Analysis Dwindling Crowds

• Thread starter Thread starter Willo_

Ok, how's this for something by way of a solution to timeslot/cost issues:

1. Existing season seat holders can renew their seats for the upcoming season for 8 games if they choose. They take on all issues with cost and scheduling. This is as per the current system; those happy with it don't have to change.

2. Alternatively, when renewing the "owner" of the seat can choose to sub-let their seat for the year to a person of their choosing or let he club find someone (if there are any takers). The sublessee pays for the seat for the year but has no option on the following year. This provides flexibility to the owner if they are going overseas or facing short term financial difficulties.

3. A third option available could be that the "owner" of the seat can choose to sub-lease in the manner of option 2 but only for a selection of games. They might be all Sunday games, or all night games or all early games, or all games in June. This is a way of reducing costs for the owner and ensuring they get value by only paying for the games they attend.

I'd go further. If we are going to have Sunday day games at Geelong, make them all 1:10 starts. It's an early enough time for even outer Melburnians to be back at a decent hour, and it caters perfectly for the 4:00pm game that we know will be scheduled elsewhere (typically interstate). Given we'll have Saturday day and Saturday night games, it should not be too difficult to request.
I've said it before and I'll say it again, the same should apply in the reverse direction with Geelong games in Melbourne. I know quite a few people who live along various sections of the surfcoast and that's quite a trek home as well.

So basically all geelong games on a Sunday then... home or away

No I'm just making the point that if the late timeslot is not preferable for some Melbourne based fans, that the reverse is also true.

So I think regardless of MCG, ES or KP we shouldn't be aiming for late Sunday games. I also say that if I had an option between Fri or Sat night games in Melbourne then I'd prefer Saturday night given the rush it can be at times to get from Geelong/Surfcoast up to Melbourne in time for the game, especially if rain causes the closure of Yarra Park.

This is mostly anecdotal from past experiences.

No I'm just making the point that if the late timeslot is not preferable for some Melbourne based fans, that the reverse is also true.

So I think regardless of MCG, ES or KP we shouldn't be aiming for late Sunday games. I also say that if I had an option between Fri or Sat night games in Melbourne then I'd prefer Saturday night given the rush it can be at times to get from Geelong/Surfcoast up to Melbourne in time for the game, especially if rain causes the closure of Yarra Park.

Yeah so you were agreeing with Patridge but saying for all Geelong games that are on a Sunday... at home or away

This all sounds far to sensible.Will never happen.

Yeah so you were agreeing with Patridge but saying for all Geelong games that are on a Sunday... at home or away
Got ya now. First time I read your reference to Geelong as referring to the location but I see now you were referring to the club.

Yes I am in a way agreeing with him just presenting the reverse experience. Geelong member travelling up the highway!

I think there needs to be more certainty and continuity for fans though.

You're under the presumpion the AFL gives a fig about the fans in the outer. All this "2015: The Fan's Game" BS is just window dressing as we lead up to the new telecast rights.

It's a TV sport now worth billions. The clubs can't start to cry poor when people are doing what the networks want - for you to stay home and watch it. Preferably by subscribing to Foxtel.

You're under the presumpion the AFL gives a fig about the fans in the outer. All this "2015: The Fan's Game" BS is just window dressing as we lead up to the new telecast rights.

It's a TV sport now worth billions. The clubs can't start to cry poor when people are doing what the networks want - for you to stay home and watch it. Preferably by subscribing to Foxtel.
So time to develop canned atmosphere to be played across the vision.It's a job for Das.

AFL priority number 1 - Money

jerrymoney.gif

AFL priority number 2 - Money

HkVAN.gif

AFL priority number 3 - Money.

Counting-Money.gif

The afl only care us as long as we help them with priority 1, 2 or 3.

It shouldn't matter if what you say is true, and it's not a stretch to think that it is. I'm still not sure why there can't be some continuity worked into the fixture that will keep all parties reasonably happy.

I remember it was 2 bucks to get in for a kid at KP... as a parent faced with taking my little bloke to the footy in the future god that would be good

Used to be half that for all games as a kid.

Plus, if you were a member of the VFL Footy Juniors, you would get your fifth game of the season free (or so memory tells me).

So time to develop canned atmosphere to be played across the vision.It's a job for Das.

It's been (mildly) canned for a few years now, or so I've been told by a mate work used to work at 7.

