Drop MacGill

Originally posted by Crooked Rain
MacGill always bowls heaps of overs, that's why he is in a position to get heaps more wickets.

He bowled way more over than anyone else in Adelaide, yet Bichel got more wickets than him. Even Katich equalled him on the wicket tally despite hardly bowling.

Bloody Sachin bowled 6 overs and turned the ball sideways to get 2 wickets in 6 overs.

cr.

Same as Warne, they both bowl lots of overs, as does the main spinner in any side, so I really do not see your point.

You will see an improved performance from MacGilla in the next test. His worst record is on the Adelaide Over and has always been.

As for him just getting tail enders, what a load of ****!

And yeah spinners tend to bowl more overs than quicks, so I don't want to hear the excuse that Macgill had a huge workload, because that's what he's expected to do.

I think you have missed the point on the workrate issue.

Gilla had to bowl something like 30 overs on the last day (1/3 of all the overs), in nearly 40 degree heat due to 2 of the bowlers struggling with injury.

I would regard that as quite a workload in ONE DAY of cricket.
I am fairly sure you do not often see a spinner do this in one day.

MacGill the surly brat should go now and his NSW hanger on Steve Waugh with him.
If Australia lose in Melbourne will Waugh do the right thing and resign - not bloody likely the Sook wants to finish in Sydney .
I thought cricket was supposed to be a TEAM game.

I'm a big fan of Cameron White. But at this stage I wouldn't be promoting him to the test team. He's not ready.

And as ineffective as MacGill was in the first two tests, I think the only reason to replace a bowler is either through injury or the existence of an obvious replacement. You can swap around the likes of Bracken, Bichel and Williams, because on balance they're doing about as well as each other, and all have some claims on a test spot.

But no-one's demanding MacGill's spot. The only names I've seen raised so far are Hogg, Hauritz and White. None of them are as good as MacGill a this point in time - depressing as that sounds.

Give him another shot, try to get him to bowl over the wicket instead of around, and wait patiently until Warne comes back. I think that's our only option.

Re: Re: Drop MacGill

Originally posted by ZimZum
Better to be picked on merit, than on potential.

So you support Matthew Inness to get a game before Bracken until such time as Bracken's first-class records gets anywhere near the same league as Inness'?

Originally posted by billy big ears
MacGill the surly brat should go now and his NSW hanger on Steve Waugh with him.
If Australia lose in Melbourne will Waugh do the right thing and resign - not bloody likely the Sook wants to finish in Sydney .
I thought cricket was supposed to be a TEAM game.
Yeah, well said.

Let's go to the English method where every time you lose you change captains and switch half the side around. It's worked so well for them. :rolleyes:

Can't bat
Can't bowl
Can't field

The only way Mcgill has been affective is when he the batsmen have got the runs on the board and Waugh has some runs to play with, so this ****er can go at 4 - 5 runs per over.

He is a joke, he gets wickets for NSW at Sydney and wickets for Aus against bloody Bangadesh,

A liability get rid of him.

Remember an interview before the tests started when he said it would be a real test of his ability bowling to the Indians.........

Originally posted by samcam
Can't bat
Can't bowl
Can't field

The only way Mcgill has been affective is when he the batsmen have got the runs on the board and Waugh has some runs to play with, so this ****er can go at 4 - 5 runs per over.

He is a joke, he gets wickets for NSW at Sydney and wickets for Aus against bloody Bangadesh,

A liability get rid of him.

Remember an interview before the tests started when he said it would be a real test of his ability bowling to the Indians.........

Be a great test for him.
Interesting that he is our leading wicket taker. (against the best spin nation in the world, on batting tracks)

In fact someone said he was the leading wicket taker in the world this year?

Thank god I've got eyes! Your mate was made to look pedestrian.

And what about his wickets? Two were bloody tail enders (any of the fast men could've cleaned up given the same amount of overs MacGill had at them) and the other two were stupid shots. I think Sehweg was thinking easy runs when he was stumped. So don't undermine Katich's wickets.

