Zapp

Anyone completed the "30 second survey" you are presented with when you log online to DT this week?

They sound like they will change DT in 2008. Two of the more worrying questions give me the impression that next you will have the:

* Ability to 'cash in' your points for more trades.
* Ability to buy 'low value' products - Coke I wonder? - to gain more trades.

Plus it sounds like you may have more trades to begin with, and possibly be able to change your team mid-round/each day.

IMO this would not make it the DT many of us have come to love and know. If all of these changes happened I would not bother with DT next year :(.

What are your thoughts?

I just posted something like that in the main thread.

If it comes to buying things (my money's on Coke) in order to get more trades, then I doubt I'll put that much of an effort into a team next year.

It kinda mirrors the AFL in a way; think up stupid ways to change the game rather than fix what's wrong with it.

I would refuse to do it if it happens. Yeah a few changes are maybe needed - i.e. make players more expensive and/or limit price fluctuations (so poor coaches end up with poor teams - bring skill into it a bit more!).

Somehow I think they'll keep it easy to do well, so more people are involved and enjoying it for longer = more advertising (because, just like the AFL, that is ALL that matters). And who knows, there could be the direct incentives to skull a few hundred bottles of coke. Not a big coke drinker, so I won't go well!

Very worrying sign.

I guess all we can do is answer 'No' to all questions.
The competition is going to be a joke if things go the way this survey suggests.

I answered the survey but then submitted general feedback using the "contact us" link stating that the most significant change that should be made to DT2008 is to either reduce the cap or increase player prices. If everyone here does that maybe they will get the message.

All they really had to do was change either player prices or the cap, and throw in the option of being able to enter your team in multiple leagues.

If they give the option to change your team halfway through a round, then it makes captain choice next to useless, likewise subs.

I answered the survey but then submitted general feedback using the "contact us" link stating that the most significant change that should be made to DT2008 is to either reduce the cap or increase player prices. If everyone here does that maybe they will get the message.

I have now done the same thing.

Anyone completed the "30 second survey" you are presented with when you log online to DT this week?

They sound like they will change DT in 2008. Two of the more worrying questions give me the impression that next you will have the:

* Ability to 'cash in' your points for more trades.
* Ability to buy 'low value' products - Coke I wonder? - to gain more trades.

Plus it sounds like you may have more trades to begin with, and possibly be able to change your team mid-round/each day.

IMO this would not make it the DT many of us have come to love and know. If all of these changes happened I would not bother with DT next year :(.

What are your thoughts?

The idea of trading points for extra trades could be an interesting one, don't think I'd want it brought in though.

As for getting more trades for buying sponsors product, that is a ridiculous idea. Basically would mean that to win you'd almost have to spend money on Coke, or whatever else they might include.

I'm sure those at virtualsports would be reading this thread

Please do not make any changes to trades. The suggestion that buying sponsors products will give you more trades should not have even been considered.

We want this game to be based mainly on skill, not on who can buy more of the sponsors products.

There should also be a limit to one team per person otherwise people will be able to slightly vary their squad(s) and take risks on more smokies who they might not have taken risks on in their only team.

Just sent a feedback email saying leave it as a game of skill, not who can afford the most of the sponsor's product. It's like saying you can have extra points in the AFL website footy tips if you invest with the NAB bank...:mad:

Now wouldn't that be hilarious! With every new NAB account opened, 10 free tips added to season total. With over $100K in NAB managed funds, you can't score lower than 7 tips a week :D.

Do you reckon AFL/DT/Coke would've expected the kind of reaction we are seeing here? Hope they are listening!

The game is obviously only going to get easier from now on. :thumbsd:

If they really need to make money from sponsors:

I was thinking they should make something like 'Fantasy Cup' in Fantasy Premier League.

Basically, like a mini-competition within the whole comp. The first 30,000 coaches that buy a Coke or whatever and enter a code from their label or cap or shit like that are put into this knockout format competition.

Losers are knocked out and winners advance to the next round until there is one team left. The matches are just randomly generated and the winner would win something like $5K - $10K.

Thoughts?

We want this game to be based mainly on skill, not on who can buy more of the sponsors products.
They're trying to make money out of it and would be more likely to do it by sponsorship. I'd say good on them if they did decide to make those changes, they're only in it for the money and they're not hiding it. I'll just play Supercoach.

The 'points for trades' and 'free trades for cheap products' aspect annoys me. It would ruin the skill/luck in chosing your team from Week 1. I feel its beginning to get very commercialised.

Its stupid and was shocked by the questions. If people want to stop this all use the Contact Us and use sensible language and make a good arguement.
http://afl12.virtualsports.com.au/help/?p=contactus

Cheers. Fired off some structured comments.

Hopefully they listen to those that play the game and not all the people languishing in five and six figure rankings with deep pockets.

Divide the DreamTeam into one like this years (or with less cap) and one with all these dodgy ideas of exchanging points for trades etc if they have to.

Is Supercoach the next most popular game like this?

the buying a product idea is one of the worst...

but if you think about it, its just like giving 2 trades EACH ROUND no matter what

so 44 trades for the year

because everyone that is "serious" about it, will go out and buy these "cheap" products to have a chance at the 50k

so ffs dont do it, 44 trades a year, lol

this is a fantastic idea. id buy slabs of coke to gain more trades. I cant see why you all oppose this idea?

more trades = more cash cows during the season.
i cant wait till they introduce this.

the buying a product idea is one of the worst...

but if you think about it, its just like giving 2 trades EACH ROUND no matter what

so 44 trades for the year

because everyone that is "serious" about it, will go out and buy these "cheap" products to have a chance at the 50k

so ffs dont do it, 44 trades a year, lol

i respect anything you have to say...purely for your avatar.

The game is obviously only going to get easier from now on. :thumbsd:

If they really need to make money from sponsors:

I was thinking they should make something like 'Fantasy Cup' in Fantasy Premier League.

Basically, like a mini-competition within the whole comp. The first 30,000 coaches that buy a Coke or whatever and enter a code from their label or cap or shit like that are put into this knockout format competition.

Losers are knocked out and winners advance to the next round until there is one team left. The matches are just randomly generated and the winner would win something like $5K - $10K.

Thoughts?

I think the idea of an FA cup style knockout competition running alongside the whole thing is a brilliant one. 30,000 Entrants would not work though (don't want to be too smart here) Has to be 32,000, 64,000, 128,000, 256,000 etc etc

There should be prize money for everyone in the top 20 I reckon, not just winner take all in a comp of that size.

Apart from that, the other changes I'd like to see are the ability to enter one team in more than one league, and the ability to click on a team other than yours, say ten minutes after lockout, and see what changes they made, who their captain and emergencies are etc.

Clearly Dream Team 2007 has been a huge success. I've never seen or heard so much written about fantasy AFL before. I say either keep it the same, or lower the salary cap a bit. Any other changed and i'll be dubious.

dont flatter dream team 2007 mate.

like all things of this nature, they get more popular year by year regardless of wether they are becoming "more succesful" due to word of mouth and their general adictivness.

salary cap needs to be lowered. still will be MORE people writing and talking about fantasy AFL but a more challenging, worthwhile and in a strange way more fun game