Food, Drink & Dining Out Drinking underage

Silent Alarm

sack Lyon
10k Posts
At my age I now think back to allowing 16-year olds to drink as ****ing scary. But then I remember that friend who had a mum who was always out of town, how I smoked weed there for the first time, how this dumb as **** but harmless friend shat under a Hill Hoist in front of the hot chicks who only came because it was the only place to go... This was all before smart phones and uber and we would somehow walk home safe for 45 minutes and wake up without a hangover.

I also rocked up to a party once with a friend and we were so early we drank half our six packs of Heineken in a tiny park under a tree nudging each other to see if enough people were there yet.

Then there's the fights, the time a girl begged me to hook up with her but I had a girlfriend and she was universally considered the hottest girl in the year below, the Supre bags full of the UDLs with the moon crest logo, the zip dresses we used to say were for 'easy access,' the bag I lost with a brand new Nike jacket and disposable camera... the cancelled and shut down parties... the hair gel...

Much like footy it seemed a purer, more fun time. Less bullshit. More honesty. Now we all talk about someone we know who plays for an AFL club and line up for shit nightclubs and spend all our money at. Ah.

At my age I now think back to allowing 16-year olds to drink as ******* scary. But then I remember that friend who had a mum who was always out of town, how I smoked weed there for the first time, how this dumb as **** but harmless friend shat under a Hill Hoist in front of the hot chicks who only came because it was the only place to go... This was all before smart phones and uber and we would somehow walk home safe for 45 minutes and wake up without a hangover.

I also rocked up to a party once with a friend and we were so early we drank half our six packs of Heineken in a tiny park under a tree nudging each other to see if enough people were there yet.

Then there's the fights, the time a girl begged me to hook up with her but I had a girlfriend and she was universally considered the hottest girl in the year below, the Supre bags full of the UDLs with the moon crest logo, the zip dresses we used to say were for 'easy access,' the bag I lost with a brand new Nike jacket and disposable camera... the cancelled and shut down parties... the hair gel...

Much like footy it seemed a purer, more fun time. Less bullshit. More honesty. Now we all talk about someone we know who plays for an AFL club and line up for shit nightclubs and spend all our money at. Ah.

Did you grow up in Mogadishu? As a "mature" adult now, I can kind of see why parents would lose their mind if they left you alone in the house for the weekend and you threw a party. Some of the stuff you do at the age when influenced by alcohol and peer pressure is just beyond stupid. If I ever have kids they'll be finding Jesus, not a underage party.

My best mate of ages 14-15 had parents who were nice, but not the smartest looking back. Went and bought us two alcohol for the night one time. That was my first time drunk. Jacks and Coke. He drank Vodka Cruisers (yes lol). Wasn't that hungover

Another time his older sister made us Jello Shots.

There were several other times we got drunk. All at his place. Like I said, we were 14/15 during this time period.

Of course my Mother never knew until years later when I told her that my best mate and I loved to get drunk.)

I think it's just the novelty factor. Alchohol, youth, and friends, what else do you need?

It was great.

But you'd get bored of it.
You lose the youth and the friends, you're left with the drink.

These experiences continue to resonate, but not nostalgically or specifically, more like taking part in an (all too brief) age-old rite of passage phase. If you get too deep into them you realise how senseless and irresponsible a lot of those times were, but their vibe is arch teenage rebellious, hormone-spiked skylark (even if conforming to the herd). The particular ramifications and shames of particular memories diminishes with time, as do the ecstasies, I think that period of nocturnal abandon works best as a sweeping river of lively memories...It's the vibe more than anything.

My underage drinking days were smack bang in the mid 00s (the first wave of teens who expected to own a mobile), and in a small coastal town, so I recall lots of beach parties, big bday bashes in out-of-the-way farms, town-to-town walks to and fro, our routine summer camping spot, the crazy things like being in highly outnumbered fights, plundering caravan parks, defiling police stations, exaggerated threesomes, etc. In a land beyond the train-lines, skate parks, nightclubs, general urban haunt paraphernalia, etc. but wouldn't have it any other way. It was always house parties and makeshift outdoors parties, and (RSL) clubs when of age, there was maybe one or two clubs within an hour radius so it was hardly even a concept.

I never actually tried pot. Most of my best friends were into it by 14, but through watching them do it the idea never appealed, and I never felt pressured into trying it. It was the sort of town where if you turned it upside down, half of the households had pot, and the local aboriginal community included a crop that the occasional nutcase would try and rob.

Me and most of my friends were oldest siblings, so a lot of these experiences were very new and access to alcohol was often limited to that one few years older brother. Alcohol (and associated gatherings) never had much presence at home growing up beyond the odd beer for dad and lemon, lime and bitters for mum, so it was all rather fresh and without baggage. I remember in Year 7 a classmate made a hangover joke in German, and I didn't get it and only laughed because everyone else was. The hangover concept was still fairly remote to me at the time, a word I'd heard a few times and had a vague sense of but that was it.

I turned my back on alcohol at the end of the last decade around the time I turned 21, so binge drinking and late night escapades in general are very youth-centric in my memory. The biggest regrets were those few shameful 18-21 incidents rather than underage.

