Dylan Roberton

okay so talia is 95kg. i'd suggest that that is flattering him.

the question is, who are the teams that have damaging key fwds us and how much do their keys weigh?

freo, pav 95kg
rich, jack 90kg
wce, 90kg 100kg 100kg
north, drew 100kg
coll, trav 100kg
gee, hawk 100kg
haw, buddy 100kg

seriously, there aren't that many teams with big monsters and the ones that are out there just need double-teaming with buddy being the clear exception.
Yeah, they're just 20kg heavier than him, he'll be fine...

I have no idea why you think he'd be a capable KPD, from the sounds of it he's never played as one in his life.

he's not small. what does talia weigh? not much.

do you really need a gorilla these days?

We'll, yeah you do. Not like a Ben Rutten but you need a Quick and Agile Gorilla.
Maxy was a great FB back but he wasn't playing on 195 - 200cm. (Every week).
-Matthew Lloyd was probably the most dominant forward in Maxys era and he was 192cm NOT agile and got majority of goals from lead ups (and umps).
-Lance Franklin is now the most dominant forward, he's 196cm IS agile and can run like a F'n racehorse. (Jack Riewoldt 195cm).

The games changed a lot and now.
Roberton will not be a FB IMO.
Watters has already stated he was looking for a 195cm player for that position, Roberton doesn't fit the bill.

the question is, who are the teams that have damaging key fwds us and how much do their keys weigh?

freo, pav 95kg
rich, jack 90kg
wce, 90kg 100kg 100kg
north, drew 100kg
coll, trav 100kg
gee, hawk 100kg
haw, buddy 100kg

seriously, there aren't that many teams with big monsters and the ones that are out there just need double-teaming with buddy being the clear exception.

Every team you just mentioned bar one is top 8.
I'm tipping you will maybe need a big guy if your serious about the saints playing finals.

Also with your list add:
jPod
Goodes, LRT, eventually Reid.
all resting ruckman
roughhead

There's heaps more but I think my points made.

one would argue that sometimes the only difference between being a pivotal rebounder and a well supported key pole is sheer license. but perhaps i'm getting davis and talia confused.

freo, pav 95kg
rich, jack 90kg
wce, 90kg 100kg 100kg
north, drew 100kg
coll, trav 100kg
gee, hawk 100kg
haw, buddy 100kg

Just by way of comparison, the Saints had Simpkin listed at 91Kg and Fisher at 92Kg. I assume that was last season.

I consider it unlikely that you will find any single player who is good to play on Buddy ( and similar ) and on Hawkins( and similar ).

Just by way of comparison, the Saints had Simpkin listed at 91Kg and Fisher at 92Kg. I assume that was last season.

I consider it unlikely that you will find any single player who is good to play on Buddy ( and similar ) and on Hawkins( and similar ).

spot on. it's a team philosophy on effort more than anything else with franklin and hawkins.

look, it's unfortunate for ferguson, but realistically, yeah.

Every team you just mentioned bar one is top 8.
I'm tipping you will maybe need a big guy if your serious about the saints playing finals.

Also with your list add:
jPod
Goodes, LRT, eventually Reid.
all resting ruckman
roughhead

There's heaps more but I think my points made.

Walker 98Kg
Schultz 95Kg
Clarke 98Kg
N Riewoldt 96Kg
S Milne 83Kg
J Waite 94Kg
Wilkes 96Kg
Stanley 95Kg

It just proves that most big &*^)ers who can play AFL end up weighing a bit.
Oh and Milney is the only top 10 goalkicker who weighs less than 90Kg.

I have no idea why you think he'd be a capable KPD, from the sounds of it he's never played as one in his life.

Question: What's the difference between:

Quinten+Lynch+Dylan+Roberton+NAB+Challenge+tAFM7LYwUp5l.jpg

and

487024-nab-cup.jpg

Answer. Barry Hall was brilliant at it!

I'm not expecting DR to be a magician.
But I expect effort, consistency, ability and commitment. All of which he has in spades.

Roberton wont be playing FB back. I think he can be better across half back than Gilbert. Certainly has the ability to rotate in a few positions as well.

Could he play as an outside midfielder?

Unless we can cut a rookie or 2 to grab Tippett/Rodda etc then I think we will almost certainly see Tommy Lee play in the backline next year. He has the size and ability to go with the likes of Cloke, Shultz, JRoo etc. Think of the educational value as well.

Lee admitted he had to take his second chance because he didn't work hard enough the first time. What better way to learn about how hard he will need to work than by playing at CHB on the biggest, fittest, strongest, smartest and most talented KPF's in the league?

At worst we end up in the same position as last year BUT if it works we will have an elite state level athletic forward with a season of backline education under his belt. If he performs really well then he can stay there while Roo, Stanley, Wilkes, White, Hickey and Kosi play forward.

All up, happy to back the team and welcome Dylan to the club! Will he get the #17?

I would have said Bazza has his hands in Cougars back that wasn't picked up, but then, better than his face, right fellas?

