Society & Culture Dying traditions

• Thread starter Thread starter Dav

We once convinced a a barman to give us a jug of whiskey on closing time call for last drinks
It took the whole bottle so he had to add something cant remeber if it was coke or soda or ginger ale we were all so pissed it didnt matter

Jugs of Hervey Wall-banger at Falls Creek Hotel are always good for some fun skiing home afterwards

Jugs.

When I was 18 you'd go to the pub and buy a jug and grab 3 or 4 middy (pot) glasses. You'd all share the jug and then the next person would go up and buy one until some sneaky kent left without ever buying one.

Pretty uncommon these days to find a pub that still sells jugs let along people buying them.
Do you drink your jugs alone though

I'm glad it has died out - I don't think I'd last the trip, especially if it's in the daylight. If I look down at my phone, look for the Coke bottle lid I dropped on the floor, look out the window for too long I'll get carsick. And if we were to go driving around for fun, I would want to watch something on my phone, which then makes me carsick

Well my Sunday drives with the family just basically we DROVE somewhere eg. Gisborne, didnt do nothing good, just ****ing went to Gisborne and turned around and drove the **** home.

Also being the third kid, the youngest, i was always in the middle seat. Was ****ing awful.

I had a hard life, i know.

Jugs are also like $20-25 in places that sell them which isn't like the good ol' days. Cheapest I've had in Australia is $5, were $8-10 when I was at uni.

It's a good social drinking practice because you aren't locked into drinking 3 or 4 pints at a time as you would be with a couple of people buying rounds.

With jugs you could drink as much or as little as you liked and with a group there would often be a few jugs on the go so you never ran out of beer.

Getting in rounds of pints could be a problem when some guys drank quicker than others and would be hanging around with an empty pint waiting for the slow drinkers to go and buy another round, not to mention some campaigners disappearing and not buying a round so you were left either out of pocket or out of beer.

We once convinced a a barman to give us a jug of whiskey on closing time call for last drinks
It took the whole bottle so he had to add something cant remeber if it was coke or soda or ginger ale we were all so pissed it didnt matter

Jugs of Hervey Wall-banger at Falls Creek Hotel are always good for some fun skiing home afterwards

The barmen are like that in places like Spain where they free pour spirits, they keep pouring until you tell them to stop.

They charge the same price no matter how much they pour which I thought was great until they locals told me the barman would think you're a campaigner if you took the piss and let them pour more than was acceptable for the price you paid. That still didn't stop me turning single shots into doubles though.

Unless I've been lied to, I've heard stories of families who just got in the car and drove around for fun, went sightseeing, bought an ice cream. I don't think it happens at all anymore because going for a car ride is less of an experience, but technically it still fits the theme of the thread

We walked to and from school and never went anywhere on weeknights so a weekend drive somewhere like King Lake or Frankston was a treat for us. We'd stop for a few hours and have a picnic that mum packed while dad would get drunk then he'd drive us home. The back seats of our Valiant had no seat belts of course, but that didn't matter as we had a station wagon and my sister and I would usually be lying down in the back playing UNO during the drive back. One time my sister and I ended up headbutting each other when dad clipped a Torana on the Calder. Good times.

Did you do corners?

We did corners sometimes.

Oh what about those stationwagons that had "pop up" seats in the boot??? So you'd be facing backwards from the direction the car is driving in?

We had those, and sat in those sometimes, were great fun.

My uncle had one of those, we would flip the bird at cars behind us on the freeway.

I reckon I can top that though. We once went on a school excursion to Mt Macedon in primary school in the teachers ute. About 10 of us kids sat in the tray there and back, no blanket or anything. Froze our arses off.

My uncle had one of those, we would flip the bird at cars behind us on the freeway.

I reckon I can top that though. We once wen't on a school excursion to Mt Macedon in primary school in the teachers ute. About 10 of us kids sat in the tray, no blanket or anything. Froze our arses off.

Our green volvo had those.

Ugh my parents and their ****ing volvos. Were horrible cars (yes safe i know). Am so glad when they changed to Nissan..

What about table service in bars?

At Spice Market if you have a booth, they do table service and its great.(good place to go pre-footy Friday, unlike Duke where you cant get near the bar after 5.30pm)

Lovely ladies in there too

I remember bringing a couple of Aboriginal guys from outback NT to Melbourne once for a cultural experience (going to the footy at the G). Stayed in Carlton and on the first night went to the University Bar and I bought 2 jugs. They looked at me with amazement, never having seen a jug before, and said something like, you mob from Melbourne love your beer. Where's yours? So I went back to the bar and bought a third. We drank straight from the jugs. Can't quite remember how it happened, but the owner/manager was amused and closed the bar and we had a private party with his Italian mates, on the house.
I think that bar's closed now.

