Eagleton

I don't understand how people can be so certain that a guy who has never played a game at AFL level should just waltz in to the side because a senior player had a few bad kicks. It seems quite a few people on this forum have some kind of blind faith in anyone that Scott Clayton drafted over the past 9 years.

I sincerely hope Okeefe turns out to be a star but for now he has to do it consistantly at that level. If he's B.O.G 3 weeks in a row then sure, give him a game.

How many first gamers have been BOG 3 weeks in a row in the ressies before they get a game? O'Keefe has been consistently in Willy's best last year and this year [so I'm told....] so would not be waltzing in.

While I think it's harsh to single out Eagle when the whole team was down, he would be one of several who could reasonably make way for in - form Willy players IMHO.

BTW We didn't play too well last week either so after two sub par games would not hurt to drop a player or two.

How many first gamers have been BOG 3 weeks in a row in the ressies before they get a game? O'Keefe has been consistently in Willy's best last year and this year [so I'm told....] so would not be waltzing in.

While I think it's harsh to single out Eagle when the whole team was down, he would be one of several who could reasonably make way for in - form Willy players IMHO.

BTW We didn't play too well last week either so after two sub par games would not hurt to drop a player or two.

O'Keefe is very good, I just think the other lad his mate Wood is more explosive.

O'Keefe has earned it more than Wood when you take into account their performances for Willi this season.

The Bald Eagle is sadly not in our best 22 anymore and should only be seen as depth. We are still a young and improving side and should still be playing and developing the kids.

O'Keefe has earned it more than Wood when you take into account their performances for Willi this season.

The Bald Eagle is sadly not in our best 22 anymore and should only be seen as depth. We are still a young and improving side and should still be playing and developing the kids.

Willy has only played one non practice match this season. On Saturday.

And are you taking into account Woods game for the Dog's against Essendon in the pre-season, O'Keefe did not play in that match.

Willy has only played one non practice match this season. On Saturday.

And are you taking into account Woods game for the Dog's against Essendon in the pre-season, O'Keefe did not play in that match.

I have taken into account the form he showed in all the practice games too. He has been in the bests all year. I have also taken into account the player he will replace, Aker. O'Keefe can play forward as a small forward as well as well push into the mid field too, can Wood do this?

Wood was rewarded with a place in the NAB cup for his preseason while it's widely known that O'Keefe didn't have a very good preseason and had a run in with Rocket about, but he hasn't looked back or made a mistake since.

O'Keefe had about 40 disposals and kicked 5 goals and should be the next cab off the rank. This boy is a natural football player and will be a star.

IMO eagleton has not showed his worth in the side so far this year, as have other players, however this thread is not about them. I say The Eagle should be dropped for this week to give him a hint as to the fact that he must improve to keep his spot in future. That trick worked a treat with Milney and Dal Santo last year after they came back the saints were a different team.

For a team like carlton we need to be able to hurt them on the scoreboard before they can acheive to do that, I agree with bringing in either Grant or O'Keefe mainly because of their potential and hopefully Murph will be back this week to help fill the forward gulf!

Picken on Gibbs: What a matchup!!!!!

Great post always right.

I love how after a bad game eagleton is used as the scapegoat. Plenty worse than him today. He was bad today but one game is no justifacation to drop the guy.

As has been said by others he run his ass off today and actually laid some tackles.

I have no problem with the call for him to be dropped...he played a shocker. I just don't like the fact that there is a thread devoted to the topic. Why not express an opinion about Eagleton's performance in the "Ins and Outs" thread. There is plenty to criticize about Eagleton but some posters on this board seem to have an unhealthy obsession with him. It's almost as if the thread is prepared in advance of the game, ready to fire off as soon the match finishes.

The thread could just as easily been "Why didn't anyone run with Cox?" or "Can Gilbee handle a hard tag?" or "Why wasn't Picken on Kerr the whole match?". More interesting topics I would have thought....and not as repetitive.

Why don't you start a thread so we can discuss those topics or would you just prefer to sling mud from the sidelines?

Eagleton can do better than he has done. Eade in the past shows a real reluctance to drop senior players. In fact don't really remember any senior player ever being dropped. Some one can correct me on that. Senior to me is 100 plus games. The thing with him is this.

Ward needs a rest thats one obvious change already.
Aker is out for sure.
Harbrow played worse than him so another possible out.

All those blokes are out before Eagle would come under scrutiny in my opinion.

Can't see any more than two changes at most so I guess the Eagle plays in my opinion.

ciou

Eade makes younger players earn their position and so it would not surprise to see the Eagle line up against the Blues.

Personally I think his kicking is no longer the weapon it was and if Eagle is in our best 22 at seasons end, then some of our kids have not come on as hoped.

I would give Eagleton and perhaps even Gia a spell in the magoos. Our forward line lacks options and perhaps Grant as a hit-up forward and (dare I say it) Skipper might change the dynamics a bit.