But seriously, Max also largely played in a different era of footy where you could get away with a lot more like an initial impeding of the forwards lead merely by placing your arm around their waist and not touch them, these days you impede a forward in any capacity and you run the risk of getting pinged, they drop the knees and fly over their back you get pinged, they stop dead and you follow that half step forward you're done, etc etc, so whilst yes Maxy was great, he's been out of the game effectively 3 years and if 1 weeks a long time 3 years is an eternity for the game to evolve against his tactics employed.

These days you need endurance, core strength and reach doubled with adequate disposal. Maxy had 2 of 4 (reach & core strength), Dawson had 2 of 4 (reach & core strength), Roberton has 2 (endurance & adequate disposal) the hypothetical being if he actually gets training in classical KPD to even attain adequate reach to get a spoil in (thus using his entire frames wingspan), he'll have a decent chance to surpass those 3 on consistent traits because that's how the game has progressed, not because he'll be the better footballer.

I would have said Bazza has his hands in Cougars back that wasn't picked up, but then, better than his face, right fellas?

But seriously, Max also largely played in a different era of footy where you could get away with a lot more like an initial impeding of the forwards lead merely by placing your arm around their waist and not touch them, these days you impede a forward in any capacity and you run the risk of getting pinged, they drop the knees and fly over their back you get pinged, they stop dead and you follow that half step forward you're done, etc etc, so whilst yes Maxy was great, he's been out of the game effectively 3 years and if 1 weeks a long time 3 years is an eternity for the game to evolve against his tactics employed.

These days you need endurance, core strength and reach doubled with adequate disposal. Maxy had 2 of 4 (reach & core strength), Dawson had 2 of 4 (reach & core strength), Roberton has 2 (endurance & adequate disposal) the hypothetical being if he actually gets training in classical KPD to even attain adequate reach to get a spoil in (thus using his entire frames wingspan), he'll have a decent chance to surpass those 3 on consistent traits because that's how the game has progressed, not because he'll be the better footballer.
I think that assessment is pretty flawed, Roo has all those traits but I doubt he'd be a good key defender.

Roo is also a natural forward, played juniors as a forward and is a forward.
Roberton is also a natural backman, played juniors as a backman, and was a backman at Freo.

Yet mine was the flawed assessment? Go figure. :p

You'll notice I compared him to other defenders, and even then it was a minimal comparison because as I've stated earlier in the thread I do not view him as a KP despite being around that height in the same vein as I do not consider Gilbert, currently, a KP because they do not use their height as a KP does, they do not use their reach as a KP does, they use their attributes as a midfielder does, with general defensive training.

But then, to counter your retort, Kosi was a natural backman, played juniors as a backman, was a competent ruckman, then a competent forward. This was also because Kosi was a natural KP, he used his body as a KP does in any role he was in, received training in said roles to then assume a KPD/KPF/Ruck "mantle" as opposed to Rooey who is and always was a forward and similar to Blake. Some people are just fish to water with their KP attributes whilst others specialise.

That also entirely misses the point I was making in that those who were comparing defenders to Max were engaging in idiocy as rules have changed, interpretations have changed, players have obviously changed, and the game has suitably changed along with it that the only fair comparison is with current competitors as they're the only ones playing with the same beast.

I still think its a matter of judging the flight of the ball and watching the opponent at the same time. I think Max had a very good rapport with Sam Fisher which compensated to an extent that he very rarely ended up with the ball. I thought of him almost as a ruckman in the backline, tapping some very large bounces to Sam's advantage.

I wish this guy all the luck. He has the hallmarks of a GOP.

But, he shouldn't be blamed for recruiting or not recruiting a FB. If we had got mitch brown and still got this guy - would we have complained? I think not.

He is not a delisted free agent without reason, and I doubt his recruiting is the recruiting disaster of the century- the way its being portrayed on BF. He's cost nothin' to us (except list spot and base pay).

I think you will come to like Roberton. He's really cool in a tight spot, makes good decisions and is the type that sleeps with a footy. Really good kid, sad to see him go. Good luck to him.

I have noticed a few Fremantle fans, much like yourself, offering positive views on Robertson. Why was he delisted? I didn't watch enough Fremantle matches this season, with living in QLD not helping this cause.

He delisted himself to pursue a contract in Victoria, because his girlfriend's pregnant or something

Regardless, Bazza was the only bloke I reckon who really took to Zac and Bazza took to a few over the course of his career.

Rocca
Brown
Buddy
J Roo
Cloke
Tippett

Just to name a few off the top of my head... who kicked bags on him. In 09 Maxy helped him a fair bit (incl on Buddy in the Hawks game at Tassie).

Rocca
Brown
Buddy
J Roo
Cloke
Tippett

Just to name a few off the top of my head... who kicked bags on him. In 09 Maxy helped him a fair bit (incl on Buddy in the Hawks game at Tassie).

He got a lot of help, I actually think Raph Clarke drifted up and helped him way more than he was ever given credit for.

That being said, so did Blake, Fisher, Gilbert...

They were miserly, structured and methodical.