euthansia

• Thread starter Thread starter babycakes

babycakes

I thought footy as important. it never is really.

I have a tough decision to make this week with my cat hes had cronic renal failure for six months and is dying in front of me evryday. i have to decide to put him down this week but by god its the toughest thing i have ever had to do.Hes my mate and i've had him for 10 years or more and I can't cope with putting him to sleep. I'm in tears every hour thinking about it and i don't know how i will cope. anyone with any suggestions??? Or been through the same thing.

Yup. Had to shoot my dog a few years ago. It sucked. My dad had to shoot one of his dogs once. He offered to clean my shotgun. That's the true definition of a friend - a guy who will clean your shotgun after you shoot your dog.

Good luck with it. If it was practical, I'd mail you my cat. I hate the son of a bitch.

Peace to ya,

Originally posted by babycakes
I thought footy as important. it never is really.

I have a tough decision to make this week with my cat hes had cronic renal failure for six months and is dying in front of me evryday. i have to decide to put him down this week but by god its the toughest thing i have ever had to do.Hes my mate and i've had him for 10 years or more and I can't cope with putting him to sleep. I'm in tears every hour thinking about it and i don't know how i will cope. anyone with any suggestions??? Or been through the same thing.

Oh babycakes. I know what you are going through. I had the same problem with my cat a few weeks ago. He had kidney failure and he was just wasting away in front of me. After spending two nights in the vet on a drip, we took him home with medication to treat him, but were told that the condition was terminal and in the end he would eventually die. After a week of having him home and treating him with the medication it was obvious he was not getting any better, in fact he got worse. In the end we were actually hand feeding him, because he was so sick and so weak he couldn't and wouldn't eat. The decision to have him put to sleep was hard, but it was the only thing to do. It was too cruel and too selfish to let him live on like that. It's a decision I've never had to make before and although I have two other cats, I hope I never have to make it again.
We brought him home and buried him in the backyard. A week later we planted one of his favourite bushes next to him. The very same bushes he used to break down because of his love for sitting in them. Now I'd give anything to have him be able to break those stupid bloody bushes down again.
I love him and I miss him.

thanks bee seems you must of caught the CRF really late cause i i put my cat through lots of drips etc or sub qs as they call them and to have him a further 6 i guess i can be thankful for that.

Since you went though it do you feel like you can't do normal things like go outto the movies and feel guilty and do your usual stuff you do. lately all I do is get on here i just find normal day to day stuff really hard to deal with. I just think I have failed him in every way possible. He was the naughtiest cat in existence too he would flog snags and any kind of meat while you weren't looking yet i love the bugger. Funny hey how we like the naughty ones with real character to them.

thanks bee seems you must of caught the CRF really late cause i i put my cat through lots of drips etc or sub qs as they call them and to have him a further 6 i guess i can be thankful for that.

Since you went though it do you feel like you can't do normal things like go outto the movies and feel guilty and do your usual stuff you do. lately all I do is get on here i just find normal day to day stuff really hard to deal with. I just think I have failed him in every way possible. He was the naughtiest cat in existence too he would flog snags and any kind of meat while you weren't looking yet i love the bugger. Funny hey how we like the naughty ones with real character to them.

Yes, it was really hard. I know a lot of people can't understand it, but it was like losing a child or a best friend. I couldn't talk about it for ages because I'd start crying.
The silly thing is I only had him for about 3 years, he was a little stray who had been badly mistreated and it took weeks before I could gain his confidence. But after he learnt to trust us, he became the sweetest and most loving cat. The CRF set in suddenly. Although as the vet explained it had been present for a long time but was dormant. Within the space of two weeks he went from a healthy, happy cat to something that looked like and felt like skin and bones. It was sad to see. Even though I know we did the right thing in having him put to sleep, I still question myself about it.

I remembering reading a thread here where the poster said how their pet was going to be put down, but it just managed to get up to its owner's bed before dying. Perhaps something like that might happen to your cat.

Originally posted by myee8
I remembering reading a thread here where the poster said how their pet was going to be put down, but it just managed to get up to its owner's bed before dying. Perhaps something like that might happen to your cat.

I think you mean this thread Myee. Ironically I started it after I had decided not to have my cat euthanased. Just over a week later, I really had no other choice. :(
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=61532&highlight=hard+decisions

Gees, I've got tears in my eyes. :(

In the end, it's often the best decision. Last year, our 15 year old cat was just deteriorating in front of our eyes. My mum, I think, was too scared to get her put down. But after awhile, I'd had enough. I'd want to cry every time I saw her, because she'd never even been a 'cuddly' or indoor cat and all of a sudden she would look for cuddles all the time, but we couldn't even do that because she smelt terrible and was dirty (from the deterioration of her face etc) and probably full of disease. She would miaow for food, which she'd never do normally, and she'd always refused to eat canned food all her life - but she was no longer able to eat dry food, so it was the only option she had. Finally, I asked my aunt (who is a vet) if she would come and put her down, because I couldn't take it and my mum wouldn't do anything about it. It was hard, especially the night it was done, and even though it was a year ago sometimes I still think she's around, forgetting she's not. But I couldn't bear seeing her in so much pain anymore, so I know I made the right decision.

