Ex Tigers

• Thread starter Thread starter tigershane

Fantastic stuff...real stuff yet to begin and we're already having a crack at each other. Let's continue to be the laughing stock of the AFL supporter base...eat our own.

FFS!

nineteen eighty said:
Fantastic stuff...real stuff yet to begin and we're already having a crack at each other. Let's continue to be the laughing stock of the AFL supporter base...eat our own.

FFS!

Don't take it too seriously mate !
:(

droppuntkick23 said:
Does anyone here actually understand footy ?
The reason I ask is the following.
Been watching tapes of the 2001 season, yes the last time we made the finals and in particular the 2nd semi against Carlton, yes we won remember.
Funny thing is that two of our best players were Sziller and Clinton King. this is a fact.
Both players won heaps of ""there own ball "" and King was instrumental in actually carrying the footy.
Dont believe, go and get some tapes and have a look. ;)

Judging players over one game rather than over their entire career makes you the sharpest knife in the drawer.

hoggy34 said:
Harvey you clearly have no idea about football. The average AFL player plays about 45 games, Rogers played 197 and eventhough he wasn't the most highly skilled player he still showed excellent commitment to the club. Perhaps your frustration should be aimed at the recruiting process and the coaching regime at Punt Road rather than blokes who run on the field each week.

You obviously take your footy too seriously to be angry about the performance of a footy club that you have little real involvment with. Get a life, get a job and go follow the local footy

We are bottom of the AFL, so applying the AFL standard of 45 games is nonsense. What is the avg number of games a Richmond player has played over the past 10 years, and would Rogers have played 197 if we were a top 4 team, instead of a wooden spooner?

Maybe yes, maybe no, but its as much an indictment on our list as anything.

1980 said:
We are bottom of the AFL, so applying the AFL standard of 45 games is nonsense. What is the avg number of games a Richmond player has played over the past 10 years, and would Rogers have played 197 if we were a top 4 team, instead of a wooden spooner?

Maybe yes, maybe no, but its as much an indictment on our list as anything.

We weren't on the bottom for all Rogers' career. In fact between 94-01 we were a pretty competitive side (99 excepted), he also had a number of injuries in his final years. In '94 he was a gun, BOG against the Saints at Waverley, strrred when we pumped the Pies on the Queens B'day. BOG against the Dons in the '95 final, leading golakicker in 2000 when he had a knee injury for the last six or seven games.

Go do some reserach on the footy club you support before you make sweeping comments. You're all a pack of morons

i've never been a big Rogers fan, but i dont see a point in bagging him (since he is retired!) nor any richmond player. especially on the personal, non constructive manner many barrackers do. i've bagged him in my time, no doubt. at games in the past few years it furied me to see his turnovers. But whats the point of Dissing him in a public forum?
not asking you to put a memorial of Matty in the front yard, but talent or not, he did his absolute best and all to the club. we should respect that

astro_toby said:
I got over it. and i wish him luck. Have you?

lmao!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! u got over it? since when....... so many post of saying that u wish these players (ottens, zantuck &fiora) were still at punt rd!

...........w@nker!

blue-boy!

hoggy34 said:
BOG against the Dons in the '95 final,
Go do some reserach on the footy club you support before you make sweeping comments. You're all a pack of morons

I see now that you're thinking of the wrong player. Matty KNIGHTS was a great player, agreed. Thanks for clearing that up Hoggy.

Harvey Leadpipe said:
I see now that you're thinking of the wrong player. Matty KNIGHTS was a great player, agreed. Thanks for clearing that up Hoggy.

Harvey agreed that Knighter kept us in the game in the first half but he hardly touched it after half time. Rogers was probably our only four quarter player on the day and kicked the two winning goals in the last quarter. I'd also rate Naish and Daffy aboove Knighter on the day. Knights kept us in the game but it was those three who WON us the game.

You probably didn't go the match anyway so why am I explaining this to you

no, i was busy working on my beer drinking tecnique - I went on saturday - Did you watch it? jeez, they're looking good!!
:D

you guys can keep abusing your own and be the joke of the football world.

What was Gieshens problem with Broderick??

Apparently Gieshen didnt think much of Broderick for what reason I have no idea.

Still that didnt stop Brodders for being one of the few players I remember with a good feeling. No wonder the Giesh is coaching umpires today.

Tambo!!!! said:
lmao!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! u got over it? since when....... so many post of saying that u wish these players (ottens, zantuck &fiora) were still at punt rd!

...........w@nker!

blue-boy!

You find the post where i said i wish ottens and Zantuck were still at richmond and i'll give you a dollar. I've only said i wish we kept hold on Fiora, because he could become an excellent player with the right guidance.
............plastic ******** jockey

1980GFVideo said:
What was Gieshens problem with Broderick??

Apparently Gieshen didnt think much of Broderick for what reason I have no idea.

Still that didnt stop Brodders for being one of the few players I remember with a good feeling. No wonder the Giesh is coaching umpires today.

!?! Gieschen must have been a bigger fool than i ever thought! Broderick was one of the true CHAMPIONS we actually had at our club over the past 2 decades. Only real quality players can move up forward in their latter days and be a match winner - and Broders did that.

astro_toby said:
!?! Gieschen must have been a bigger fool than i ever thought! Broderick was one of the true CHAMPIONS we actually had at our club over the past 2 decades. Only real quality players can move up forward in their latter days and be a match winner - and Broders did that.

Broderick's last truly solid season was 1998. From 1999-2001 he was clearly on the decline and a shadow of his former self. Whilst we could have kept him for an extra year or two he wouldn't have done much more than play a minimal role and it would have been rather embarassing to see him come off the bench and get 5 or 6 touches per game when he was more accustomed to getting 25 in his halcyon days.

He'd have ended up copping the same schit Campbell will cop this year for being shot.

JohnF said:
Broderick's last truly solid season was 1998. From 1999-2001 he was clearly on the decline and a shadow of his former self. Whilst we could have kept him for an extra year or two he wouldn't have done much more than play a minimal role and it would have been rather embarassing to see him come off the bench and get 5 or 6 touches per game when he was more accustomed to getting 25 in his halcyon days.

He'd have ended up copping the same schit Campbell will cop this year for being shot.

He certainly declined in his last few years at the club, was always a very smart player but never had much pace, once you start getting on players like that get exposed a lot more easily. He left at the right time, staying any longer would have been a mistake. It's just a shame we didn't have a ready made replacement for him, had to wait until Cogs for a similar sort of player.

Loved his attitude and his skill with a handball, always one of my favourite tigers because of the way he went about the game. Was a major factor in the great 95 season.

even in his last 2years he was a fine player. He played up forward alot and used his footy smarts and ability to read the play to be a match breaker and set goals up. i remember one particular game against the pies where it was windy as hell and scores close at 3/4time, and he game out and kick 2or three goals and broke the match. The smart, truely great players can play a few years longer than others by using their footy smarts i.e Broderick, G.Williams, D.Jarman
Great Servant and as another said - a rare player i look back with much fondness

jezza said:
He certainly declined in his last few years at the club, was always a very smart player but never had much pace, once you start getting on players like that get exposed a lot more easily. He left at the right time, staying any longer would have been a mistake. It's just a shame we didn't have a ready made replacement for him, had to wait until Cogs for a similar sort of player.

Loved his attitude and his skill with a handball, always one of my favourite tigers because of the way he went about the game. Was a major factor in the great 95 season.

Yeah was definitely a clever cookie and had great handballing skills and not bad kicking skills either.

Wish we had a few more of him.