Doughty

spindoctor

Suspended
Adelaide Crows
Well he could be out for the rest of the season with his eye socket.

The question is, has he done enough that we now keep him.

I say yes. He has been excellent this season, and has got yet better since being recast as a running defender by Craig. He has always been a strong mark for his size, so a defensive role suits him well.

Jeff Farmer you are a dirty bastard :mad:

I think Dogga has probably done enough. Although as I have said before - he promises a lot - yet doesn't always live up to his potential. I said this year was a "make or break" year for him. He notched up 50 games last night. It has taken him a while. It will be interesting to see if we get any trading nibbles on him - if we do and we are offered something reasonable - it might be best for all concerned if we go with it (sorry Go South ;) )

Having said all that.......I think he probably will be a Crow in 2005.

k
xx

Originally posted by spindoctor

I say yes. He has been excellent this season, and has got yet better since being recast as a running defender by Craig. He has always been a strong mark for his size, so a defensive role suits him well.
He was one of our best players last night.
Hard to imagine on the back of recent performances he would be delisted, BUT he may have increased his trade value TWT

I have been critical of Doughty in the past but as I have said last night, he was BOG before he got kneed in the face. He has been reasonable this year and has done enough to save being delisted. However, if we get a decent offer for him come trade week I would trade him. He is 25 and there is not much scope for improvement.

He has done enough to keep his spot on the list but he is far from untouchable :). If there is a good opportunity for a trade then Just Do It :)

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I have been critical of Doughty in the past but as I have said last night, he was BOG before he got kneed in the face. He has been reasonable this year and has done enough to save being delisted. However, if we get a decent offer for him come trade week I would trade him. He is 25 and there is not much scope for improvement.

He has done enough to keep his spot on the list but he is far from untouchable :). If there is a good opportunity for a trade then Just Do It :)

^ ^ ^

As he said above.

Originally posted by spindoctor

Is there room for him next season to play in the first 22, with the 4 running defenders being Tyson Edwards, Ben hart, brent Reilly and possiably Nathan bassett or James begley. If Craig is the Coach we will play Burton and matter on the wing. At best for Doughty he will be kept on the list to have some depth or he could be added to a trade as a sweetner.

IMO trade him. Sorry but that is IMO

Dogga has improved heaps this year as he has been given a decent go, so what's to say he won't even improve further next year.

He is safe from being delisted IMO.

However, we do need to look at trading some of our half-back flanker types. Assuming McGregor & Rutten play the KP's, that leaves Bassett, Begley, Torney, Massie, Doughty, Bock, Edwards etc fighting it out for 3 spots (ie. pencil in Hart for the BP). Haven't menetioned Reilly, as he should move into the midfield. Would even consider trading Bassett &/or Edwards if the right offer came along.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Dogga has improved heaps this year as he has been given a decent go, so what's to say he won't even improve further next year.

He is safe from being delisted IMO.

However, we do need to look at trading some of our half-back flanker types. Assuming McGregor & Rutten play the KP's, that leaves Bassett, Begley, Torney, Massie, Doughty, Bock, Edwards etc fighting it out for 3 spots (ie. pencil in Hart for the BP). Haven't menetioned Reilly, as he should move into the midfield. Would even consider trading Bassett &/or Edwards if the right offer came along.

Bassett was shopped around last season and no one wanted him, his season so far hasnt been much to write home about so his stock hasnt improved .

Begley will retire if he is put up for trade, the reason he came home wasnt for football, it was life style so l can not see him being traded. Unless it is to Port

Massie will be one up for trade, who to and what for, only time will tell.

Doughty, Bock, Perrie all possiable trade options

IMO Edwards is almost untouchable, he isnt the reason we are lossing but he is a major factor for us winning.

Originally posted by crows98
Bassett was shopped around last season and no one wanted him, his season so far hasnt been much to write home about so his stock hasnt improved .

Begley will retire if he is put up for trade, the reason he came home wasnt for football, it was life style so l can not see him being traded. Unless it is to Port

Massie will be one up for trade, who to and what for, only time will tell.

Doughty, Bock, Perrie all possiable trade options

IMO Edwards is almost untouchable, he isnt the reason we are lossing but he is a major factor for us winning.
Bassett - Port were very keen to get him at the end of the last season, so your sources aren't too good. ;)

Begley - must keep IMO, as he still young & has a future at AFC.

Massie - should try & trade, given I don't believe there is room for both him & JT.

I agree we should see what we can get for Dogga, Bock & Perrie.

Edwards - similar age bracket to our other gun midfielders & could be worth trading while he is still worth a reasonable value for a younger player / earliesh draft pick. Particularly since he is not part of the leadership group like the others.

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
Kane, no value in Bock?
I think we should shop a few players around to see what they are worth. If they don't have any decent percieved value (like you think with Bock) & they are worth keeping, then they stay on the list for now. But we must turn over our list & start building for future years for an assault on the premiership (in a few years) - we won't get that by tinkering with our list.

193cm highly mobile utilities don't come along often.
We have perervered with bock for a long time.
Just when he starts to show something, do we cash in our chips and go to another table?

Think we need to be pretty sure he's a dud beefore we trade him IMO;)

Just when he starts to show something, do we cash in our chips and go to another table?

We only cash in our chips if we think we are getting a good value trade. Don't reckon Bock is a dud, but I'm not totally convinced about him. IMO, more of a backman, but is he a better option than Rutten, Bassett, Parker, ...
Yes I'm not sold yet myself - still a lot of question marks.

But I do believe he is better value than Rutten, Bassett, and Parker, who have even more question marks surrounding them.

Rutten - is he agile enough, is he going to be agressive enough?

Bassett - if not FB can he play elsewhere for us successfully?

Parker - hasn't been tested at the elite level - who knows whether he will succeed?

Agree.

Won't be shipping him off just when he has started showing some good signs.

Agree.

Won't be shipping him off just when he has started showing some good signs.

Can't wait to see him down back where he should be - has shown plenty forward, now give him his bread and butter.

I think AFC is banking on Bock, Ferg and Hentschel to form a 3 pronged attack in the future.

If that's the case then withdraw all your money and hide it in your mattress...

I think AFC is banking on Bock, Ferg and Hentschel to form a 3 pronged attack in the future.
That being the case what KP was proposed for Krueger ?
BTW did he play and how did he go?

That being the case what KP was proposed for Krueger ?
BTW did he play and how did he go?
Krueger is a wait and see proposition. We don't even know if his body can stand up to ALF footy. I think they see him as a ruckman/forward. Not convinced with the ruckman part.:mad:

Sshhh... you'll blow the unveiling of the club's slogan for 2005!

Adelaide Football Club - Drafting and Recruiting Broken Down Hacks Since 1991

I have some bad news for passengers on the Mattner/Doughty express. The train has been derailed and the service may not reopen until next year.

Re:

quote:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I think we need to stick with these young KP types for now. All of them have shown more promise than S. Stevens, Perrie & the likes of Schell and Fitzy before them. We now need to concentrate on the smaller utility / midfielder types. I'd delist Gallagher immediately, and look at trades for Bode, Massie, Bassett and Stinger (if he wants to go home).

I'd retain all the others, but we really do need some genuine pace around the midfield and some in and under types.

CM

Where his your condemnation for the two howlers he committed?

The handball to McLeod was a shocker

In one contest he ran past the ball and McCanus and McManus ran off and set up a goal. Very soft.

He was good in many other ways though but wondering why you don't be consistent in your treatment of Mattner and Doughty.