Dubai

Hi All,

I'm thinking of going over to Dubai to work for a year or two and am trying to gather some information.

Anyone been to Dubai or know someone who has?
Any good websites you could refer me too?

I work in Finance with 4-5 years experience. CA qualified. My partner will also travel and she is a teacher.

Help greatly appreciated.

Hi All,

I'm thinking of going over to Dubai to work for a year or two and am trying to gather some information.

Anyone been to Dubai or know someone who has?
Any good websites you could refer me too?

I work in Finance with 4-5 years experience. CA qualified. My partner will also travel and she is a teacher.

Help greatly appreciated.

Hi Ken,

Cant really speak from a working perspective but did just get back from a holiday in Europe a month ago where we stopped over here on the way and on the way back.

Accountants seem to be in demand here though which you would probably already know not sure about teaching.

The place as a whole will blow your mind, 48 degrees during the arvo and was only getting hotter towards their summer. The place is still being developed in a number of areas but in terms of say your everyday most things are covered. The majority of the locals where the white and black robes which apparently keep them cool.

I loved the place but to live i dunno the heat would kill me and i am serious about how hot it can get.

Thr air is harder to breath than in australia and can almost be choking, i dunno its up to you i wouldnt commit to it without experiencing it first see if you can just do even a day there and then decide

Aussies say they love the heat - that opinion might change if they went to Dubai going by your experience HR. Although they do have a desalination plant there which helps solve the water problem ;)

G'day mate,

I worked for Emirates for some time and I travelled to Dubai about 5 times a year.

It is a fantastic and safe place. Very accomodating to expats. Google "live and work in Dubai" and you sould get some nice websites to check out.

The only thing I will say is that the heat can become very uncomfortable...many days of 40+ degrees.

I would recomend living there...I am uctually looking for a place to buy there due to work commitments in the future.

Thanks for your replies guys/gals

Does anyone know whether or not it would be possible to tee up a job from within Australia so that I could go over their already employed? I am a bit reluctant going over there without a job from the start.