i just cant see it happening.
Id be extremely happy tho if we continued to run the game out yesterday and actually show something against the reigning premiers, but i must say we do have a habit of beating the reigning premiers. Sydney won in 05, beat them in Round 1 '06, West Coast '06 beat them Round 11 '07, Geelong '07....????? dont think so tho see what happens

We are a chance.

First point is the ruck. Hille and Laycock will make life quite difficult for Blake and West, so that would give Essendon's midfielders a reasonable chance of getting the ball giving Lloyd, Lovett-Murray and McPhee a good amount of opportunities up forward.

Will be a lot closer than many are suggesting.

If we can get of to a good strong start and not give away those silly free kicks like we did against North on monday then we will be in with a very big chance.

Now we have a team of true runners with good pace that can give the pussies a run for their money, Geelong will and have buckled under pressure in games before ;), so yes we are in with a very realistic chance of a win.

To quote Matty Knights: "one thing this team will not be is intimidated"

I believe we will give it a crack. We will dominate the ruck and hopefully davey, NLM, Houli, JJ et al will be hitting hard with the tackles. Geelongs second half was rather sluggish which allowed Port to catch up, so I'm sure they'll be very wary of our pace in the second half against north.
It's wont be the "bloodbath" those arrongant C$%&'s on the Geelong forum are predicting. thats for sure.

Depends whats happens up forward really, if the big man Laycock or Hille can fire along with lloyd... it should be a ripper!

Do you realistically back us against the Cats?