I do pity those who had their underage drinking in the time of facebook, more prominent ice, etc. but I'm sure they have their own classic milieu.

Drinking underage was shit. I only took it up at about 17 and a half to develop some sort of tolerance for when I turned 18. When I had to ask the hospital to let me out to attend a HSC exam because I had been sent there with alcoholic poisoning a night before, I considered it mission accomplished.

House parties definitely funner. Just mates, your choice of music and drink, no closing time, no distractions. Good old fashioned fun.

I like how SA gives me shit about starting a thread reminiscing about the good old days and then starts a thread himself reminiscing about the good old days.

I remember drinking Toohey's Extra Dry as a 17 year old and not thinking it was like swallowing sea water.

32 year old me wants to slap 17 year old me in the face.

Toohey's Extra Dry wasn't even around when I was 17, the choice of beer back then was usually between Emu Bitter or Vic Bitter, both pretty much identical.

Ahhh, underage drinking memories.

I remember this one time when one of my friends got a fake ID. He was such an idiot; the card only had 1 name on it because he thought it sounded cooler. We thought there was no possible way anyone would serve him with such a disaster of a fake ID. Anyway, we went and picked him up at work and caught a bus down to the local booze shop to purchase some alcohol for the party later that night. He was nervous, but he built up the courage to go inside to try and buy the drinks; me and another mate waited outside. We saw a hot girl from school walking down the street and decided to chase after her to get a look at the new fake **** that she had apparently gotten. Meanwhile, someone robbed the booze shop and ended up punching our other mate in the face while doing so. When we returned to the front of the bottle shop there was a police car parked out the front. Thinking that our mate had gotten busted for trying to use a fake ID, we bailed.

While walking away, my friend got hit by a car. It wasn't a serious accident, but he ended up with a sore back. He successfully blackmailed the driver in to taking us to a party that he was going to - as we no longer had any money or alcohol, we needed to find some drinks somehow. We arrived at the party and it was filled with older people. The vibe was really weird and I felt really uncomfortable even being there. I went out the front to call the chick I was tuning while my friend stayed inside looking for a stash of drinks to steal. A short while later, a fight ended up breaking out between two dudes at the party. Me and my mate again had to bail out of there, but not before he managed to steal some alcohol using empty tubs of detergent as a carrying device.

Walking down the street on the way to party, me and my friend ended up having a little fight because I had gotten into a good university while he didn't. I pushed him onto the road, and suddenly he got hit yet again by a car. It was a police car. I thought we were in massive shit. The police officers exited the car and found the alcohol that we were carrying. Next thing I knew we were down on the ground, arms and legs spread with guns being pointed at us. What happened next was the strangest thing I've ever seen: we observed our other friend stepping out of the police car. Apparently, these two cops were the ones who responded to the bottle shop robbery and, seeing my clearly underage friend trying to purchase alcohol and feeling sorry for him, had decided to go on a fun-filled joyride.

Noticing an opportunity for us to all escape, I got up and started sprinting away from the police. My other two friends also fled the scene. The cop who was chasing me was a real fat **** so I managed to get away. I hid in the bushes until I heard footsteps approaching me. I jumped out and discovered that it was the footsteps of my two mates. We continued to run away until we found a bus to jump on to. One of my friends ended up getting into a verbal stoush with a homeless guy and we got kicked off the bus by the driver.

We made our way to the party, finally, where I met up with the chick I fancied. She was pretty drunk already, and not wanting to take advantage of her and hook up while I was stone cold sober, I went to the bathroom to privately get myself nice and pissed. I returned to her in a very tipsy state, and she suggested that we head up to the bedroom. We're about to get down and dirty when suddenly she pukes all over the pillow. It was disgusting. I went downstairs to drink myself into oblivion, hoping to forget about the embarrassing experience I had just had. I ended up passing out on the couch.

A while later, I woke to my friend (the one I had gotten into the mini-fight with) carrying me out of the house. Apparently those 2 ****ing cops turned up to the house to break up the party and, not wanting to go to jail, we had to get the hell out of there. Thankfully we got away without them seeing us. We ended up walking all the way to my house and crashing there.

Crazy night.

I remember drinking Toohey's Extra Dry as a 17 year old and not thinking it was like swallowing sea water.

32 year old me wants to slap 17 year old me in the face.
The Mining Engineering students at uni called it Tooheys Extra Gay.

I remember this one time when one of my friends got a fake ID. He was such an idiot; the card only had 1 name on it because he thought it sounded cooler. We thought there was no possible way anyone would serve him with such a disaster of a fake ID. Anyway, we went and picked him up at work and caught a bus down to the local booze shop to purchase some alcohol for the party later that night. He was nervous, but he built up the courage to go inside to try and buy the drinks; me and another mate waited outside. We saw a hot girl from school walking down the street and decided to chase after her to get a look at the new fake **** that she had apparently gotten. Meanwhile, someone robbed the booze shop and ended up punching our other mate in the face while doing so. When we returned to the front of the bottle shop there was a police car parked out the front. Thinking that our mate had gotten busted for trying to use a fake ID, we bailed.

