27. Byron Schammer
28. Andrew Seigert
29. Troy Simmonds
30. Scott Thornton
31. James Walker
32. Clive Waterhouse
33. Luke Webster
34. Dion Woods

(This list takes into account the trading of Koops and Croad, the promotion of Gilmore, Mott and Webster from the rookie list and the delisting/retirements of Toia and Jones.)

Leading up to the November draft, we have Picks #10, #12, #19 #27, #43 (F/S Brett Peake), #58.

We can have a maximum of 38 players, with Parker placed on the veterans list and must take a minimum of three players in the draft.

This would suggest that we would use our first 5 picks (including peake) in the draft to bring our list up to 38 (plus parker). So I guess we have to make the choice as to whether we will delist players such as Cunningham, or maintain the majority of our squad for next season.

Hopefully Picks #10, #12, #19 and #27 would be able to net us Surjan, Moody, Spencer and perhaps Pettigrew.

I would be pretty happy with our list for next season if we could come out of the draft with these blokes.

Apart from the falling out of the Black trade, I'm fairly happy with the result of our trading perioid. We got the best return possible for Croad and Koops and put ourselves in a good position for the upcoming draft.

It would be nice if we could draft Surjan, Moody and Spencer with our first three picks, however I am a bit apprehensive about Pettigrew.

If Brock McLean is available at pick 10 I think we should take him. He wrote a diary at the draft camp and stated he would be prepared to move interstate. He is a tough, skilful, in-and-under solidly-built midfielder we need, and surprised a few with his quickness at the camp.

Farren Ray will most likely go before pick 10 so is out of the question.

With the trading of Croad, I think we will draft at least one key position player, the only question is whether it should be Spencer (local) or Johnson (local) who we should be able to net with our third pick, or an interstate boy such as Chaplin (Vic), Gayfer (Vic) or Morrison (Tas) who will most likely be gone by pick 19, meaning we would need to use one of our first two picks. All remains as interesting topic for debate.

With the Black deal not arriving to the AFL Head Office on time, there is still a strong chance he may be delisted by St Kilda on compassionate grounds, allowing him to enter the National Draft where we would most likely take him with pick 27. The only problem is the mob up the road have pick 26 and may think that drafting Black would be more beneficial to them than drafting a raw youngster.

I think Edgecumbe should go alright next year after a full preseason. What do you think about Doswell and Crowley though, from what I've seen I don't really think they are great prospects at the moment. Perhaps improvement might be shown if they can maintain their spots in the WAFL for South Fremantle and Subiaco respectively, but I'm still a bit suspect of them. Hopefully they can prove me wrong next year.

Why wouldn't we just get Black to nominate for the pre-season draft if he is delisted, and have his own terms so it would only leave us to realistically get him?

Originally posted by Kenny_01
Why wouldn't we just get Black to nominate for the pre-season draft if he is delisted, and have his own terms so it would only leave us to realistically get him?

Surely one of the nine clubs before us would be able to fit him into their salary cap? One of them would select him with the knowledge that they'll be trading him to us when his contract expires, allowing them to get a free draft pick in return.

If not, the Eagles would surely take him with their pre-season pick if they have enough space on their list and enough room in the cap?

Bit concerned about the list actually. The draft picks are good but in all probability we might have to wait a couple of years before we get much out of them.

Trent didnt have a great year but he always got one of the oppositions best defenders.
I had a lot of time for Koops. Great tackler and good in the air.
Plus we miss out on Black, a ready made midfielder.

My main problem with the list is if we get a few injuries we might start going backwards. As for Cunningham Kenny, I think he gets a pretty bad wrap. He only palyed one game this year and played pretty well in the second half of the match. Good back up player in case of injuries.

Mate, whenever there is a hint of pressure, Cunningham caves quicker than a deck of cards. Sure he looks OK in practice games and WAFL games and such where there is little pressure, but he is not up to AFL standard. His decision making is dreadful and can't dispose the ball on the opposite side of his body.

If he makes it as an AFL footballer, I'll be very very very suprised.

Action Man will go on the Vets list at the expense of 1 rookie (38 + 2 Vets + 4 rookies or 38 + 1 +5). So we can use our 4 picks.

All in all our list looks a lot better long term already without the draft yet with Gilmore Mott Webster & Peake. Browne & Cunners are a year older and have been working hard (did anyone else notice clearance king cunners right foot kick in London? )

Have faith if the coaching staff didn't think anyone wasn't worth persevering with they would have been delisted by now.

Look at Scotty Thornton. He has surprised us all once he got a chance.

Kenny are you a cunnalinguist. You know a bit about our Cunny. Hows Pav left foot by the way.

I dont know about Gilmore? Theres a bit of noise about him, but when Ive seen him he delivers classy looking yorkers or head hunters.

