EPIC Matches

This thread is for EPIC matches.

Not I won 76-34 with Cloke kicking 10

Not I won 45-10 against my best mate.

Not even a 100 point win.

EPIC matches.

Example 1.

Just played against a good mate who I've played lots and barely ever won. We were both Collingwood. I got off to a good start, but missed heaps. it was a really close all the way through the match

I led by 7 points with 5 mins (in 5 mins quarters, so like 1 and a bit minutes) left. He kicks a point and then a goal to level scores. 3 mins left. He wins ruck tap, ball deep in his forward. I get it out and to the boundary with 2.20 left. Tapped back over the boundary. 1.50 left. Tapped back over the line. 1.17 left

I'm resigned to a draw being my best case scenario, devastating after how well I played. From the ruck knock, I win it, kick to the centre picked it up and just before I'm tackled handball forward to a loose player. He runs to 60 kicks it forward, where it lands in the goal square with 4 players running for it, Cloke gets there first and soccers it through for a goal with 0.01 left on the clock. I go nuts.

EPIC match

Playing a NAB cup semi final against Hawthorn going goal for goal all game. Hawthorn got out to a 17 point lead when '5 Minute Warning' came up in the last qtr (5 min qtrs). Managed to get 2 goals with 0:25 left on the clock. Thought it was over till Brogan tapped it down to one of my mids who snapped it straight to Westhoff who won it after the siren.

EPIC MATCH! playing on professional.

Just played an absolute EPIC of a match in Round 2 of my Season Mode with Freo. Difficulty : Professional
Quarter Lengths: 5 Minutes

Quarter 1

The game started off as expected I won the clearances and looked pretty good. But I couldn't kick straight, 3 of my first 5 behinds came from kicks hitting the post from Pavlich, Fyfe and Crowley. Then the onslaught from Geelong came, they piled on 4 quick goals in the final 8 minutes to lead by 19.

Fremantle - 0.5 5
Geelong 4.0 24

Quarter 2

An amazing quarter of footy. It started off just as it had ended, Geelong dominating me. I won all the clearances but couldn't hit my targets moving forward. Geelong would always cut back into the corridor and have free room to move inside their forward 50. They kicked a further 3.2 to my measly 1 behind to lead by 38 points with 8 minutes left in the term. Enter Nathan Fyfe, roved at the back of the pack and had a quick drop punt shot from 40 which just snuck in to give me a look in. I got the next clearance, straight down the throat of Pavlich. 30 out, dead infront - GOAL. 26 Points down now. Managed to get the footy back inside my forward 50 but couldn't breakthrough. After a series of stoppages, the footy found it's way into Mayne's lap who kicked a goal with 30 seconds left. After a quick clearance and clearing kick, Aaron Sandiland's ran forward to take a mark on the siren and kick a goal. Margin in the blink of an eye, cut back to 13 points. Amazing how momentum can work for you.

Fremantle 4.7 31
Geelong 7.2 44

Quarter 3

A dead rubber of a quarter, barely any teams managed to do much. Sandiland's snapped a quick goal to open up the term. Before neither team could capitalize on their opportunities and the cats got one back right at the end of the quarter to bring the margin back out to 15.

Fremantle 5.9 39
Geelong 8.6 54

Quarter 4

Possibly the most tense quarter I have ever played of AFL LIVE. Pavlich took a fantastic mark with 15 minutes to go to kick a much needed captains goal. For the next 5 minutes, I couldn't get it inside my 50. I managed to stop Geelong scoring, but it was just stoppage after stoppage, intense tackling. Before a quick clearance from Barlow found Pavlich on 50. Pav has Taylor breathing down his neck, surely he would take his set shot. Not Pav, plays on and just gets his kick away from 40 to get Freo within 3 points. 5 minute warning, Sandiland's earns a free kick for a push in the back 25 metres out, kicks the goal. Surely that is it, surely Fremantle have it here. After the bounce Geelong get a quick clearance and Varcoe marks and goals. The cats get the lead again. With 1.30 left on the clock the ball falls into Mayne's lap, who manages a low quick snap which skids through. Fremantle hit the front.

Siren sounds. Amazing game

*Sorry for the detail, I am just rather pumped!*

FINAL SCORE
Fremantle 9.10 64
Geelong 9.7 61

Major Ball Winners

M.Barlow 12.
M.de Boer. 11
M.Pavlich 9

Major Goal Kickers

A.Sandilands 3
M.Pavlich 3
C.Mayne 2

3 great matches today.

One was against Camste who I did lose to. He played as Geelong and me Richmond. Got out to a 5 goal to 1 lead he did and over the next few quarters I managed to just chip away at the lead with some absolute gutsy play. Got in the lead in the dying minutes with a massive Ben Griffiths goal, but then coughed up a goal with about 1:00 to go from a superb angled in play shot and just couldn't fight it back.