It hurts, but it hurts more to see your cat (or pet) in pain.

*hugs* to babycakes. :(

My first cat, who my parents had had since before i was born, was run over when i was three, and within 2 months I had a new cat, because I missed the old one so much. My cat and i practically grew up together - she slept in my bed every night, was my alarm clock, my comforter when I was sad... you name it, she was it.

When I was sixteen, over the space of a couple of months, she started eating less and less, but we attributed it to change of season, seeing as she was a very picky eater whenever the weather changed. Over the last weekend of her life, she developed a lump in her abdomen that swelled so fast that from the friday night to the monday morning, she looked like she was ready to have a large litter (which was impossible because we'd had her desexed of course!). My mum took her to the vet and he found her body was riddled with cancer, and there was nothing he could do to save her - he could prolong her life, but it would be more suffering in pain than living an enjoyable kitty life, so mum told him to put her down.

Even now, nearly 3 years on I still get upset about it, even thought I now have 2 great cats, but I know mum made the right decision - it would have been worse seeing her in pain and having her around like that than not having her at all. It was incredibly hard to come to terms with right away, but within 6 weeks, we all missed having a cat around the place and visited the RSPCA and brought home my new cat. We then adopted a little kitten 3 months later and they are both great cats to have around.

I know it's a horrible thought to not have a little mate around, but it does get easier to deal with, and when/if you feel ready, there are plenty of great animals that do need homes and love.

Be a very hard decision:(:( 10 years is along time.. I feel for you:(

My Dog got put down August 29, 01. Would have turned 16, 5 days later {4th September}. :( Had been around my whole life and a little more.. Merlin:( Begal Terrier (Cross) I live with a constant regret that I didnt show him how much I loved him before he went, he wasnt hte kind of dog you could go up and pat with no worries, nor was he the kind of dog you could rub hte tummy of without a worry.. and even if in my heart I loved him more than anything, I could hardly show him any love, I didnt know how. Remains the worst part of him going, forever:(

If your cat knows you love him then you shouldn't have any regrets if you do decide to say goodbye - it will be hard, but your cat will no longer suffer, and you won't have to watch him suffer.

I am sorry you have to make this decision:(

Go Roos

When i was a kid my old boy (Tabby) got the snuffles and he died, my dad told me he went down fighting.He wasan ex-feral and was tougher than a $2.00 steak.Me and the little lady have 2 pusses now, ones about 15 and is thriving now his 'mum' is back home and our little black bugger is 1 1/2 and without him i'd be lost 'coz he's just like me(whinges for food, sleeps on any warm spot in the house, and wants to go out all night when he's not allowed to) Even now i'm dreading 12-15 yrs time when he's run his race because he's me with no hangups, which makes me spoil him rotten now. I love my 'pussy man' Chicko as much as i'll love any son i have, and thats a lot of love.

Buy a kitten in the next couple of weeks.

It is the saddest thing to have that happen.

We had to put my cat down because of my next door neighbour throwing a pitch fork at my cat, which hit him in the leg.:(

thanks everyone for the stories etc I think it may happen tmorrow I have never had to do this so I'm very scared. I have another moggy hes old too but hes doing ok(touch wood) but overweight and not as cuddly as this bugger but anyway I guess in life we all gotta be tough and do the right thing and be humane and sensible. They don't ask for much.

Cheers to all you guys who replyed I was hoping me mate would see a premiership at the hawks while he was with us but as I said he joined me in 1993 the hawks haven't won one since 1991 let alone be in one.

Anyway time to be tough and grin and bear reality.:rolleyes:

yeh babycakes just think of how it will put the cat out of its misery, when theres no quailty left in its life then whats the point of living.

i cant stand selfish people who won't put their pet down bcos 'they wont cope' or some crap like that. we all know its very sad and hard to deal with but you have to think of the animal.

remember, its had 10 quality years of life. :)

Hi all if you have come back to this subject.

Today really sucked I put my baby boy to sleep he went very peacefully. It was time........ he smelt and was deteriotating and it was for him to stop the suffering and the heartache. But I tell you what it is the WORST thing you can ever do it rips your guts out and you are left standing like a zombie.

I'm on some major painkillers right now caus emy face is aching from the crying. Right now I'd give up my footy clubs existence just to have him back with me and well. This little guy was a real champ.

