Player Watch Ed Allan

Unfortunately you don't learn maniacal courage like Rowdy had....its inbuilt or its not. Ed's a bit more Alan Atkinson (although Akko actually had a go as well)
Allan still very young. He will make it. Besides, fly loves him. Josh did feck all at his age.

I've no problem with young Ed, just felt the comparison to Gavin Brown was just a touch "improbable"
So do I at Edwards stage of his career. Gavin Brown was a star from the get go.
Some players take longer as Josh showed.
Nick was unreal from the start.
Nick and Josh nowadays are our two best players.

I have no issue with the poster digging up old opinions, it's not a dig at other posters' old criticisms. It's good that those criticisms are there to look back on. It's a reflection of the development of our best players, and I hope that in 2 years time we can do the same with Ed Allan after he plays a ripper and makes 32 touches.

I see composure in Ed, he manages to slow the game down which is not easy. Pendlebury is good at this. As with any young player, he'll get better. As far as his confidence... it's something that comes with time, though Tom Mitchell burning him and spoiling his marks probably doesn't help.

Allan still very young. He will make it. Besides, fly loves him. Josh did feck all at his age.
Very good point. I have high hopes for Ed even though he frustrated me against Richmond. He didn’t seem to be playing like a guy desperate to claim his spot in the team with a Premiership beckoning. But that’s a maturity thing I guess.

I like that we have got 10 plus games into him his year
But unfortunately that might be his last game for the year. Can’t trust his lack of physicality and alergy to bodylning ground balls in a big final

Appears hesitant to kick left foot, preferring an ineffective right foot banana each time. Fumbles too many ground balls as well. These limitations will not have him in the senior team when more players are available.

I really like him.

He needs to take game on a bit more and needs to attempt more tackles, gets in the right position but almost seems happy to let the player get the ball away under pressure then with a tackle.

Allan is bursting with potential and ability. At the draft we was touted as a project player but expected to go high because of the high ceiling. When he is a bit stronger and developed his kicking a little more, he will either be very good or a star.

Already has great running patterns, endurance and game awareness. He is not quite there yet, but he will make it as long as he puts in the work. Also took a good overhead contested mark on Sunday.,

Allan may never be Leigh Matthews or Gavin Brown Tough, he just needs to improve that aspect of his game, so it is not a hinderance. Hopefully better than WHE tough.

Fly is sticking with him because he's tall fit and quick with decent skills under pressure, and seems to have grasped team rules quickly.

Makes himself effective even when played "out of position", our gameplan demands versatility and hes has that.

I am not seeing hesitancy or gutlessness, our gameplan seems to involve disciplined pressure on disposal with choices on when to attack the body and when to screen, he's clearly executing that well, as he's become a fixture.

I cant help seeing a contrast with Finn McRae who hasn't been able to grasp a senior spot (even before his injury) perhaps because he doesn't play well our of his preffered spot? And might struggle with the senior gameplan. A different player sure.but just as promising. Really hope he makes it too, but right now Allan has flown by in half the time.

This string of games is gold: we've been winning heaps, he's getting excellent experience and it's helped with spelling the older guys, honestly I am delighted with where he is at, looks like we absolutely nailed a first round draft pick here and he's developing in front of our eyes.

Fly and the rest of our coaches seem to get a lot right developing a range of guys from roughies, to rolls Royce's. This bloke is top end.

Appears hesitant to kick left foot, preferring an ineffective right foot banana each time. Fumbles too many ground balls as well. These limitations will not have him in the senior team when more players are available.
Nothing wrong with that in general play. The inside out kick is a favourite of a few guns like Green and Naicos. Allan’s issue on the play you’re referring to was that he didn’t use his pace to straighten up or even turn onto his right to snap if he could break a tackle. Those two areas of his game along with his competitiveness are what’s holding him back, IMO.

If you can run a 2.9 20m at 194cm you should be at least trying to burn people off and break tackles. Sure he’s not going to be Finn Callaghan, but I’d like to see him trying to be a different version of Ed Allan to the one we’ve seen the past 18 months and demanding a spot in the 23. He goes through the motions too much when he has the physical traits to impose himself on matches.

Fly is sticking with him because he's tall fit and quick with decent skills under pressure, and seems to have grasped team rules quickly.

