Farrand

Sep 20, 2003
England
East Side Hawkwing
Now, as Freo supporters I'm sure we've all been to Dockerland before, and I have to say posting on the forum there is a pain in the neck. The majority of the posts are cut to avoid controversy, and I have to say, its more then slightly annoying when you're emotional and want to voice your opinion, yet the posts is deleted and this just inflames the anger. Shane runs one hell of a dictatorship. Am I just being overly sensitive?

Great site with a lot of wit. I didn't know that MM was a moderator at the site Festivus. Is this an anon role?

Anyway he is one of the few regular contributors that make it such a great witty read without the childish banality of other sites.

By the way error,, is there an age limit to contribute to wehavethepassion?

Originally posted by festivus
Agreed, Dockerland is becoming very lame. It was OK last season but lately has become over-moderated by Shane and Mission Man.

Time to switch I reakon.

Does over-moderating include correcting spelling errors such as "reakon"?

And yes, I make a lot of spelling errors thanks to a dodgey keyboard, and of the approx 5 times I have made a contribution to Dockerland have had one deleted. I love reading the threads and Shane's articles each week though (for the last 2 years) and can't understand why you guys need to bag the site on another forum! Just don't go there!

Originally posted by error404
not at all, it's not my site but no posts are deleted.
why do you ask

Simply because you hold it up as an alternative and I don't rate it. I am not bagging, it is just not for me.

Originally posted by Balip
Thats true Purplesoul but it does get inordinately frustrating that heaps of posts disappear for no apparent reason.

Yep, but from what I have read from the regular contributors, they get the same treatment. My point, why whinge about it here. Don't go there if you don't like it. Or, if like me, would find it difficuilt to contribute, but enjoy the read.....well just go there and have a read!

You would have seen some regulars from here such as IP and Kenny making great contributions there recently. And vice versa with MM and in particular Pope on BF.

This has been done a thousand times before and the solution is simple. If you don't like a site, don't go there.

Spot on error. That is all I have said - other than I don't think this is the forum to bag another site, as you say, just don't go there!

Originally posted by purplesoul
Simply because you hold it up as an alternative and I don't rate it. I am not bagging, it is just not for me.

The thread started with one unhappy camper and I showed him a alternative site. I wasn't bagging but you obviously were not happy, got huffy and got the thread moving.

Not huffy at all mate. The thread gave an opinion on another site, you gave an alternative and I gave an opinion on that.

Originally posted by purplesoul
Does over-moderating include correcting spelling errors such as "reakon"?

And yes, I make a lot of spelling errors thanks to a dodgey keyboard, and of the approx 5 times I have made a contribution to Dockerland have had one deleted. I love reading the threads and Shane's articles each week though (for the last 2 years) and can't understand why you guys need to bag the site on another forum! Just don't go there!
Mate, if I tried voicing my concern on the actual site I'd just get my post deleted. But apart from 'iron fist' Shane's method of moderating, he writes some funny articles.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Just quietly , I am glad (in the cold light of day) that some of the drivel I posted last night on DL was deleted ;)

I can only wish that someone had done that for me here at times Rip!

i like dockerland as a website, but i have all but given up posting on the board nowadays, only on very rare occasions, but i do still read the messageboard regularly. i just find it ridiculous the way that we're not allowed to disagree with dockerland's elite without our posts being deleted. freedom of speech completely out the window! i also hate the double standards, if i wrote half the stuff which the elite crew get away with it'd be straight into the garbage. and the lack of respect shown for the opinions of posters who are outside the regular crew is unbelievable. they actually believe that they represent their views reflect those of all dockers fans! not the case i can assure you, we have 30 000+ members, plenty of whom would not post on dockerland.

i'd love it if the dockers could just have one site where all dockers fans go are free to express their opinions. dockerland has become too big for that to ever happen.

Farrand said:
Now, as Freo supporters I'm sure we've all been to Dockerland before, and I have to say posting on the forum there is a pain in the neck. The majority of the posts are cut to avoid controversy, and I have to say, its more then slightly annoying when you're emotional and want to voice your opinion, yet the posts is deleted and this just inflames the anger. Shane runs one hell of a dictatorship. Am I just being overly sensitive?

How many times have I said it.
Dockerland is "not" the voice of Fremantle fans . Shane and his henchman delete or edit your views so they fit into there scheme of things . It really annoys me when people think what is said on the pathetic site is gospel of what a Docker supportter wants to beleive.
Farrand your right , Shane does do excellent articles but the politcs on his board have a horrible stench.
18 months ago dockerland made it into a story on the "Inside Sports" magazine where Australian Sports Fans websites got rated . Inside Sports gave a very real view on what they thought of the site & it really was something they shouldve taken to heart & corrected quickly. IS said the sites moderator was edit happy who manipulted what was posted on the site to express the sites views. Beleive it or not when that story came out on the mnagazine someone posted it on the site & it was deleted & since then nothing has changed..

If you want to winge and bitch ring 6PR, I am sure they would love to hear from you. Reading pathetic posts calling for everyone to be sacked or dropped everytime we lose a game gets a bit tiresome. Good on Shane for trying to keep Dockerland the humerous lighthearted site that most people love.

Kenny_01 said:
I read it and occasionally post... but it does get annoying when I spent a fair bit of time writing a post, only to have it deleted.

turn it up kenneth
this may be my 1st post on the board, but fair dinkum how is anybody goin to take you seriously when its publicly known that you are 1 of shane's pathetic moderators.
Fair Dinkum- what have I got myself into listening to this verbal mud

Freo Punisher said:
turn it up kenneth
this may be my 1st post on the board, but fair dinkum how is anybody goin to take you seriously when its publicly known that you are 1 of shane's pathetic moderators.
Fair Dinkum- what have I got myself into listening to this verbal mud

Welcome aboard Punisher.
You beat me to it. Kenny really what possessed you to write that crap.

Dockerland:
'Iron fist' Shane's editing gives every one the sh*ts. The elite are treated differently to others. The unmerciful attacks on Docker Dave is disgraceful

Bigfooty:
Full of garbage, to many kids, DO NOT HIT REFRESH

Wehavethepasion:
Started by a disgruntled dockerland poster. To negative. Not enough quality posters. Not enough posters.

Did I miss any thing?

Dockerland