You're telling us not to undermine Katich's wickets when you're undermining Macgill's. All Katich's wickets are tailenders, 1st innings wickets: Patel and Agarkar, Patel played an ambitious shot and was caught at cover, Katich flighted it up and Parthiv tried to smash a part-time bowler for runs, something no one would ever do against Macgill, and Agarkar got out playing one of the worst shots you'll ever see. Macgill got Kumble and Pathan, Kumble is a better batsman than Patel and Agarkar, and he got Pathan with a brillant caught and bowl. How can you say you shouldn't undermine Katich's wickets when you're undermining Macgill's? I smell double standard here.

Katich got two wickets in the 2nd innings when the match was virtually over, and Macgill got the breakthrough of Sehwag and Tendulkar. Fine, Sehwag played a crap shot, but Macgill flighted it up and bowled it shorter. The way he got Tendulkar was just a brillant piece of bowling, I know you're gonna say it's Tendulkar's mistake, but the mistake was made because Macgill set him up.

At least Macgill got two vital breakthroughs in the 2nd innings when he has to bowl a lot of overs due to the injuries to Dizzy and Williams, and he had to do it at 40 degrees heat.

I think he bowled well, particularly to Laxman in the fourth innings - something MacGill failed to do - he didn't trouble anyone.

Oh great, Katich troubled Laxman when the match was virtually over, Macgill worked his ass off to contain the Indian top 6, and coz he didn't do crap he is junk. Macgil owns Katich anyday on control, Katich will bowl long hops and full tosses regularly, while Macgill will also bowl them, but way less. You must be kidding to say Katich is better than Macgill.

And yeah spinners tend to bowl more overs than quicks, so I don't want to hear the excuse that Macgill had a huge workload, because that's what he's expected to do.

What's wrong with you? One minute you're complaining about him bowling way more overs to have more chance of getting wickets, then the next minute you're saying he expects to have a huge workload? Make up your mind, mister.

We need four quicks for Melbourne - horses for courses. Bracken will add variety to the pace and intimidation of Lee, while Bichel and Williams or maybe Kasper should be there to share the load and use the conditions.

In saying all of this Warne would've struggled in Adelaide as well, but as least he's got other strings to his bow.

cr.

I'm tell ya, Indian batsmen would be laughing their heads off if Macgill's dropped, when they know the potential damage Macgill can inflict upon them. If you think Macgill's crap, you'd better see hundreds of other leg spinners, especially have them bowling at the Indian lineup. You don't watch much cricket, do ya? When the last 3-4 years, Macgill has to live under the shadow of Warne, and whenever he's called upon to play for his country, he has never let us down, and now just because he didn't have as brillant a test as he'd like, geezers like you are crying for his head? Thank god the selectors don't have to put up with people like you complaining about selection or wanna have someone dropped all the time.

great post cooldude, the sooner everyone stops bagging the second best leggy in the world the better

Originally posted by samcam
3 runs per over actually.

In fact he's got most of his wickets against England and the West Indies.

And he got a bagful against Bangladesh, yes. A couple of weeks ago people wanted Langer dropped for not doing well against Bangladesh, now you want to drop MacGill because he did? :confused:

It is, and so far he's doing better than any other Australian bowler.

Re: Re: Re: Drop MacGill

Originally posted by manmountain
So you support Matthew Inness to get a game before Bracken until such time as Bracken's first-class records gets anywhere near the same league as Inness'?

I'm not that keen on either one of them actually. Isn't Inness out crook or something? Anyway, I think there might be a few bowlers ahead of Inness at the moment, despite all the screaming from Vic for White and Inness.

As much as I dont rate magill there is no way that he would or should be left out of the side. As for cameron white playing he would get belted all over the park. And if u look at warne's record against the indian's its not that great.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Drop MacGill

I'm not that keen on either one of them actually. Isn't Inness out crook or something? Anyway, I think there might be a few bowlers ahead of Inness at the moment, despite all the screaming from Vic for White and Inness.