Oh well things can only get better i guess my club is 14th on the ladder i just put me old mate to sleep and well things just have to improve RIGHT.:rolleyes: Yeah in another life:rolleyes:

I know exactly how you feel. I even took time off work when I had my boy put to sleep. My boss told me to go home because he knew how I felt. He had his 18 year old cat put down and he told me how it just went to sleep in his arms. And how he didn't realise just how much it would affect him. It's just a horrible numbing feeling that leaves you cold. But at least they are not suffering anymore. It's the best thing to do, but it breaks your heart. It's been 8 weeks now and I still cry when I talk about it. :(

As far as pet euthansia goes its terribly difficult for those of us that love our pets and probally even harder for people that dont have pets to understand why.
As hard as putting my 14 yo dog down was it was even harder watching her have throat cancer arcing her back so she would breathe and get enough air into her lungs.
Heart breaking stuff

Hi all if you have come back to this subject.

Today really sucked I put my baby boy to sleep he went very peacefully. It was time........ he smelt and was deteriotating and it was for him to stop the suffering and the heartache. But I tell you what it is the WORST thing you can ever do it rips your guts out and you are left standing like a zombie.

I'm on some major painkillers right now caus emy face is aching from the crying. Right now I'd give up my footy clubs existence just to have him back with me and well. This little guy was a real champ.

Oh well things can only get better i guess my club is 14th on the ladder i just put me old mate to sleep and well things just have to improve RIGHT.:rolleyes: Yeah in another life:rolleyes:
Isn't the fact that Hawthorn aren't doing as well got nothing to do with your cat's problems. ??????
:confused:

Goalrush thats a bit harsh on a day when I have lost my cat. I'm not thinking real straight. I know I'm on your ignore list but you could of said something like "I'm Sorry".

To me hawthorn is important and i don't like seeing them 14th on the ladder. Ok so maybe it hasn't got anything to do with my cat dying but geez I'd like them to be doing well. They just got flogged by 53 and are being bagged left right and center.

I just put my cat down and then you came along and had to be nasty. If I am on your ignore list why do you even read my posts?:rolleyes:

Anyway you don't kick someone when they are down.

I'm sorry to hear about your baby, baby cakes. You did the right thing by putting him out of pain. The same thing happened to me 2 years ago and I still miss my cat labamba. He had kidney troubles too. One day i was putting the rubbish out and i heard the worst animal in pain sound ever. I looked everywhere and eventually found him lying under a bush. He was in that much pain, every time I went to touch him he howled! So in the end I rang my mum and she came home from work and we took him to the vet and the vet put him down. I was sad for a good month after that.
Keep your chin up babe
Carly hugs babycakes and pats her on the back
p.s Suzi- does it really matter FFS??

Originally posted by carlyp
I'm sorry to hear about your baby, baby cakes. You did the right thing by putting him out of pain. The same thing happened to me 2 years ago and I still miss my cat labamba. He had kidney troubles too. One day i was putting the rubbish out and i heard the worst animal in pain sound ever. I looked everywhere and eventually found him lying under a bush. He was in that much pain, every time I went to touch him he howled! So in the end I rang my mum and she came home from work and we took him to the vet and the vet put him down. I was sad for a good month after that.
Keep your chin up babe
Carly hugs babycakes and pats her on the back
p.s Suzi- does it really matter FFS??

Thanks mate suzi should be ashamed of herself just getting back at me i think.Your story is pretty sad worse than mine. Actually mine cat was moaning in the end that was pretty awful to hear and see. The worst thing I'm finding is that he was part of the house and I feel like something is dreadfully missing. ITheres an empty feeling. I realise there are worse things in life that can happen. I intend to make sure my future family or whatever will know him in some way I have a few photos I plan to frame and enlarge down the track when i actually can look at them. he was a good mate if you ever have any more cats have the nuetered males they are the best company. I have had male cats all my life and they are great value.I find the females scratch to much and are too petite.

I realise there are worse things in life that can happen. I intend to make sure my future family or whatever will know him in some way I have a few photos I plan to frame and enlarge down the track when i actually can look at them. he was a good mate if you ever have any more cats have the nuetered males they are the best company. I have had male cats all my life and they are great value.I find the females scratch to much and are too petite.

Babycakes, that's what we have done too. I bought a beautiful silver frame and put his photo in it. I also attached his ID tag to the top of the frame, and his photo sits beautifully now among all my other family and friends photographs in living room. A couple of other suggestions that may help. If you brought him home from the vets and buried him at home, in the next few days buy a bush or shrub to plant next to him. It leaves a nice sort of memorial about him. Also whatever you do, don't go and buy another cat straight away. It takes time, and you can't replace an old friend like that. But in time you'll know when it's right and the perfect one will come along. It will pick you out, you won't pick it out. I reckon you know what I mean.:)
I know there are worse things in the world that can happen, but losing a pet is like losing part of you and you go into a grieving period. It's as bad as losing a friend or part of your family.

Also you are right about nuetered male cats, they are the best!