Expansion

Port Adelaide
Portsmouth
I as understand there has been "talk" (and nothing more) of expansion for a while now with the possibility of another Brisbane side (Brisbane Bombers), the return of a Perth team, the return of the North Sydney Bears (in the form of Central Coast) as well as another NZ side.

Has anything more been discussed and is anything "official" likely to happen within the next year or so?

From a New Zealand point of view the NRL told the NZRL that is a question of when not if there will be a second NZ side. Part owner of the Warriors, Sir Owen Glenn told David Gallop that he would wright a blank cheque to get a second side up and running, and coming from a man with near on a billion dollars to his name that's a hell of blank cheque to write. Unfortunately Gallop poored cold water on the idea for whatever reason but since he left the NRL there has been a constant quiet buzz that the Wellington RL under Jason Hemson are likely to get a nudge in the near future to set up a club that will service the lower north island through to the south island. The support is there for a second club, as is the playing history and infrastructure.....but who knows with professional sport.

The 2nd Brisbane Side would make sense as would Perth as they both have been singing out for quite some time. Also remembering that QLD did have a few teams in the past as well (Qld Crushers and the Gold Coast Giants/Gold Coast Seagulls).

It would be good to see the Bears make a comeback and I think this would probably happen before a Perth side.

When's the next TV rights deal?

4 1/2 years away.

Not sure why people think Perth is a good idea? It's an AFL town and league is barely played there. The NRL will need $20m+ per year for up to 20 years to establish a fan base.

Central Coast on the other hand is a league stronghold and doesn't have a team.......

Brisbane needs another team but is there anyone who doesn't follow the Broncos? Still has to be done.

NRL priorities must be:

Central Coast
Brisbane
Willington

Re perth - Union was barely played there and now is doing ok, and honestly it is a shit version of league.

I think Perth will next be in so as to further establish itself as a great place to live and a legitimate option for a lot eastern state folk. Every fair dinkum city in aus should want an nrl and afl team , at the very least for the economic benefits..

Also keep in mind the nrl just like the afl doesn't have to burn 20 m a yr on a franchiseif it doesn't want to. Look at the wsw.

League also is more of a casual fan base game, not the religious afl till i die fury

It won't be aiming to "convert" People like the afl does. its just there for those who have or want to take an interest in it.

Similar reason as to why it has so many fans who have never played a game in their life.

Now that I've pointed out the difference I think they will go Perth first then either brisbane 2 or cc bears next.

That said I think afl in Perth will only be boosted by the nrl coming to town with some fanatics getting unnecessarily threatened and pumping more money into the eagles.

League seems to be oddly parochial for this day and age - the complete opposite of the AFL. Really, you can barely grant the National part of the National Rugby League, as most of the teams are in the 2 traditional States (and Canberra) plus 1 team each from Melbourne & NZ.

Central Coast is a nice idea, but to me it is akin to bringing back Fitzroy and having them play in Bendigo. Its a naff idea only done to appease Bears supporters still sore about the Northern Eagles malarky. A second team in Brisbane is so idiotic and doomed it barely warrants comment at all.

The best option for the league is a Perth team (there really is a band of die hards who will ensure it does succeed this time) and a second NZ side, with a revival of Adelaide and a Pacific Islands team the long term goal.

This is a joke right?
No, it has been mooted and received quite a lot of support. If the NBL can have a Singapore team (granted they've fallen over now) I say its worth more of a shot than another Brisbane team.

Singapore is the world's 4th leading financial centre with a strong economy on importing goods and manufacturing. You cannot compare that to the lowly islands in the Pacific. As much as they may love rugby league I cannot see how the league can continue to sustain teams there financially. What about the infrastructure? Any stadiums out there that can hold more than a few hundred? Besides, where would they be based? Tonga? Samoa? Fiji? PNG? Would they use multiple home grounds a la Wests Tigers, but that would be worse for such a team, flights and such.