While walking away, my friend got hit by a car. It wasn't a serious accident, but he ended up with a sore back. He ended up blackmailing the guy in to taking us to a party that he was going to - as we no longer had any money or alcohol, we needed to find some drinks somehow. We arrived at the party and it was filled with older people. The vibe was really weird and I felt really uncomfortable even being there. I went out the front to call the chick I was tuning while my friend stayed inside looking for a stash of drinks to steal. A short while later, a fight ended up breaking out between two dudes at the party. Me and my mate again had to bail, but not before he managed to steal some alcohol using empty tubs of detergent as a carrying device.

Walking down the street on the way to party, me and my friend ended up having a little fight because I had gotten into a good university while he didn't. I pushed him onto the road, and suddenly he got hit yet again by a car. It was a police car. I thought we were in massive shit. The police officers exited the car and found the alcohol that we were carrying. Next thing I knew we were down on the ground, arms and legs spread with guns being pointed at us. What happened next was the strangest thing I've ever seen... our other friend ended up getting out of the police car. Apparently, these two cops were the ones who responded to the bottle shop robbery and, seeing my clearly underage friend trying to purchase alcohol, had decided to go on a fun-filled joyride with my friend.

Noticing an opportunity for us to all escape, I got and started sprinting away from the police. My other two friends also fled the scene. The cop who was chasing me was a real fat **** so I managed to get away. I hid in the bushes until I heard footsteps approaching me. I jumped out and discovered that it was the footsteps of my two mates. We continued to run away until we found a bus to jump on to. One of my friends ended up getting into a verbal stoush with a homeless guy and we got kicked off the bus by the driver.

We made our way to the party, finally, where I met up with the chick I fancied. She was pretty drunk already, and not wanting to take advantage of her and hook up while I was stone cold sober, I went to the bathroom to privately get myself nice and pissed. I returned to her in a very tipsy state, and she suggested that we head up to the bedroom. We're about to get down and dirty when suddenly she pukes all over the pillow. It was disgusting. I went downstairs to drink myself into oblivion, hoping to forget about the embarrassing experience I had just had. I ended up passing out on the couch.

A while later, I woke to my friend (the one I had gotten into the mini-fight with) carrying me out of the house. Apparently those 2 ****ing police officers turned up to the house to break up the party and, not wanted to go to jail, we had to get the hell out of there. Thankfully we got away without them seeing us. We ended up walking all the way to my house and crashing.

Crazy night.

Was your mate called McLuvin'?

The Mining Engineering students at uni called it Tooheys Extra Gay.
My mate calls Hahn Super Dry, Super Homo, once repeating this to a barman by accident, and getting exactly what he wanted.

I remember having shandy's for when i was like 10 to 16, then first party was in year 10 at a mates had my first 6 pack of beer ( was vb give me a break) and then not a lot of drinking until year 12 where all of us turned 18 and my re and I had someone who was born in January so we all gave him money to get some booze.

Tried to pick up a girl with the line you are very attractive would you like to make out?

Needless to say it failed but was lulzy

While walking away, my friend got hit by a car. It wasn't a serious accident, but he ended up with a sore back. He successfully blackmailed the driver in to taking us to a party that he was going to - as we no longer had any money or alcohol, we needed to find some drinks somehow. We arrived at the party and it was filled with older people. The vibe was really weird and I felt really uncomfortable even being there. I went out the front to call the chick I was tuning while my friend stayed inside looking for a stash of drinks to steal. A short while later, a fight ended up breaking out between two dudes at the party. Me and my mate again had to bail out of there, but not before he managed to steal some alcohol using empty tubs of detergent as a carrying device.

Walking down the street on the way to party, me and my friend ended up having a little fight because I had gotten into a good university while he didn't. I pushed him onto the road, and suddenly he got hit yet again by a car. It was a police car. I thought we were in massive shit. The police officers exited the car and found the alcohol that we were carrying. Next thing I knew we were down on the ground, arms and legs spread with guns being pointed at us. What happened next was the strangest thing I've ever seen: we observed our other friend stepping out of the police car. Apparently, these two cops were the ones who responded to the bottle shop robbery and, seeing my clearly underage friend trying to purchase alcohol and feeling sorry for him, had decided to go on a fun-filled joyride.

Noticing an opportunity for us to all escape, I got up and started sprinting away from the police. My other two friends also fled the scene. The cop who was chasing me was a real fat **** so I managed to get away. I hid in the bushes until I heard footsteps approaching me. I jumped out and discovered that it was the footsteps of my two mates. We continued to run away until we found a bus to jump on to. One of my friends ended up getting into a verbal stoush with a homeless guy and we got kicked off the bus by the driver.

A while later, I woke to my friend (the one I had gotten into the mini-fight with) carrying me out of the house. Apparently those 2 ****ing cops turned up to the house to break up the party and, not wanting to go to jail, we had to get the hell out of there. Thankfully we got away without them seeing us. We ended up walking all the way to my house and crashing there.

Crazy night.
You guys weren't just bad, you were super-bad.