Opinion Domestic Politics BF style

Got tested on Wednesday.
Got a text to say the test was positive today.
Voted over the phone today.

"The changes mean anyone in isolation as of 6pm on Friday can now vote on the phone."

Look what the scum bag billionaire Clive Palmer is doing on the eve of the election.

Not happy with spending $100m on election campaign ads this election - more than double the spending of all other parties put together.

His United Australia Party is sending out last minute BS scare texts claiming the World Health Organisation will take over Australian hospitals the day after the election.

And all above board according to our electoral laws:

Screen Shot 2022-05-20 at 5.12.37 pm.png

Final Poll before the election: Newspoll

ALP lead 53-47 and primary ALP 36, Coalition 35, Greens 12, One Nation 5, UAP 3, and 9 for the rest.

Morrison net approval-13 (41-54)
Albanese net approval -5 (41-46)
Better PM 42-42.

Seen better sausages at Bunnings
Perhaps.

But, removing the cynicism for just a moment, there is something great about our democracy that we have polling booths set up (mostly) in local schools and community centres and the funding bodies of those places set up sausage sizzles and cake stalls that go directly to help those centres. You get to see your tax payer $$ at work as you vote.

And at my local booth in the seat of Adelaide they have gourmet sausages on offer. It's pretty bloody good.

Spending a bit of time exercising your democratic right is something to be celebrated I reckon.

Perhaps.

But, removing the cynicism for just a moment, there is something great about our democracy that we have polling booths set up (mostly) in local schools and community centres and the funding bodies of those places set up sausage sizzles and cake stalls that go directly to help those centres. You get to see your tax payer $$ at work as you vote.

And at my local booth in the seat of Adelaide they have gourmet sausages on offer. It's pretty bloody good.

Spending a bit of time exercising your democratic right is something to be celebrated I reckon.

just a little inside joke based on someone (possibly papa g or JBC) making a comment when a famous hot celebrity was mentioned that he'd "seen better looking birds at bunnings"

So many people have had their brains fried by social media. "Spreading misinformation" is not a thing in the real world, it's simply a tool used by big tech to control the agenda. The AEC are not a fact checker, they are an election facilitator - the Australian people are the fact checker when they cast their votes.

In the real world, real people just laugh at that sort of stuff because they're normal and have a functioning brain and can see the lies for what they are. And if a small number of people are fooled then so be it - our democracy ensures the sensible majority will always hold sway.

So many people have had their brains fried by social media. "Spreading misinformation" is not a thing in the real world, it's simply a tool used by big tech to control the agenda. The AEC are not a fact checker, they are an election facilitator - the Australian people are the fact checker when they cast their votes.

In the real world, real people just laugh at that sort of stuff because they're normal and have a functioning brain and can see the lies for what they are. And if a small number of people are fooled then so be it - our democracy ensures the sensible majority will always hold sway.
LOL. What elitist poppy utensil.

And you wonder why 'in the real world' faith in politics and democracy is failing, especially amongst the young. Why political coverage is focussed on personalities rather than policies.

And how people like Clive Palmer himself get elected to the House of Representatives as he did in 2016. But refused to show up, got bored and resigned before the 2019 election.

Fact is that our democracy should for be for all of us, not just the ones who reckon they're the smart ones in the room. Especially when a few thousand votes in a couple of marginal seats can change the shape of our national government.

We have national legislation to prevent retailers advertising dud potato peelers. Anyone 'with a functioning brain' would expect us to have electoral advertising laws to prevent political parties from telling straight out lies.

And I'm not just talking about targeted SMS txts sent out by Clive Palmer on election eve either.

LOL. What elitist poppy utensil.

And you wonder why 'in the real world' faith in politics and democracy is failing, especially amongst the young. Why political coverage is focussed on personalities rather than policies.

And how people like Clive Palmer himself get elected to the House of Representatives as he did in 2016. But refused to show up, got bored and resigned before the 2019 election.

Fact is that our democracy should for be for all of us, not just the ones who reckon they're the smart ones in the room. Especially when a few thousand votes in a couple of marginal seats can change the shape of our national government.

We have national legislation to prevent retailers advertising dud potato peelers. Anyone 'with a functioning brain' would expect us to have electoral advertising laws to prevent political parties from telling straight out lies.

And I'm not just talking about targeted SMS txts sent out by Clive Palmer on election eve either.

Palmer paying to get himself elected = bad but that Holmes a Court dickhead trying to get a bunch of puppets elected = good. Rich people can only change the shape of our national government if they're on the left of politics.

Your idea of an independent fact checker is flawed. You can implement false advertising laws because you pull the ad and then fine the company who falsely advertises. How do you penalise the politician who lies at a press conference or in an ad? The damage is already done, the seed has been planted. And who appoints this independent fact checker? What a political hot potato that would be. Let the Australian people decide who is telling the truth.

The great irony of this election will be that Labor, in part, will win on the back of middle and upper middle class white women with beach houses in places like Sorrento and Palm Beach which they drive their Gas Guzzling $200k SUV to every 3rd weekend getting them there. A privelidged group that despises the working class. Funny old world hey.

Palmer paying to get himself elected = bad but that Holmes a Court dickhead trying to get a bunch of puppets elected = good. Rich people can only change the shape of our national government if they're on the left of politics.

Got enough straws there?

Bit of a fact checker for you about the 'teal' independents in a few seats, mostly in Vic/NSW. It has nothing to do with the simpleton lefty vs righty BS. These are independent candidates in safe LIBERAL seats supporting climate change action - targeting traditional conservative voters.

I'm leaving it until after the footy this time, queueing up with the morning crowd & those idiots that seem genuinely excited by elections can go fukc itself.