Another 2 against CensusSainter just now. First game I felt in control for a lot of the match, but he made a good comeback on me, just managed to pinch it from him by a goal in the end (probably due to poor kicking on CS's part).

But the best match was the last one I just played. Census as Melbourne and me as Richmond. Started off goal for goal, but he got 2 late in the quarter to give himself a 2 goal lead 5.0.30 to 3.1.19. Kept hold of the lead into the 2nd, but I brought it back to a 1 at 3 quarter time. Was a tight tussle for the whole quarter with goals back and forth. I got in front with a few minutes to go and it felt like the sealer, but on the very next play Moore turned it over to Green who kicked a great goal from a tough angle. Fighting hard for possession and it's just all over the place, but I keep pushing it forward. Get a lucky break through inside 50 and give the ball to Nahas just 2 metres out who snaps a goal. All I have to do is defend the ball, it's tough but I manage to scrounge and fight and hold it up until time is blown. That was EPIC!

Setting up some great rivalries and battles for the future I can guarantee that.

Not sure who I just played against...but they were Essendon.

Was down all game, managed to claw my way back from 3 or 4 goals down at 3/4 time. Ball launched inside 50...spills over the back to Varcoe...who casually snaps it over his shoulder from 35 to win with 8 seconds left.

Good times :)

I had a draw with the saints while Carlton and essendon had a draw.. -.-

Online i won against Carlton and Collingwood

Carlton 50 Richmond 51 Jack kicks the goal to win it after the siren..

The score at half time was Carlton 39 Richmond 5
Collingwood 9 Richmond 97.

Me (bulldogs) and some other guy (saints) had an epic, low scoring (as per usual st kilda style) battle. Goal for goal the entire game, literally. I got one, he got one. I managed to win it by a goal.

Also, is anyone sick of playing Collingwood yet? Probably 80% of my matches have been against them. Haven't even seen more than half of the teams.

I played online versing someone using collingwood (i was the kangas) it was 35-35 and they got a goal with 1:30 left in the last quarter 41-35. I got the ruck tap straight down to swallow who kicked to Petrie 1 out 5m from goals it got spoilt and Lindsay Thomas crumbed it and snapped the drawing goal.

Final scores
Kangas 41
Pies 41

I played online versing someone using collingwood (i was the kangas) it was 36-36 and they got a goal with 1:30 left in the last quarter 41-36. I got the ruck tap straight down to swallow who kicked to Petrie 1 out 5m from goals it got spoilt and Lindsay Thomas crumbed it and snapped the drawing goal.

Final scores
Kangas 41
Pies 41
ummm

36 + 6 =/= 41

First game me and my mates had ever played. 2 vs 2 Eagles v Freo at Patersons.

Skipping to the 3rd Eagles are leading by about 30. Dockers start learning how to play the game and start forcing their way back. Bout a 22 point margin at 3QT.

4th qtr dockers come out strong and get within 7 with a minute left. They end up getting the goal from a 55m Pav set shot so now a 1 point game. With 10 seconds to go Dockers take a shot from the forward pocket and it CLEARLY hits the post which would have tied scores but it isn't recognized and instead the ball quickly falls into the hands of a docker. He quickly kicks for goal and it is sprayed across the screen is marked back where we began in the FP. Siren has gone. Docker takes the set shot and it is across the face of goals and Eagles end up victorious by 1.

Just had a draw against Collingwood. A very tight game in the wet at the MCG. Final scores were 5.6.36 each. Dane ****ing Beams kicked a goal with two minutes left (so about 30 seconds real time) to tie things up. Brad Green had a shot on the siren from about 60 out. The ball landed in the goal square and the Pies defenders were very slack as they weren't even there! Luckily for them though, the ball stopped about half a metre short of the goal line :(

In hindsight, I should have played on when I took the mark as I had about 30 seconds left and could have at least gotten a point. *Sigh*.

Had a couple of pretty good games against Quiviorir (once again apologies if bad spelling) when i was playing with my brother, currently hes 2-1 up..

Just played a pretty decent game against west coast, can't remember the guys username as it was full of numbers though. Missed a set shot very close to the end with Ebert because I thought he was Cornes.. heh

He then kicked away and won it, was a very good game though.

Me (ELiit3 x BeeTz) and Falzon (2nd On Leaderboards) had a match, i got 43 up in the first quarter, and he managed to slowly bring it to a draw.

Just had a massive game Brisbane Lions vs Sydney Swans close game the whole time, Sydney hit a 10 point lead through the third quarter which got me a little freaked out, but I dragged it back down to a draw for the thirs quarter end.

