Williamstown
What do you do for a living?
Do you enjoy it?
What was the road like to get there?

For those still studying, what are you studying, and how are you finding it?
Is the course what you expected? harder, easier

If everyone had their time again, what would they do for a living, if different to what you are now?

Looking at changing careers, and I would love to hear some feedback to what is out there. To hear it from the people who have walked the walk, it may just help someone from making the wrong career choice, apart from me :o , as what they thought something was like, may not be, after the experienced words of those who have worked it, or studied it.

What do you do for a living?
Do you enjoy it?
What was the road like to get there?

For those still studying, what are you studying, and how are you finding it?
Is the course what you expected? harder, easier

If everyone had their time again, what would they do for a living, if different to what you are now?

Looking at changing careers, and I would love to hear some feedback to what is out there. To hear it from the people who have walked the walk, it may just help someone from making the wrong career choice, apart from me :o , as what they thought something was like, may not be, after the experienced words of those who have worked it, or studied it.

Ok A I'll tell you a bit about me. I am in my 5th year of a 3 year course of Commerce. Yes I failed miserably when I first started uni, even got kicked out for 6 months to rethink what I want to do. Anyhow I dont think that it was because I wasnt enjoying the types of subjects, more so I just couldnt be stuffed going to class.

If I could change this I would make sure I studied hard earlier on and finished my course on time. Anyways I should be out of uni at the end of the year and working full-time as an accountant.

So yeah.. Thats me.

I've applied to work as a Library Attendant for Video City Newtown, as well as doing a TAFE Course that starts late July. I am looking at trying to gain some experience so I can try again at getting a better job one that I want. I am going to apply to Job Futures to have my work for the dole transferred.

I'm in Tokyo at the moment teaching english to young kids, but only for a year. Got the job through my mate who was already here for 6 months...kind of a right place, right time kind of thing, but it's been an awesome experience so far.

I get back February next year, then I plan to go to uni and study Journalism.

I'm a Logistics Adminstrator and got it thru a temp agency, was only supposed to be a couple of weeks and I am still here just under 8 years later, do I enjoy it? Not at the moment but used to.

If I had my time again I would of walked around to Moonee Valley Racecourse at 14yrs of Age and asked if I could do track work and hopefully became a jockey (I'm only 5ft 3in) like my Dad told me to.

I'm in Tokyo at the moment teaching english to young kids, but only for a year. Got the job through my mate who was already here for 6 months...kind of a right place, right time kind of thing, but it's been an awesome experience so far.

I get back February next year, then I plan to go to uni and study Journalism.[/QUOTE]

Thats what I was considering, the Mrs was just worried about the amount of Employment opportunity's there was for Journalists, and how pi$$ed I would get if I did a big piece and they said not good enough, do it again. I can see her point. She suggested Occupational Therapy, which I am considering, and looking into, as there is a shortage for them in Victoria apparently.

If I had my time again I would of walked around to Moonee Valley Racecourse at 14yrs of Age and asked if I could do track work and hopefully became a jockey (I'm only 5ft 3in) like my Dad told me to.

Is it too late for you to get into this field now??

I mean I am 32, and I am changing, so can you become a jockey?? 65 years of age is a looong way away.

I'm a Logistics Adminstrator and got it thru a temp agency, was only supposed to be a couple of weeks and I am still here just under 8 years later, do I enjoy it? Not at the moment but used to.

5 foot 3 you have in the bag, the hard part is weighing 45 kilos, how you going with that?:D

What do you do as a logistics adminstrator? Whats a typical day like?

Is it too late for you to get into this field now??

I mean I am 32, and I am changing, so can you become a jockey?? 65 years of age is a looong way away.

Well I probably be the oldest apprentice going around (I'm nearly 32)

What do you do as a logistics administrator? Whats a typical day like?

My day starts at 2:15am when my alarm goes off.

In the shower for 5mins.

Have a quick coffee while watching TV.

Leave at 2:45am and head to work.

Get to work at 3:00am (Security guard has coffee waiting for me when I get there, Security Guard=Legend but he tends to ramble on a bit).

After looking at the stock count in our pick isle, go in and out of chamber (temp=2deg) for over an hour fixing up picking errors.

Start to bring orders out at 4:30am for storemen to start picking at 6am.

Have my 4th coffee for the day at 5:30am (no wonder I'm bouncing off the walls by 6:30).

Let the storemen know (who made the picking errors what they picked wrong and tell them to be more careful when picking - falls on deaf ears at time).

From 7am, have a few headaches with stock in wrong location and wrong UBD (very important where I work) in the pick isle, bring out orders as they are keyed in by customer service, do credits for customers for incorrect stock delivered (either by picking errors or keying errors) this lasts until 1:30pm

Oops by the way coffee van comes at 8:30 - 9:00 for a nice hot chocolate with marshmallow.

Home at 2:00pm for a couple of Jim Beams.

I'm looking for a change in jobs, It's not that my job is hard it is no challenge for me anymore and I get bored very easy.

Thats what I was considering, the Mrs was just worried about the amount of Employment opportunity's there was for Journalists, and how pi$$ed I would get if I did a big piece and they said not good enough, do it again. I can see her point. She suggested Occupational Therapy, which I am considering, and looking into, as there is a shortage for them in Victoria apparently.

Yeah I had been thinking about it as well. I've bounced from computer course to computer course thinking that's what I wanted to do, only to drop out everytime because it was driving me insane. I like using computers as a hobby, but I found doing it for a career would be incredibly annoying. I've always liked writing, and been pretty good at it, and it wasn't until I got to Tokyo that I realised journalism was what I wanted to do.