What about table service in bars?

Did it ever used to be a thing in Aus? Pretty much everywhere I go you have to fetch your own drinks from the bar.

When I was in the US table service was everywhere.

I only had table service in the States, was great in theory as you didn't have to go to the bar but it was easy to lose track of how much you were spending.

You would get some sexy little waitress flirting with you and prompting you to get more drinks, meals etc.

Then they bring out a 400 dollar tab at the end of the night plus tips when you only planned on spending 200 dollars max.

Hitch-hiking, Ive gone to Sydney and up and down the South Coast of NSW would always hitch down the eastern freeway to get to a a pub or club on a Friday or Saturday night,harder to get a lift home but still got heaps

Smartphones have ruined the ability to have an argument about something neither of you actually know much about. Always someone pulling up Google to fact check.

I attended all lectures (and will again)
Learning is better in person, hate studying online.

I have actually been in the position where I studied both. Old school plus online.

Lectures aren't all their cracked up to be. Some are great speakers and unmissable most are just old farts crapping on about their pet theories with no relevance to the modern world. (Which ironically qualifies me and 99% of Big Footy Posters to get down to apply for a Rhodes Scholarship today).

Well my Sunday drives with the family just basically we DROVE somewhere eg. Gisborne, didnt do nothing good, just ******* went to Gisborne and turned around and drove the **** home.

Also being the third kid, the youngest, i was always in the middle seat. Was ******* awful.

I had a hard life, i know.

I was left side behind the passenger front. And whoever got car sick got the front.

Long summer evenings outside with your brothers/sisters/friends playing cricket or riding your bike around until the street lights came on
I used to get scolded when I’d come home at 9pm with dirt in my feet, playing street soccer, and trying to kick a Burley into street lights. We’d play FIFA and PES in the rain then go outdoors when we could. Nice times.

And that was only 15 years ago.

These days parents would be like ‘what? You nearly got abducted! Ollie, Amelia... you guys are so vintage! Oh such classic kids!’

I only had table service in the States, was great in theory as you didn't have to go to the bar but it was easy to lose track of how much you were spending.

You would get some sexy little waitress flirting with you and prompting you to get more drinks, meals etc.

Then they bring out a 400 dollar tab at the end of the night plus tips when you only planned on spending 200 dollars max.
Table service isn’t a thing in Australia and never was - we had bars and you’d sit at it with your cash and whittle it down all night. Or so I heard.

They do table service in America so they can talk you into drinks, bring extras out, talk you into tabs, and most importantly sting you for tips.

These days you pay $4 for a pot glass of a ‘craft lager’ but ultimately it sucks. You pay a buck on top for the tip. So about $8 Australian for a ****in pot / middy of beer. Pricks.

I remember bringing a couple of Aboriginal guys from outback NT to Melbourne once for a cultural experience (going to the footy at the G). Stayed in Carlton and on the first night went to the University Bar and I bought 2 jugs. They looked at me with amazement, never having seen a jug before, and said something like, you mob from Melbourne love your beer. Where's yours? So I went back to the bar and bought a third. We drank straight from the jugs. Can't quite remember how it happened, but the owner/manager was amused and closed the bar and we had a private party with his Italian mates, on the house.
I think that bar's closed now.
Uni Hotel at the middle end of Lygon?

****in shithole. Routinely used to just live off old boomers who came over from interstate to live off overpriced Italian and have four beers beforehand.

I used to work nearby and one night I finished at about midnight on a Saturday. The bottle shop was open. Went in knowing the legends about their expense so even skimped on Coopers - went a Stella. ‘That’s $38.’ ‘Nah just the six...’ ‘yeah 38.’ ‘Are you ****in serious? **** I don’t need a beer that much.’ campaigners.

Uni Hotel at the middle end of Lygon?

****in shithole. Routinely used to just live off old boomers who came over from interstate to live off overpriced Italian and have four beers beforehand.

I used to work nearby and one night I finished at about midnight on a Saturday. The bottle shop was open. Went in knowing the legends about their expense so even skimped on Coopers - went a Stella. ‘That’s $38.’ ‘Nah just the six...’ ‘yeah 38.’ ‘Are you ****in serious? **** I don’t need a beer that much.’ campaigners.
Don’t know much about it.
When I was young it used to have a late night bottle shop (late 1980’s when there weren’t many around)
Was a free night for us that night.

Sundays have changed. A lot of people used to go to church. And very few shops were open.

If you look at old photographs of crowds, such at the footy, nearly all the blokes were wearing proper hats.

Teachers used to write on blackboards with chalk.

Corporal punishment was common in schools up until the last 50 years or so.

TV used to finish for the night at 11pm or midnight. A presenter would say goodnight then there was no more shows until morning.

Sending negatives in the post to get your photos printed.