Dyson Hore-Lacey

• Thread starter Thread starter Dr. Death

Dr. Death

Draftee
I was wondering whether anyone knew whether Dyson has any interest in the Brisbane Lions. I remember he vowed never to get involved in the club at all. Just wondering whether time has healed any of his wounds.

I was speaking to a former Fitzroy footballer at the TOC night who claimed that during the process of trying to cut a deal with Nth Melbourne in 96, Dyson was also negotiating a deal with Brisbane just in case Nth didn't come to the party.

Its obvious that a number of you that post threads in this forum follow the Fitzroy Reds. I'm getting the impression that Fitzroy Football club has some involvement with the Reds. Excuse my ignorance, its just that i dont follow the Reds, and it appears that many of you are still connected in some way with the Fitzroy board.

Can anyone shed any light on this?

The company Fitzroy Football Club ("I'm a survivor, I'm gonna make it ..."), having had a void after the playing entity seceded from it, is the major sponsor of the Reds, and view the Reds as the natural progression from the 1996 Fitzroy Lions (via Coburg-Fitzroy Lions RIP).

The Fitzroy Football Club sponsors the Fitzroy Reds (including naming rights on the jumper) as well as the Fitzroy Junior Football Club. The Juniors are also sponsored by the Brisbane Lions.
AS for Dyson, we have never seen him at a Reds game. Other board members such as Elaine Findlay and Colin Hobbs have been seen at Brunswick Street, plus Billy A is there every week manning the scoreboard. Chances are that if the Reds make the GF, Dyson will be there!

Cheers,
FitzroyRamone

Dyson's book, "Fitzroy" will give you the details, but he did ask Brisbane to put in their offer as well, in case the North deal fell through.

I can't imagine Dyson will ever follow Brisbane. Last time I saw him, he said he was happy just watching his son play footy.

A brother, I think.

I believe they are also related to Kerry Packer, not that any of Kerry's money seemed to find its way to Fitzroy.

Dyson Hore-Lacy is not particularly fond of the Brisbane Lions, (after being sued by them in late 96) but he does realise that many Fitzroy people now follow them. I recall clearly him saying at the FFC Annual General Meeting last year that Fitzroy supporters were fortunate in having three teams to support, the Fitzroy Reds, the Coburg-Fitzroy Lions and the Brisbane Lions. Some people pointed out at the time that he had forgotten the Fitzroy Juniors.

I believe he was also involved in the recent negotiations (along with Bill Atherton) with the Brisbane Lions for the removal of the debenture and the placing of an BB-FFC logo on the back of the Brisbane Lions jumpers for 2002, which in my view, is great.

Yes Dyson and Rick are brothers and there is a connection along the lines with Kerry, (all with tha famous stick) Dyson's family actually come from Tassie (?).
As quoted in this post Fitzroy zre sponsors of the Reds, but ask Peter Hille and sponsors only, as the Reds are a seperate ientity from the FFC, and it will stay that way sponsors and sponsors only.
Juniors well different kettle of fish, as every one thinks that the Juniors are a new venture, over the last couple of years, but the Juniors actually started in the mid to late 1890's, as an off shoot of the Normandy Football Club a for runner to the Fitzroy Football Club, I have some large photos of the Juniors in the erly 1910's and some from the early 1900's, just a bit of history in to the subject.

Your right there re Dyson, but Leon Weigard did a grand job alone for a years.
But if you listen to either of them and if you can get hold of tapes of Leon talking he said the same things but a bout face at every turn and no one realised until he'd retired.
Dyson being a master of the courts as a QC had a great repertoire but gat the retoric speech after speech, and that is not slateing either, as I've had numerous drinks with both and regard them as good blokes, but strange as if from the other side at times.
**** hope Dyson doesn't read these.

Hi Levo,
I agree that Leon was pretty smooth. I was with a mate in the Standard Hotel (Fitzroy) about to watch Carlton play St Kilda at Princes Park one weekend and we had a chat to Leon. The Roys were playing Hawthorn that weekend in Hobart (1991?). Leon was rather slick about supporting the Tassie experiment, which I always felt was doomed to fail. I reckon the ACT was our most promising market, but the AFL stuffed it for us and Canberra will now become a rugby (union) stronghold. Go Brumbies!

At least in Canberra we had a rather larger ground but the problem of snow and frost on the ground would have been a hazard, but not like the little pissy ground in Tassie, and in Canberra we had the (Jeff) Bruce Stadium, on the same wave length as the The Great (Danny) Southern Stand.
Yes Leon good bloke and but a snake oil salesman.