I'm 22 now, and will be 24 by the time I begin studying. Kind of sucks knowing I could be finished and into a job in journalism by now had I done it from the start, but at least now I know exactly what I want to do.

at least now I know exactly what I want to do.

Thats awesome to hear, because personally I feel like the weight of the world is on my shoulders, as I have been questioning what I wanted to do since year 9 at school. I just don't have a great enthusiasm for anything. :(

I'm not lazy, I am in concrete reinforcing at the moment, and I can tell you it is hard yakka, but I am not like the other guys there, I am fairly well spoken and come across to others as educated, and really switched on, but I think very laterally, and I think way too much for the average person.

I finished my VCE rating average in that, did a few courses in Hospitality, Real Estate and Security. Never really felt right, Hospitality was Casual/Part time, and I needed fulltime, Sales I have a problem deep within with, as I hate being seen as a pushy salesman type, I'm not, but people hate salespeople, why would I want to be judged before I open my mouth in my job. Security as others have said in another thread re: Shooting in Melbourne, that there are alot of hero's, and I can't stand try hard hero's, the Prison and Security industries are rife with them.

The last thing I excelled in was Graphics Communications in year 9 :eek: got A+ that year, and because of the quality of my work, I actually put everyone elses grade down one, as it went off the best student. In year 10, I had a girlfriend in the class, that wouldn't stop talking to me, I'm not rude, I failed Graphics the next year :eek: My teacher was like "what a waste". What is Graphics Communication in year 9 worth... nothing. The talent, well, given the fact I missed out on the stepping stones year 10, 11, 12 and uni, I think I have killed that one off, and I don't even know whether the rest of it is any good.

I'm 32, and have never been settled in my job, and that is the only annoying part to my life, the rest is settled, and great. My wife doesn't deserve me, as she is a unit manager of the Royal Childrens Hospital, and she loves it.

Need a generous millionaire, know any :confused:

Sales I have a problem deep within with, as I hate being seen as a pushy salesman type, I'm not, but people hate salespeople, why would I want to be judged before I open my mouth in my job.
You need to get your shit together mate!

Are you confusing door to door and telemarketing with what sales really is for most people?

There are lots of industries where sales people are more like consultants (think Industrial / Pharmaceutical / Medical), and provide solutions to companies / individuals who don't know what they need.

Most salespeople have a regular group of customers who need us as much as we need them. My job is more about making sure my customers have the information they need to make decisions than anything else.

I sent in an application to Video City Sandy Bay for a job working as a Library Attendant at Video City. I thought since I have rented most of their DVDs, and that I know how their system works (watched the trainees there when they were serving me.) I thought it was worth a shot.

Thats awesome to hear, because personally I feel like the weight of the world is on my shoulders, as I have been questioning what I wanted to do since year 9 at school. I just don't have a great enthusiasm for anything. :(

I'm not lazy, I am in concrete reinforcing at the moment, and I can tell you it is hard yakka, but I am not like the other guys there, I am fairly well spoken and come across to others as educated, and really switched on, but I think very laterally, and I think way too much for the average person.

I finished my VCE rating average in that, did a few courses in Hospitality, Real Estate and Security. Never really felt right, Hospitality was Casual/Part time, and I needed fulltime, Sales I have a problem deep within with, as I hate being seen as a pushy salesman type, I'm not, but people hate salespeople, why would I want to be judged before I open my mouth in my job. Security as others have said in another thread re: Shooting in Melbourne, that there are alot of hero's, and I can't stand try hard hero's, the Prison and Security industries are rife with them.

The last thing I excelled in was Graphics Communications in year 9 :eek: got A+ that year, and because of the quality of my work, I actually put everyone elses grade down one, as it went off the best student. In year 10, I had a girlfriend in the class, that wouldn't stop talking to me, I'm not rude, I failed Graphics the next year :eek: My teacher was like "what a waste". What is Graphics Communication in year 9 worth... nothing. The talent, well, given the fact I missed out on the stepping stones year 10, 11, 12 and uni, I think I have killed that one off, and I don't even know whether the rest of it is any good.

I'm 32, and have never been settled in my job, and that is the only annoying part to my life, the rest is settled, and great. My wife doesn't deserve me, as she is a unit manager of the Royal Childrens Hospital, and she loves it.

Need a generous millionaire, know any :confused:

Hopefully me in about 20 years :p

I don't see it as an overly bad thing if you don't know exactly what you want to do straight away...even at 32. When I was at TAFE doing computer courses, half the class were in there 30s, 40s, and even 50s looking for a career change.

Man i think my main problem is i am pretty good at everything except at I.T. but the problem is im not great at one particular thing. Im in year 10, so if i cant figure out what i want to do, i reckon ill just do teaching and earn a nice $750 or $800 a week.

I work offshore in WA on a floating oil production platform. Do a fly in fly out routine, live in Melbourne and the company pay's for all my flights to and from home and the taxi's.

Pay's the bill's so can't complain.

Man i think my main problem is i am pretty good at everything except at I.T. but the problem is im not great at one particular thing. Im in year 10, so if i cant figure out what i want to do, i reckon ill just do teaching and earn a nice $750 or $800 a week.

Is that really what teachers make? It can't be. I wouldn't bother getting out of bed for that...it certainly wouldn't pay the bills.

Yeh i think thats what public school techers get. I would just get a job at aprivate school, thats were all the money is.

yeah, I was thinking about that, without tax, so with Tax around $1000, $1100. That would pay my bills, you must have too many bills.