Eade makes younger players earn their position and so it would not surprise to see the Eagle line up against the Blues.

Personally I think his kicking is no longer the weapon it was and if Eagle is in our best 22 at seasons end, then some of our kids have not come on as hoped.

I would give Eagleton and perhaps even Gia a spell in the magoos. Our forward line lacks options and perhaps Grant as a hit-up forward and (dare I say it) Skipper might change the dynamics a bit.

I agree in the most part- however I reckon Eagleton has been really good this year in terms of other aspects of his game.
I'd keep him in over Ward for instance based on disposal.

Why doesn't he make an incumbent player like Eagleton earn the right to actually keep his spot in a good side, rather than letting him coast along for the ride?

Eagleton's big strengths were his relentless running and his penetration of kicking. Sure some of his kicks were a little wayward but he used to clear the lines and kick regular goals from 50-60.
He still runs relentlessly and cannot be faulted for that however the depth of his kicking has dropped dramatically. It seems he is dropping the ball and kicking it with the inside of his left foot which is causing the ball to go lower in flight and shorter distances. i am not a kicking coach but it doesn't seem fluent perhaps he has some kind of groin injury.
If his kicking stays iffy then in my opinion he should be used totally as a run with player, re-invent himself to tag the likes of Kerr, Gibbs, etc as he does have the running speed and endurance to go with them. I do believe he cannot stay in the team as a floating on-baller anymore.
As for changes I thought Ward was far from our worst but he has been quiet for a couple of weeks and a rest will not do him any harm. I have concerns over Minson in particular who I think has been very ordinary, it has been obvious to me that as soon as Hudson is tired or replaced by Minson that we drop incredibly. As much as i dislike Skipper as a player I would be almost letting Minson know that he is on notice for this weeks game.
As mentioned by another poster earlier it looked to me as Gia was crook or injured, when he came on he wasn't running as efficiently as usual. I am prepared to give him a couple of chances as he has been pretty good this year.

Eagle is obviously applying a more defensive side to his game which is mroe than welcome after all this time.

However, an observation - he has never been able to perform under pressure. The more pressure the opposition puts on us, the more clangers and so on he has. OK, this is a 'duh' observation, but some players cope with the pressure better than others and the champs dont worry about it at all.

We have the same argument about eagleton every year - he will play a few blinders against mediocre opposition, but when the heat is on against quality opponents who give him little time and space, he mostly goes missing.

Finals are played under great pressure and we need to weed out the players who cant play under those conditions, wherther they are playing their first season or their last.

I agree in the most part- however I reckon Eagleton has been really good this year in terms of other aspects of his game.
I'd keep him in over Ward for instance based on disposal.

Ward brings different things to the table than Eagleton. Whilst Eagleton has improved the defensive side of his game and his "hardness" has gone up a notch, they both needed to get better!

Eagleton only brings one thing to the side that we don't already have in abundance and that is the ability to break the lines with explosive pace and a penetrating long kick. If Eagleton is no longer consistently a 70 metre player he is not in the side in my view. Eaglton's kicking is no longer elite and he is no longer a 70 metre player, nor an accurate inside 50 goalkicker. Until he regains that side of his game he will be a weak link.

This is so typical on this forum, I still don't understand how a 1st gamer is going to have more of an impact than Eagleton. Poor form by bashing Eagleton when it was an OVERALL poor effort today! :thumbsdown:

Other teams are happy for Eagleton to have the ball, as they know he can make poor decisions and when the crunch comes and he is mentally weak.

This is best illustrated in last years finals when against the Sydney Swans he kicked two goals from 50m late in the 4th quarter post high, but when the stakes were high and he was 35m out in the 3rd quarter against Geelong he did not make the distance.

He has plenty of ability but unfortunately when the crunch comes he lets us down more often than not.

Hope the Eagleton slaggers had a good look at the Sydney game.
His work rate is sensational.
I was in Canberra and there was one bit of play in the second quarter that may or may not have been noticed.

Sydney had kicked the ball forward and Goodes looked a certainty to mark about 15 metres out. Eagleton made the contest to stop the mark and the Dogs cleared the ball to Gilbee on defensive 50. Gilbee then kicked it perfectly to Higgins who passed on to EAGLETON as he ran from defence. A succession of passes resulted in a goal.

Well done Nathan Eagleton.

I was in Canberra and there was one bit of play in the second quarter that may or may not have been noticed.

Sydney had kicked the ball forward and Goodes looked a certainty to mark about 15 metres out. Eagleton made the contest to stop the mark and the Dogs cleared the ball to Gilbee on defensive 50. Gilbee then kicked it perfectly to Higgins who passed on to EAGLETON as he ran from defence. A succession of passes resulted in a goal.

Oh my god he did his job:eek:

The Eagleton slaggers would rather choke themselves than admit he did well. For whatever reason, once some people get a set against a player, they just cannot admit it when he has done well.

I don't pretend to understand it.

Eagleton