I know the Brisbane Broncos have been heavily in favour of a PNG team and as I have said earlier, they will do all they can to stop a second Brisbane team coming in. If the Broncos can accept a second team within their region then there is nothing wrong with another team down there. They talk about being the home of rugby league but refuse to expand with the massive numbers of league fans up there.

Not going to argue with the facts, because they are obvious and very real concerns, just reporting what I have heard and been told. I'd still prefer to see other areas explored than for the "N"RL to continue its NSW/Qld duopoly, even if they seem unsustainable.

I've only just started following league part way through this year so don't know much ...

I see there was once a team in Adelaide, the RAMS .. Why did they fold? - Lack of Supporters? Any chance of expanding into SA again ?

I've only just started following league part way through this year so don't know much ...

I see there was once a team in Adelaide, the RAMS .. Why did they fold? - Lack of Supporters? Any chance of expanding into SA again ?

They were culled as part of the reunification of the two waring fractions of Super League. They got great crowds in the first year, but not so good in the 2nd. Stats Adelaide will most likely be the last place the NRL put a team.

Part of the rationalization process to end the Super League wars. The NRL agreed to go from 20 teams to 14 within 2 years. Adelaide hemorrhaged money and fans in the second year and, though they felt they could stay, the league were more committed to Melbourne than Adelaide, so they were out.
There were several fine clubs (and a few crap ones) lost to the game because of News Ltds idea to set up a rival competition that fell on its arse after 1 year.

Wait until they are confident that extension to Perth is viable, which will be as soon as a few years anyway and go with that option. It has enough supporters of the game and a relatively good state competition although it certainly isn't is strong as the QLD and NSW cups.

Brisbane 2 is also a good option.

Not a fan of Central Queensland as you need a largish city (I.e. at least 150,000) to have a viable club.

There are enough NSW sides as it is and a few Sydney clubs are still struggling. If Central Coast is happening it should be a relocated Sydney club.

How long do people think it will take for the NRL to add a new team in the competition? Logic would dictate it won't be done until at least just before the new TV rights deal (4 and a half years away).

The only realistic options for a pacific NRL side would be any where in PNG. They have several stadiums that hold crowds into the thousands and if i remember correctly PMRL Stadium holds 15,000 and Hubert Murray Stadium also holds 15,000. Fiji is also a realistic long term target for an NRL side with the popularity of league exploding there in the last few years. TFL National Stadium holds 25,000 to 30,000.

Re perth - Union was barely played there and now is doing ok, and honestly it is a shit version of league.
I agree union is a shit game but there's always been a union fraternity in Perth due to the private school system.

Also keep in mind the nrl just like the afl doesn't have to burn 20 m a yr on a franchiseif it doesn't want to. Look at the wsw.
Not sure if srs.

1. If the AFL want to be succesful in Western Sydney they need to prop it up for 20+ years
2. If the NRL want success in Perth they will need to prop a team up for 20+ years. The NRL don't have a good track record of this in the past due to lack of funds. With their $1b TV rights will be interesting to see if they actually back a new AFL heartland team in for once
3. WSW has a ready made market and were successful straight off the bat. They aren't in a hostile territory like WS is for AFL and Perth is for NRL.

League also is more of a casual fan base game, not the religious afl till i die fury
read: the product isn't as good. Will be harder for NRL to make ground in Perth than it will for AFL in WS.

It won't be aiming to "convert" People like the afl does. its just there for those who have or want to take an interest in it.
Who are you kidding? Have you got an commercial common sense what so ever?

That said I think afl in Perth will only be boosted by the nrl coming to town with some fanatics getting unnecessarily threatened and pumping more money into the eagles.
Not delusional at all are you? The AFL will never be threatened by the presence of the NRL. The AFL wouldn't be overly concerned if the NRL started up in Perth. You'll get the die hard league fans, NSW and QLD expats, a percentage of people who will start following NRL on top of AFL, and then a few who dump AFL for the NRL. Not much different to how AFL works in League cities.

