Dockers match comm

Reported by Gossage on NOVA today(27/9) Waterman odds to go to peel. O'donnell is reportedly heading back to Vic.

With eastaugh in the mix for the Perth Job, virtually new assistant line up. New Blood new ideas.

We definetly need a new midfield coach. Also why not chase Jason Ball as ruck coach??

Ball would be a darn good ruck coach you would think, but he'd also make a good assistant coach.

Please tell me Malaxos is gone too?

I mentioned a while back that if CC was here for another year we could use some different assistant coaches, or at least make more use of the ones we have. Now that they are all leaving en masses I am a little concerned.

Hopefully the rats and sinking ship analogies don’t apply here.

Would have liked to seen Garry Hocking - but alas he is now back in Victoria. Earl Spalding was upgraded to a match day assistant last year, so I reckon he may get a nod in there somewhere.

I hated him at the Eagles but Glen Jakovich?

Ashley Prescott has done a good job at Claremont for past 2 years?

Adrian Fletcher may be on the move from Collingwood?

Those 3 are the more realistic options...but i would like the club to look outside of the box for once....perhaps try lure a Brett Ratten as midfield coach, Peter Matera said he was looking at an Assistants role - would be ideal even though a past enemy, Leigh Colbert, Andy Collins, Chris Bond, Peter German?

Plugga said:
At least he's x Sth Freo
Not to mention at one stage close to the best attacking ball carrier going around. The only problem I can see is that he wasn't exactly noted for his in an under prowess.

Forget other club rejects. Do we really want anyone who was not good enough for Collingwood?

From the WAFL you could do much worse than John Dimmer, three premierships over two clubs; Ash Prescott and possibly Peter German.

No doubt there are also a few retiring players who are worth a go.

I think German and Prescott are big chances, Dimmer would be good but he's still gun shy of freo when he was there before under drum.

We definetly need a ruck coach of substance. Big Bird is a big investment for the FFC over 5 - 10 yrs so accordingly he needs to be coached in the right way to become the dominat ruckman in the comp - AA by the time he's 25!!

Peter German worked with Connolly at Hawthorn under Ken Judge so they would both know each other pretty well.

It's hard to say, because just because a bloke was a decent player does not mean he's a decent coach. But it does seem as though whoever our ruck coach was last season sat on his arse and did nothing.

Majority of taps + talented midfielders = Smashed in clearances?

What the hell is that all about?

wehavethepassion said:
I think German and Prescott are big chances, Dimmer would be good but he's still gun shy of freo when he was there before under drum.
I thought Dimmer said he is not interested in a full-time position. Prescott would have to be a big chance as he said he want to be a career coach. I definitely don't want Bluey McKenna or Adrian Fletcher. Beside Victoria is Fletchers home base.

Jason Ball is a stockbroker in Sydney and probably making more money than an AFL Head Coach.

I'd also be tempted to look at Assistants from other clubs or TAC coaches as they can bring fresh ideas/knowledge of other players etc. We tend to be a bit parochial in the West.

We definetly need a ruck coach of substance. Big Bird is a big investment for the FFC over 5 - 10 yrs so accordingly he needs to be coached in the right way to become the dominat ruckman in the comp - AA by the time he's 25!!
Spider Burton. Did an awful lot with what he had.

Just please while were getting rid of assistants show Eastaugh the door. That man should be able to get us winning the clearances with the amount of ruck knocks we win but he can't, it's time to go Simon. Prescott and Fletch would be good

Prescott is almost definate.
Chris Bond has been approached but will probably stay at the bulldogs.
Not sure if he's in the mix but Ben Allan's worth a thought.

I'd also like to have an assistant who has played in the last couple of years, possibly just in a part time role. Names that spring to mind- Maxfield, Pike, Woewodin, Colbert and Banfield.

Matthew Primus would make a good ruck coach if he's interested. Corey McKernan?

Guy McKenna- Hopefully not.

It would be great to have Burke but I think he'll stay in Melbourne in his own backyard.

I don't know why anyone would go after Aussie Jones.

A mate who is a WAFL coach(not league) reckons Prescott is as soft as they can come. Lets hope we dont pick him up.
I always wanted Hocking to come our way but after hearing about a few of the things he did at Peel and some of the ways he acted when under pressure I'm glad he's back in Geelong. Taking the players to church on a sunday!! Asking the player group for honest opinions on subjects then dropping them back to the ressies because he didnt like their answers! Crazy.
I think Ben Allen is too involved in business outside of footy to be involved.
Dunno about Pike, Colbert, McKernan and Primus.
Woewoeful, McKenna and Banfield - no thanks!!
I reckon Nathan Burke would be a ripper but I don't think he wants to be involved in footy anymore at the moment.
Dimmer? German?
Peter Matera?
Spider Burton says he still has a soft spot for Freo?

Prescott has done well at claremont, falling at the final hurdle the last 2 years. Neill Craig appears soft but so far has done well. You can get the message across without ranting and raving. Connolly is still trying to figure out what the message is.

Hopefully not Peter German - another Connolly/Schwab job 4 the mates gig.
Ash Prescott - I think he comes across very soft, but I'm looking from afar.
Ben Allan - Would be great, but i think he's tied up outside of football
Adrian Fletcher - Seems to go from club 2 club every year, not a good sign
Ken Judge - Doubt it would ever happen
Peter Matera - Was an article in Sunday Times a month or 2 ago that he wanted to be Assistant Coach in the Afl...I think he'd be a great option.
Matt Burton - Would be a superb ruck coach, as would Jason Ball judging by some of his ruck taps in the finals
Brett Ratten - Not sure if available, but would be very handy midfield coach
Andy Collins - Finished up at Hawthorn this year, after coaching Boxhill for several years, would be a great asset, though there is still that Hawthorn connection there!