It shouldn't matter if what you say is true, and it's not a stretch to think that it is. I'm still not sure why there can't be some continuity worked into the fixture that will keep all parties reasonably happy.

There's just too many teams spread over too many timeslots/timezones, across (at the moment) two network providers - plus radio - too keep everyone happy.

The only priority for the AFL is to keep Channel 7 happy, then Foxtel, then the clubs.

But I'm presuming there will be major changes with the new rights agreements regarding a 'floating fixture'. Channel 7 will want the key games each week to be Friday and Saturday nights, and they will want to dictate who plays those games 5-6 weeks in advance, not a year.

Let's face it though - compared to 30 years ago when we were lucky to catch 3 minutes of highlights form Kardinia Park on World of Sport with Sam or Bobby giving a really rough idea of the game, we're pretty blessed.

There's just too many teams spread over too many timeslots/timezones, across (at the moment) two network providers - plus radio - too keep everyone happy.

The only priority for the AFL is to keep Channel 7 happy, then Foxtel, then the clubs.

But I'm presuming there will be major changes with the new rights agreements regarding a 'floating fixture'. Channel 7 will want the key games each week to be Friday and Saturday nights, and they will want to dictate who plays those games 5-6 weeks in advance, not a year.

Let's face it though - compared to 30 years ago when we were lucky to catch 3 minutes of highlights form Kardinia Park on World of Sport with Sam or Bobby giving a really rough idea of the game, we're pretty blessed.

I really hope we don't get into flex fixturing. The whole thing has become a big enough cluster**** as it is without adding to it.

I prefer saturday day or night games as a preference. Sundays are generally spent amusing the kids and they're not interested in football.

Used to be half that for all games as a kid.

Plus, if you were a member of the VFL Footy Juniors, you would get your fifth game of the season free (or so memory tells me).

It's been (mildly) canned for a few years now, or so I've been told by a mate work used to work at 7.
I always jumped the fence as a kid until I started work,there were no shortage of bloke who would bunk you up in the earlier years, once over I would run like buggery into the crowd I don't know why no one ever chased you.:)

I jumped the wall leading into the old toilet block between the Bob Davis gate and moorabool street once. I decided to make a run for it thinking security were unaware of my mischievous actions... next minute I'm getting escorted out of the ground to the applause of 500 people waiting for the gates to open.

hahahahahahaha well done

I had a membership too which was the funny part. I wanted to get in early to grab a seat... back in the day there were only 3 rows of bench around the ground. First in best dressed.:p

Plenty of room to move around in the standing section, I think 23k was generous.
It was like I was at the local footy. Might see if I can get my car up there next tim so I can toot my horn when we kick a goal.
I'll come over so I can have a smoke. :p

Plenty of room to move around in the standing section, I think 23k was generous.
It was like I was at the local footy. Might see if I can get my car up there next tim so I can toot my horn when we kick a goal.

I'll come over so I can have a smoke. :p

Sneak the esky in the back and I'll join you

I live in Melbourne and have only missed one (from memory) game at KP since 2005 or so, and that was because I was unwell. So I'm definitely speaking in the minority here as a loyal diehard who schedules other weekend commitments around Geelong games. I'm fortunate enough to only work Monday-Friday and I don't have kids so I have the flexibility to do this.

I've been really disappointed with the scheduling and timeslots of our KP games for the past couple of seasons. Last year there were far too many night games. I made it to the Thursday night (Crows) game and Friday night (NM) games but it was a big effort involving leaving work early and being out of the house from 7.30am until the following morning. Definitely not ideal.

This year, the two 3.20pm Sunday games have been difficult. I've gotten home after 8pm after each which is tough when you've got a week of work to prepare for. I'm sure it's almost impossible for families.

As others have said, those living in Geelong also travel to Melbourne for games but they're generally better/bigger games and in the case of a Etihad at least, a much more comfortable experience thanks to the roof and avoiding bad weather.

Times change. So has society. I remember when going to the footy was like going to the pub. A game at the Western Oval and other places used to be free after half time. Standing room was very cheap at KP where you would get the Corio bogan types who would make a lot of noise. But these days higher ticket prices have made the game more exclusive and out of reach for those types of people. These days its more the golf/tennis crowd who go to the footy. More people work on weekends now. People do other things like go out for lunch instead. Women force men to stay at home and do household/family chores on weekends so they cant take their sons to the footy like they used to.
Jesus, it's like men are required to be fully functioning and responsible members of their own family or something ;)