Expectations

Banhammer Big House Under 70s
Has there ever been a bigger expectation on our chances then going into the 2006 season?

I doubt whether 1998 had the same buzz about it as this one has:eek:

Im talking from a Crow supporter point of view; not a vic journos uninformed opinion:mad:

Get the shades out :cool: :cool: :cool: AND pray the injury count is minimal.

Obviously last year was better than any of us could have ever expected. Therefore I'd be disapointed if we slumped this year. However, if we make the finals, top 4 preferred, i'd be happy.

k
xx

topjars said:
Has there ever been a bigger expectation on our chances then going into the 2006 season?

Im talking from a Crow supporter point of view; not a vic journos uninformed opinion:mad:

well last years consistency and our failure to get blown away in any game, the further devolopment of some promising inexperienced players, the workload being shared and another year to embrace what our coaching staff is about, has me wondering if we can really do something special this year.

however a week is a long time in footy and theres 5 months qualification and if you do theres one month to turn it into glory, anything could happen

oh and there is no stand out powerhouse either

Frankly based in the Eastern states the expectations are quite modest - the way it should be.

I just want us to be competitive, injury free, unearth some quality youngsters - and let the ladder position take care of itself.

Wayne's-World said:
Frankly based in the Eastern states the expectations are quite modest - the way it should be.

I just want us to be competitive, injury free, unearth some quality youngsters - and let the ladder position take care of itself.
How are Crows being rated in Melbourne??????

Top 4????? Sliders out of the 8???????

Stiffy_18 said:

Not really talked about

Last year pretty difinitive that we would be cellar dwellars.

This year they're not sure whether we'll go up or down ...A lot are pushing Geelongs barrow, have Collingwood between 7 and 10, Sydney and West Coast in the top 4.

No real definitive views for Essendon, Richmond, & North Melbourne. Hawthorn and Carlton to again be at the bottom.

But Adelaide teams always get very little discussion here.

While you have your top line midfielders top 4 is an achievable thing, that hasn't changed in years.

This year you need to keep improving your younger talls as well as blood more midfielders that will replace the others once they are gone.
What you still lack is a rebounding short defender that can play tall and a specialist forward crumber. Yes I know you have Thompson and yes I do rate him, but he's not the type I am thinking of.
The rest of the "blocks" are at the very least good enough.
It will be interesting to see where Craig thinks you need improvements. IMO lack of goals in tight situations and given your emphasis on defense means he will try and change the way you rebound out of defense.

Stiffy_18 said:

They did a review of all clubs in the Sunday Herald Sun, and it started off with the line: Put your hand up this time last year those of you who wrote the AFC off?? The Victorians are taking the AFC pretty serious in 2006. $8.50 for the Flag, which at this time of the year are pretty good odds.

If we can keep the same blokes on the park week in week out, be committed and hungry and really contiune to develope everything that Craig has put in place no doubt top 4, really need to makes sure a our disposal is good and we nail set shots in front of goal:thumbsu:

From what I have read on the net the Vic's seem to be pumping up the Bulldogs as a finals team this year, based on their finish last year.

I'm not so sure about them. It seems to me that when they made their run last year most teams had either shut up shop & were planning for next year or like us, were being flogged on the track in preparation for the finals.

There is also a lot of pressure on the Saints (pitty that), lots of last chance now or never stuff.

As for us; We should make the 8. After that, who knows.

I agree with the general consensus here that Adelaide will finish in the top 8, as to where it comes down to how consistant we are and the rest will depend on injuries and a bit of luck. A top four finish isnt out of the question, but I think a finish of between 5-7 at the end of the minor round is more reasonable.

rayven said:
well last years consistency and our failure to get blown away in any game, the further devolopment of some promising inexperienced players, the workload being shared and another year to embrace what our coaching staff is about, has me wondering if we can really do something special this year.

however a week is a long time in footy and theres 5 months qualification and if you do theres one month to turn it into glory, anything could happen

oh and there is no stand out powerhouse either

Well summed up, particularly the point about not being blown away. I think we won a great % of our third quarters toward the end of the year too which says our focus when the premiership quarter is happening is A.OK:thumbsu:

maccas_no1 said:
If we can....
1.keep the same blokes on the park week in week out.
2.be committed and hungry.
3.continue to develope everything that Craig has put in place.
4.make sure a our disposal is good.
5.nail set shots in front of goal:thumbsu:

Anything else;)

topjars said:

Yes. 2003, when Carey was about to enter his first season with us, we were just about favourites for the flag. If we weren't already, by the time we won the Wizard Cup we definately were considered a front runner for the Title.

This year doesn't really compare with that at all, I don't think. But, we are still a fair way away from the start of the season so we are yet to know which teams will have the biggest hype about them.

The Saints and Eagles will no doubt have higher expectations than us, and probably the Swans aswell.

maccas_no1 said:
They did a review of all clubs in the Sunday Herald Sun, and it started off with the line: Put your hand up this time last year those of you who wrote the AFC off?? The Victorians are taking the AFC pretty serious in 2006. $8.50 for the Flag, which at this time of the year are pretty good odds.

If we can keep the same blokes on the park week in week out, be committed and hungry and really contiune to develope everything that Craig has put in place no doubt top 4, really need to makes sure a our disposal is good and we nail set shots in front of goal:thumbsu:
Cheers mate :)

*PAF said:
What you still lack is a rebounding short defender that can play tall and a specialist forward crumber..
fully agree with the crumber, but not the defender bit, ben hart and jason torney come to mind and to a lesser extent basset

rayven said:
fully agree with the crumber, but not the defender bit, ben hart and jason torney come to mind and to a lesser extent basset
Bassett, Hart and Torney are hardly short.

Johncock is the one that can fill that role to perfection. He was in AA form before he broke his leg. I think sometimes people forget that.

maccas_no1 said:

Yeah the victorians down here are alot more cautious about us. I don't think we will have as a great year as last year. Alot of teams are improving and it will be a lot tougher this year. I think we'll be around 6-10.

Stiffy_18 said:
Bassett, Hart and Torney are hardly short.

Johncock is the one that can fill that role to perfection. He was in AA form before he broke his leg. I think sometimes people forget that.
Yeah, by short I mean not a quasi tall.
I do rate Johncock big time Stiffy and no I have not forgotten about him, but a Johncock type of player that can play taller is what I meant. A Montgomery type instead of a Wilson type I suppose. A six foot max third short that can double up as the fourth tall if that makes sense.
Torney is more your six foot two type that Williams has been searching for over the last couple of years. There is a need for them too, that's why Cochrane got so many games.
Hart is a tall that can play short. We need one of them if Chad Cornes goes in the midfield like has been mentioned.

topjars said:

This is the key to success for all of the clubs with strong lists. The Crows success last year was largely due to a low injury count. A few more injuries to certain players this season and you will struggle like any other club would to reach the same level of success.

The Crows will be right up there but I doubt you can match last years Win/Loss ratio over the whole season. As for the premiership, well who knows.

did anyone see we are favourites to win this NAB competition? :confused:

rayven said:
did anyone see we are favourites to win this NAB competition? :confused:

Is that a good thing or a bad thing ??

Personally i dislike being labeled as favorites for anything by the so-called experts & prefer to be somewhere on the 2nd or 3rd line of betting. :thumbsu:

Or as last year the despised roughie of the field :D

Stiffy_18 said:

Most of the "experts" haven't released a pre-season ladder, but I suspect we'll be tagged as being in the bottom half of the top 8 by the majority.

David Schwarz has us pegged for 15th. That's reason alone to get some money on us having a good year :p