The fourth quarter I was worried, Sydney managed to chip it into their forward line and pumped it for the big sticks, a miracle save by Daniel Merrett left us a bit of hope as he caught it out for a point. The scoreboard read 7:49 left which would be about what 2.5 minutes? I was scavenging for whatever I could get a point, a goal, anything would be perfect. Daniel Rich took a mark with 2:47 left on the timer. 30 seconds or so left for me. He bombed it long and it got kicked back out by Sydney, he marked it in the same spot again. The timer literally red 1:00 - He bombed it long.. JONATHAN BROWN WITH A MARK ON THE 50 LINE!

I aimed it up and the Captain drilled it home!

EddieBettsIsAChamp & Cats 4 Life were there to recieve my loud yelling in victory! :D

FranticWhistle3 - I don't know if your on these forums or not but man thanks for that great game!

I was up by 34 at one stage, he dragged it back to the point where every time it was a stoppage I just mashed my Y button to tackle, in the late ends of the game he got unlucky with a few shots and managed to kick about 3 behinds, I got a late rush behind in when I soccered it through his big sticks.

QTR 1: 30 - 12
QTR 2: 49 - 13
QTR 3: 56 - 31
QTR 4: 63 - 52.

I lead at every stage and thought I was going to lose it in the dying minutes of the last quarter, hat is off to you mate.

Played against the #1 ranked player on PSN, Makavellii or whatever his name is. Got SMASHED by 96 points. He was Hawthorn.

Very next game I get paired up against someone who was by default Hawthorn and I was like "fffffuuuuu not this guy again". So I picked Collingwood (I was Carlton the first game) to try and even it up a bit. Still, I was expecting another flogging.

Turns out it wasn't Makavellii after all, and I smashed this poor bloke by over 100 points.

: oops:

Played against the #1 ranked player on PSN, Makavellii or whatever his name is. Got SMASHED by 96 points. He was Hawthorn.

Very next game I get paired up against someone who was by default Hawthorn and I was like "fffffuuuuu not this guy again". So I picked Collingwood (I was Carlton the first game) to try and even it up a bit. Still, I was expecting another flogging.

Turns out it wasn't Makavellii after all, and I smashed this poor bloke by over 100 points.

: oops:

Haha, thats why we need the option to see who we are playing in the pre-game lobby.

So thought i would go for the Gold Preimership Trophy
Round 1 V Western Bulldogs

17 . 9 (111) V 12 . 2 (74)
24 . 17 (161) V 23 . 14 (152)
35 . 23 (233) V 35. 21 (231)

Ess 50.24 324 V WB 40.28 268

Truley Epic match just in length:D Pulled away in the last:thumbsu:
R Murphy B.O.G with 12 goals 7 to go with 51 possesions (19 marks)
Best for the bombers was D Heppell with 56 touchs and 4 goals 3

Gumby and Monfries both Kicked 9
And Hurley was a monster too kicking 8 goals 3 to go with 45 possesions.

I'm not sure i can be bothered going through the whole season doing that haha, It's ok because the other games also get High scores, although not that high.

Just had a match of epic proportions online. Mr Natural 23 - hats off mate.
I was the Hawks and he was, you guessed it, Collingwood.

First half it was pretty scrappy but he was beating me on the scoreboard, down by 8 at half time.

Third quarter I started to work my way back into it and got up by 4 points.

The final quarter was epic. Leading by 5 points after spraying a set shot, he took back the lead by 1 point with about 10 minutes on the clock. I just couldn't find space though. The ball found its way into my forward 50 with 4:30 on the clock. Throw ins, stoppages, everything happened. Anytime I grabbed the ball near goal I got tackled.

I got a set shot with Roughy finally, but on the tightest of angles. Imagine like in real life when you can only see one post. I tried the banana but it was all hit and miss - went straight across the face and out on the full. This was a noob move by me because I tried to soak up some clock beforehand so he couldn't come back with anything, obviously not considering I may not even score!

1:30 left and I forced another throw-in in my forward pocket. He wins the tap and goes straight down to a teammate. I think that it's all over, he boots it out towards the wing. Ball goes to ground level and somehow I found an inch of space and Burgoyne went long to Mitchell who marked 55 out with just 18 seconds left. I let time run out and gave it everything I had - positioned nearly out on the full and loaded up the power bar.

I was probably too far out to score - but somehow the ball bounced in the goal square, and with no-one touching it, rolled through... to hit the post :(

35-35 and a great game, lucky to escape with a draw but there were definitely opportunities missed.

Got the "Dancing with your sister" trophy :eek:

Just played my first online match which i consider to be epic lol.

Essendon vs Carlton (I'm essendon)

1st Quarter

Ess 4.4.28 - Carl 1.0.6

2nd Quarter

Ess 8.4. 52 - Carl 3.1.19

3rd Quarter

Ess 10.5.65 - Carl 6.2.38

4th Quarter

Ess 13.5.83 - Carl 9.5.59

Quite good considering it's my first game.

Add me on PSN Fenriss23

EPIC Matches