Peakes a got a fair way to go before being the rise of christ.

Originally posted by fitzmantle
Kenny are you a cunnalinguist. You know a bit about our Cunny. Hows Pav left foot by the way.

I dont know about Gilmore? Theres a bit of noise about him, but when Ive seen him he delivers classy looking yorkers or head hunters.

Have faith Fitzy , We could have said the same about Sir Robert this time last year.

:D

Pav, while not brilliant on his left can still use it when he has to.

Fair enough Kenny, but bare in mind Ben costs us about $37.65 a game.

Is Ben this years whipping boy or are we going to look at :
Thornton?
Walker?
as well. I gives up...

Originally posted by FreoDocker
I think Edgecumbe should go alright next year after a full preseason. What do you think about Doswell and Crowley though, from what I've seen I don't really think they are great prospects at the moment. Perhaps improvement might be shown if they can maintain their spots in the WAFL for South Fremantle and Subiaco respectively, but I'm still a bit suspect of them. Hopefully they can prove me wrong next year.
I have seen them all play a couple of times, Edgecumbe will make it but the other two other definately suspect. I hope Freo don't make the same mistake this year there is lots of good local talent on offer that we know can play.

Fair enough Kenny, but bare in mind Ben costs us about $37.65 a game.

Is Ben this years whipping boy or are we going to look at :
Thornton?
Walker?
as well. I gives up...

He's not a whipping boy, I just don't rate him at all.

Thornton will be a gun. I really rate him and I'm glad the coaching staff do as well.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
Thornton will be a gun. I really rate him and I'm glad the coaching staff do as well.

Kenny i respect your opinion but i disagree.

Never rated Thornton watching him play for South. Not a fan of Siegert either but he plays the occasional good match. Doswell is hard to say as he had his injury trouble earlier this season so hopefully he will be better next year. Don't like his general match day demeanor.

Originally posted by dasler

Never rated Thornton watching him play for South. Not a fan of Siegert either but he plays the occasional good match. Doswell is hard to say as he had his injury trouble earlier this season so hopefully he will be better next year. Don't like his general match day demeanor.

He does seem lazy but I think he has the skills it takes to be a top quality backman. He is quick, can give the ball for a fair roost and doesn't seem to panic when in possesion of the ball. I obviously don't see him as much in the WAFL as you but I was very impressed by him when he has played in Freo colours and I think he can make it into a quality player. Icke expressed similar sentiments yesterday. But yeah, I saw an interview with him and he looked like the laziest bloke ever to make it onto an AFL list.

Thorntons played about 6 games and 5 of them have been good. The only time I remember him getting beaten was by Martin Pike. Whats he got to do? perform backfilps, Somersaults and kick the footy 90mtrs.

Look out Walker, Thornton, Seigert its going to be a long year.

I agree, I think Thornton has has a future at the club as a backman. He was playing as a raw 20 year old last season and the only time he was beaten in defence was against Pike. Apart from that game, I've been very impressed with him, having seen him play well on dangerous forwards such as S Burgoyne and Staker.

I also like the look of Edgecumbe, who should get his chance next season but Crowley and Doswell in particular have been disappointing. Crowley has played for Subiaco reserves all season but needs to step up to earn his spot in the Subiaco senior side. Both will need to improve their performances next season if they are to maintain their spots on our list.

Originally posted by dasler

Dasler, I rate Siegert he was good in 2002 had an interupted pre season 2003. Has got the ability and stamina to be a very good run with player. Not sure how he injured himself preseason but I know CC and a few others were very ****ed off.
PS What do you think of John Dimmer coaching the Dogs next year.

Pav's left foot, whilst pretty crook, was directly responsible for Medhurst's standard issue around-the-body corker (with 'Badman' Archer on him no less), which was followed by Belly's captain's goal par excellence in the dying moments of the third quarter against the Roos. Pav was so pleased with his southpaw heroics that he decided to win the game for us in the last quarter.

Best game of the year that one Rog,
Iwas lucky enough that match was the game I chose to fly over and watch for the year. I have never seen anything like the aftermatch celebrations, it was a combination of stealing the game, winning by a point and knowing Freo had finally made the finals. People were going berserk, hugs and hi fives all round.

Top stuff, Fitzy. My friend in Melbourne said that complete strangers were embracing eachother, brought together by the power of Fremantle.

Originally posted by Undertaker
Dasler, I rate Siegert he was good in 2002 had an interupted pre season 2003. Has got the ability and stamina to be a very good run with player. Not sure how he injured himself preseason but I know CC and a few others were very ****ed off.
PS What do you think of John Dimmer coaching the Dogs next year.

I believe Siegert tore the posterior cruciate ligament in his knee (not as serious as the anterior cruciate that Webster damaged). I think he injured it playing silly buggers on a beach in Melbourne last Christmas break or there abouts.