You are aware (see that bit above in bold) that the AFL is far more popular in it's home states than NRL is in it's home states? This is why it's easier for the AFL to go into League cities - because there's so many people in particularly Sydney who are indifferent to League to start with.

I know heaps of people in Sydney who think they are into league but the truth is they never go to a game and watch it on TV 2 or 3 times a year (planned) and the rest of their watching is just when they are at the pub and it happens to be on. I go to my local and everyone has a team but on Friday night they don't even turn the TV over to the footy.

Even though they had a small following (as expected), this wasn't the problem. The problem was the NRL, until the recent TV rights have been broke for decades (i.e. no cash flow). They simply didn't have the funds to prop them up for the 20 years or so it takes to get a supporter base. Same with Perth Reds.

It was just laughable the NRL/Superleague thought they could plonk teams around the country without ongoing financial support.

How long do people think it will take for the NRL to add a new team in the competition? Logic would dictate it won't be done until at least just before the new TV rights deal (4 and a half years away).

That would be the smart move. For all the stick he's getting, this Dave Smith guy goes ok. I keep hearing League media personalities saying they need a League person. Complete rubbish - this, and this way of thinking is what is holding League back. If they keep making the incumbent supporters and fraternity happy then they aren't going to grow. It's hardly rocket science.

I agree union is a shit game but there's always been a union fraternity in Perth due to the private school system.

Not sure if srs.

1. If the AFL want to be succesful in Western Sydney they need to prop it up for 20+ years
2. If the NRL want success in Perth they will need to prop a team up for 20+ years. The NRL don't have a good track record of this in the past due to lack of funds. With their $1b TV rights will be interesting to see if they actually back a new AFL heartland team in for once
3. WSW has a ready made market and were successful straight off the bat. They aren't in a hostile territory like WS is for AFL and Perth is for NRL.

read: the product isn't as good. Will be harder for NRL to make ground in Perth than it will for AFL in WS.

Who are you kidding? Have you got an commercial common sense what so ever?

Not delusional at all are you? The AFL will never be threatened by the presence of the NRL. The AFL wouldn't be overly concerned if the NRL started up in Perth. You'll get the die hard league fans, NSW and QLD expats, a percentage of people who will start following NRL on top of AFL, and then a few who dump AFL for the NRL. Not much different to how AFL works in League cities.

You are aware (see that bit above in bold) that the AFL is far more popular in it's home states than NRL is in it's home states? This is why it's easier for the AFL to go into League cities - because there's so many people in particularly Sydney who are indifferent to League to start with.

I know heaps of people in Sydney who think they are into league but the truth is they never go to a game and watch it on TV 2 or 3 times a year (planned) and the rest of their watching is just when they are at the pub and it happens to be on. I go to my local and everyone has a team but on Friday night they don't even turn the TV over to the footy.

You just admitted in your post that leagues fan base was more casual. That is pretty much accepted, it isnt good for the nrl commercially but it is what it is.

Re:- the product. It is a matter for taste. IMO rugby league has had more competition and threat to its survival and thus has had to refine its product more to survive. Arguably AFL hasnt because of the strength of its product, but really its how long is a piece of string argument.

Most people will like what they grew up on, others will like something to be different, some will like the physicality of league some will be turned off by it. BLA BLA BLA, suffice to say I dont think its fair to say that AFLs product is flat out better.

The expats and RL fans in perth have nothing to support. In sydney they had the swans, thats why perth would be easier.

Also imo AFL could have dont small things differently to be more successful in sydney with their second franchise but thats a different topic for a different day, they have done what they have done and they are getting what they get.

Suffice to say GWS get garbage support compared to other AFL clubs, perth would have a lower bar in terms of support but imo it would find itself comparable to other nrl clubs pretty quickly.

Also, I never said the AFL would be threatened, only some fanatical fans.

On a side note, I agree re Dave Smith, I think having someone focused solely on the busines from a business background is far more important then having the warragal united under 9s coach involved because he is a "rugby league" man.