Makes himself effective even when played "out of position", our gameplan demands versatility and hes has that.

I am not seeing hesitancy or gutlessness, our gameplan seems to involve disciplined pressure on disposal with choices on when to attack the body and when to screen, he's clearly executing that well, as he's become a fixture.

I cant help seeing a contrast with Finn McRae who hasn't been able to grasp a senior spot (even before his injury) perhaps because he doesn't play well our of his preffered spot? And might struggle with the senior gameplan. A different player sure.but just as promising. Really hope he makes it too, but right now Allan has flown by in half the time.

This string of games is gold: we've been winning heaps, he's getting excellent experience and it's helped with spelling the older guys, honestly I am delighted with where he is at, looks like we absolutely nailed a first round draft pick here and he's developing in front of our eyes.

Fly and the rest of our coaches seem to get a lot right developing a range of guys from roughies, to rolls Royce's. This bloke is top end.
Go watch the replay of the Steely Green goal to start the third. His lack of urgency to close space allowed Green an unpressured SOG. Long, Mitchell, Sullivan and Markov (ie the guys he’s fighting with for a spot in the 23) would have been manic in pressuring Green. Shoota, Maynard and McReery would have dived full length to smother it! That’s the gap.

For his supposed elite speed, I wish he'd use it more often. He always seems to be running at 3/4 pace. He needs to take the game on and sprint when he has space with the ball. He needs to improve his kicking at goal, which are usually snaps on the run, that he rarely kicks accurately. He has made progress this year, but he won't be in the best 23 for the finals if all the squad is available.

Nothing wrong with that in general play. The inside out kick is a favourite of a few guns like Green and Naicos. Allan’s issue on the play you’re referring to was that he didn’t use his pace to straighten up or even turn onto his right to snap if he could break a tackle. Those two areas of his game along with his competitiveness are what’s holding him back, IMO.

If you can run a 2.9 20m at 194cm you should be at least trying to burn people off and break tackles. Sure he’s not going to be Finn Callaghan, but I’d like to see him trying to be a different version of Ed Allan to the one we’ve seen the past 18 months and demanding a spot in the 23. He goes through the motions too much when he has the physical traits to impose himself on matches.
Of course players can use the inside out kick and many do. My issue is how ineffective Allan’s inside out kicks are. He prefers this kick to using his left, but he is no good with this kick. He misses goals, he misses targets.
By all means use the kick… but why when you are no good at it..

Of course players can use the inside out kick and many do. My issue is how ineffective Allan’s inside out kicks are. He prefers this kick to using his left, but he is no good with this kick. He misses goals, he misses targets.
By all means use the kick… but why when you are no good at it..
I think his inside out kicks seem suspect because he’s just not a good kick of the footy.

It’s very hard to be a good kick at AFL level. It’s harder still to be a good kick at AFL level on your non dominant foot. For most players it’s about comfort so I don’t begrudge any of them for not trusting their opposite unless it’s under limited pressure. The thing is if you don’t trust the opposite you have to work harder to get on your dominant which I don’t believe he does.

Would love Ned to watch a video of Mr Gavin Brown.
That’s the guy he needs to try and model his game on.
Has speed, height and some talent.
Not saying Ed doesn’t have courage, just needs more desperation and strength.
Maybe it will come, maybe it won’t.
Every player should watch videos of Rowdy. My favourite all time player.

I’m a fan. His height is a real point of difference. We have enough grunt. Set him free in a final and he could metamorphose into a b-grade Nat Fyfe like butterfly.

Go watch the replay of the Steely Green goal to start the third. His lack of urgency to close space allowed Green an unpressured SOG. Long, Mitchell, Sullivan and Markov (ie the guys he’s fighting with for a spot in the 23) would have been manic in pressuring Green. Shoota, Maynard and McReery would have dived full length to smother it! That’s the gap.
I agree, Scodog.
Although he is not challenging Long for a position in the top 23!
Long has clinched it.

He's got no confidence - worried about missing a tackle. I don't think we'll know what we've got until he's bulked up and willing to back himself.

Ranked 4th in the team for PAs, top 1/2 doz n for ICs, matched Maynard and Crisp in terms of tackle numbers. He’s not always going to get it right, but does his job.

Player Watch Ed Allan