One of the best things about cricket is that you can always point to the scorebook. If you bat like a spaz and get 100, then no matter how ugly you looked, you can point at the book and say "I got a 100". Same with bowling - if you're bowling style is not particularly fashionable, it doesn't matter if you can point at the scorebook and say "I got 5 for 30". Results count.

On results over recent seasons, Inness deserves a chance as much as ANY other bowler in Shield cricket.

White will probably make it one day but it will depend on the composition of the team (ie. does he play as a bat or a bowler?).

Originally posted by AirportWest #17
MacGill wont get dropped (although he should) for one simple fact, he was born in NSW.

Really?

I thought it might be because he is the leading wicket taker for Australia in the series.

Or maybe because he has the best record of any spinner current available (actually he has a better record than Warne considering he has played far less matches).

I thought all that would come WAY before "he is from NSW".

Gilla must have fluked those 141 wickets in only 28 matches. Amazing ...

:rolleyes: :o

Owww I must have touched a sore sport..........Tell Gilla I said sorry..........Has anyone ever noticed that when Stuart MacGill gets wickets, its more of the batsmen making a mistake than him bowling a good bowl?????????????????And more often than not he gets the tail out..

Owww I must have touched a sore sport..........Tell Gilla I said sorry..........Has anyone ever noticed that when Stuart MacGill gets wickets, its more of the batsmen making a mistake than him bowling a good bowl?????????????????And more often than not he gets the tail out.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Drop MacGill

Originally posted by manmountain
One of the best things about cricket is that you can always point to the scorebook. If you bat like a spaz and get 100, then no matter how ugly you looked, you can point at the book and say "I got a 100". Same with bowling - if you're bowling style is not particularly fashionable, it doesn't matter if you can point at the scorebook and say "I got 5 for 30". Results count.

On results over recent seasons, Inness deserves a chance as much as ANY other bowler in Shield cricket.

White will probably make it one day but it will depend on the composition of the team (ie. does he play as a bat or a bowler?).

Inness is a good handy bowler. One day he might get a crack. Good luck to him. Just remember that there are other bowlers in other states that are fit and ready to go. Plus a couple of veterans who have taken wickets against India before.

As for White being picked for Australia as a batsman, DREAM ON. How many batsman do you think are ahead of him? 15-20.

Owww I must have touched a sore sport..........Tell Gilla I said sorry..........Has anyone ever noticed that when Stuart MacGill gets wickets, its more of the batsmen making a mistake than him bowling a good bowl?????????????????And more often than not he gets the tail out.

Gee, you sure do talk rubbish. Macgill bowled Lara with a beauty just recently in the Carribean tour, and just last test trapped Tendulkar with a brillant straight one. It's not so much batsman making a mistake, it's Macgill fooling the batsman into a mistake. If Macgilla's as sh*t as some of ya think he is, he sure can't fool two of the best batsmen of all time.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Drop MacGill

As for White being picked for Australia as a batsman, DREAM ON. How many batsman do you think are ahead of him? 15-20.

White will never be picked for Australia as a batsmen but as a bowler??? Well only time will tell.........

So you have not heard of the tactic of inducing the batsman into a bad shot. Just at a guess, 60-70% of batsman get out playing a bad shot. Look at Dizzy. Bowls 30 overs, 90%, good balls, and still goes wicketless. Would you drop Dizzy? Magillas record is awesome. He has won his share of games for Australia. You cannot blame him for Australia's poor batting performance in the second innings. Remember that India are the best batting side in the world against spin. Magilla doesn't deserve to be made the scapegoat for losing. It was an average team display on the the last three days that cost Australia the test.

Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Re: Drop MacGill

White will never be picked for Australia as a batsmen but as a bowler??? Well only time will tell.........

No kidding:rolleyes: