Maggie Ted

Rookie
POWERT
I am a firm believer that many players who were drafted at 18 and were then delisted may be worth another try at AFL level when they have had a season or 2 at SANFL level. With this in mind what former Crows have shown form at SANFL level and could be given another try through the pre-season draft. Players like Michael Handby and James Gallagher spring to mind as players who show consistency at SANFL level and would be good players worth another go IMO. What do you think? Skippy is one who shows it can be done. I am thinking of players in the 21-23 year range.

Maggie Ted said:
I am a firm believer that many players who were drafted at 18 and were then delisted may be worth another try at AFL level when they have had a season or 2 at SANFL level. With this in mind what former Crows have shown form at SANFL level and could be given another try through the pre-season draft. Players like Michael Handby and James Gallagher spring to mind as players who show consistency at SANFL level and would be good players worth another go IMO. What do you think? Skippy is one who shows it can be done. I am thinking of players in the 21-23 year range.
Gallagher, Handby and Skipworth IMO, are a waste of time. The best is obviously skipworth, and we kept him for depth purposes, but with the new wave of midfielders developing at the AFC, I cant see skippy lasting too much longer. Atleast in the 22.

Can someone tell me what happened with Handby?

I wasn't following the Crows as closely as I am now when he was on the list, but I always got the impression that he had a head of talent and we were simply waiting for his body to develop a bit closer to AFL standard.

Then he was cut.

Whats the g.o?

McLeod23 said:

I wasn't following the Crows as closely as I am now when he was on the list, but I always got the impression that he had a head of talent and we were simply waiting for his body to develop a bit closer to AFL standard.

Then he was cut.

Whats the g.o?
Never really dominated sanfl. im sure he would go ok at AFL level, but OK i dont think is what we should be looking for.

McLeod23 said:

Then he was cut.

Whats the g.o?
Actually his body was ready made for AFL footy. I think he suffered from the height factor as well. In between size. All through his junior days he was a key defender but he just simply wasn't tall enough to be a KPP at AFL level.

Tried converting him into a running player but he just didn't have the agility or pace to be one. On top of that he never really was playing great footy at SANFL. He strung about a month of really good footy together in his final year and got named as an emergency but that was as close as he got.

McLeod23 said:

Then he was cut.

Whats the g.o?
Drafted in the same year as Lawrence Angwin and Matthew Smith. Need I say more?

Stiffy_18 said:
Actually his body was ready made for AFL footy. I think he suffered from the height factor as well. In between side. All through his junior days he was a key defender but he just simply wasn't tall enough to be a KPP at AFL level.

That was a bloody foolish pick if I ever saw it.

Undersized KPP's are a waste of time and space on the list. He was never going to make it.

An even worse example of that was in the 2002 draft when Port took Gilham - an undersized toothpick shaped KPP - at #16.

16 Port Adelaide STEPHEN GILHAM OAKLEIGH CHARGERS 02/09/1984 190.5cm 76kg

He did a Watts this year as well - except that no-one wants a toothpick and he's gone for zilch in the PSD.

When people start thinking we should draft players of that stature, it's time for a re-think and a shake of the head.

macca23 said:
Stiffy_18 said:
Actually his body was ready made for AFL footy. I think he suffered from the height factor as well. In between size. All through his junior days he was a key defender but he just simply wasn't tall enough to be a KPP at AFL level.

Undersized KPP's are a waste of time and space on the list. He was never going to make it.

An even worse example of that was in the 2002 draft when Port took Gilham - an undersized toothpick shaped KPP - at #16.

He did a Watts this year as well - except that no-one wants a toothpick and he's gone for zilch in the PSD.

When people start thinking we should draft players of that stature, it's time for a re-think and a shake of the head.
That was another master stroke by Mr Ayres. Lets draft Laurie's mate from the Stingrays so we can keep Andy's grandson happy because we would have drafted his mate as well. That might help us keep him on the straight and narrow as well.

Well done Ayresy, yet another ripper of a decision :rolleyes:

macca23 said:

and yet Rischbieth's name is being bandied around.

SpringChoke said:
and yet Rischbieth's name is being bandied around.
Tyson Stenglein??????

U18s FB ;)

Gilham was never going to be a midfielder or a running player. Players like Stinger could very easily develop into that type of player. Rischebeith is more like Stinger than Gilham.

cro_Magnum said:
Drafted in the same year as Lawrence Angwin and Matthew Smith. Need I say more?

I always thought one of the reasons we drafted Handby could have been because he was good friends with Angwin and the club might have been hoping he could have an influence over him. :o

Stiffy_18 said:
Tyson Stenglein??????

U18s FB ;)

Gilham was never going to be a midfielder or a running player. Players like Stinger could very easily develop into that type of player. Rischebeith is more like Stinger than Gilham.

Stinger developing into a run with player happened more by luck than good management Stiffy. He was recruited as a tall defender. He pretty much realized himself that he had to make the change & did it (smart boy).

drakeyv2 said:
Stinger developing into a run with player happened more by luck than good management Stiffy. He was recruited as a tall defender. He pretty much realized himself that he had to make the change & did it (smart boy).
True but he is not the only one that has done it. There are quite a few players running around in the AFL that have played as KPP underage and have become running players in the AFL. Cameron Ling is another one.

The trick for rectuiters is to find out if these kids can adapt to different roles. Can they find the footy well, are they agile enough, are they mobile enough, are they smart enough to play onball or on a flank, are they clean enough under their knees to make the grade in a different position? These are all the things that recruiters look at and make an educated guess at whether the kid can adapt into a different position at AFL level.