go_the_cattas

Man U, Victory
why r we so bad? i know that we dont hav a proper forward line...well not one that can take a contested mark, but does that mean that the whole team plays with no heart whatsoever? just wondering if everyone thinks this as well...

btw im new and this is my first post so gday

:)

lol hello, im relatively new too!!

But i dont understand it either, and it really ****es me off sometimes to see a team with great talent, yet they dont seem to put it to work. we definnately need a key 4ward but as you said that doesnt mean the rest of the team should play with no dedication!!!

ahhh well i guess we just keep supporting em the best thing we can do hahaha

byes :)

yer i guess, best we can getting frustrated at the number of turnovers and general bad play we have.

o well, gotta love them for beating good teams and losing to the duds

lol geelong is so like that, thats why i was saying before it would **** me off if they some how came out next week and beat syd (but wishful thinkin) i think, but with geelong no1 knows until the game is over, or we r behind and they give up!!!!!!

i miss gary ablett playing!

Originally posted by go_the_cattas
yer i guess, best we can getting frustrated at the number of turnovers and general bad play we have.

o well, gotta love them for beating good teams and losing to the duds
Well at the moment your club is included as one of the duds, perhaps the duddiest judging by todays performance.

;)

yeah perhaps ur right, but u cant just judge them on one performance, not like we played a top side and we were missing a lot of key players, but yeah we arent playing well and we r ONE of the poorest sides in the AFL wouldnt say poorest though....but well done to carlton, they got the points n deserved it

You were missing players and so were we.Kouta, Angwin, Waite , Stevens,( Bowyer Livo and Mott in the ressies back from injury)

We were also returning from a trip out west. Teams dont usually win after that trip.

Sat in a box nex to your coaches box. The surprising thing is there was no emotion coming out of there during the game. It was as if they were forward scouting neutrals.

I must say we did make alot of noise in our box and let them know we were giving it to you.:D

I think your club lacks passion.

On a positive note like i said weeks ago re Tenace. ... he will be a gun.

It's kinda hard to show any passion when your club is playing a pathetic brand of football and are getting thumped is it not? You of all supporters should know ;)

I actually thought we played with alot of passion.:p

If you sat where i sat and had a look inside that box and looked out on to the game youd have agreed.

Not trolling, take this however you like.

I reckon i enjoy my footy and always call it like i see it.

Fair enough, but let's put this into perspective:

It's Carlton's home game at Optus Oval, expect 2/3 of the crowd to be Carlton supporters. That's a hell of alot of noise already. Carlton are thumping Geelong. Carlton= more cheering. Geelong= nothing to cheer about. Even if we were to keep up some of our passion, do you think we'd be heard?

im not talking about your supporters. im talking about your coaching box. i was in the one next door(box that is) there was no anger at mistakes or frantic board changes..nothing...!!!

just took it like they accepted it.

What im saying is that was a reflection on what was happening on the dield by your players. I think the enthusiasm u had a month ago is already gone and it needs to start up from the top again.

Thompson has never shown any emotion, simply because he doesn't have any attachment to the GFC.

He treats it like a business, nothing more.

Fair point, but if I was a Geelong player on the field today, I'd find it pretty hard to have any sort of passion or enthusiasm after today's game. Just hoping the boys don't droop their heads too low that we lose a long string of games.

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
Thompson has never shown any emotion, simply because he doesn't have any attachment to the GFC.

He treats it like a business, nothing more.

All the more why we need a new coach :D

Originally posted by GeeCat
All the more why we need a new coach :D

And agreeing with what this man said here.

Did anyone see what Thompson said in his soundbytes on "The Winners" on Sunday night? I think he looked lost for words, if anything. To sum it up in one word, "perplexed" may be it.

Fair point, but if I was a Geelong player on the field today, I'd find it pretty hard to have any sort of passion or enthusiasm after today's game. Just hoping the boys don't droop their heads too low that we lose a long string of games.

Quite frankly, it seems it's too late to avoid having that happen.

Seeing how easily some of our guys were pushed off the ball and nudged out of contests, I can't believe that we had such a physical disadvantage against Carlton's players.

And not to mention the other physical and mental errors we were making. And the lack of quality of disposal, as well as the inability to man up in midfield in order to prevent the opposition's delivery into the forward line, that was simply shocking. And all of that contributes to the lack of confidence and composure the players have been displaying.

It saddens me to say this, but I think the abyss has already set in.

Get ready for the swans next week fellas. I've always thought of cameron ling as a bit of a softie. But then again, i dont know your team too well.

Originally posted by Sid
Get ready for the swans next week fellas. I've always thought of cameron ling as a bit of a softie. But then again, i dont know your team too well.

Is this the Swans first ever troll ?
They don't seem to have any on this site.

Originally posted by JUBJUB
Is this the Swans first ever troll ?
They don't seem to have any on this site.

Looks like it. The Bigfooty Swannies are pretty decent blokes, grayham aside.

Originally posted by you_idiot
And the lack of quality of disposal, as well as the inability to man up in midfield in order to prevent the opposition's delivery into the forward line, that was simply shocking. And all of that contributes to the lack of confidence and composure the players have been displaying.

It saddens me to say this, but I think the abyss has already set in.

I see I'm not the only one noticing things such as our players not man-ing up. Carlton just had so many players free every single bloody time. When a Carlton player had the ball, 4-5 Geelong players would swarm to him in an attempt to tackle him. Sure itmay have worked 2/5 times, but in the other 3/5 times, the Carlton player just flicked the ball over to a free teammate and off they were. Frustrating to say the least.

I see I'm not the only one noticing things such as our players not man-ing up. Carlton just had so many players free every single bloody time. When a Carlton player had the ball, 4-5 Geelong players would swarm to him in an attempt to tackle him. Sure it may have worked 2/5 times, but in the other 3/5 times, the Carlton player just flicked the ball over to a free teammate and off they were. Frustrating to say the least.

That wasn't just the case against Carlton, GeeCat, but against St. Kilda the previous week as well. And I'm sure that it's been a bad habit in games of the last couple of seasons as well, as an inconsistency at best.

If you cut off the supply line from the midfield, then the opposition's forwards won't get the high quality of service they've been enjoying so greatly. I've seen that as a fundamental fact, and hence why Gehrig and Fevola managed to kick bagfuls of goals against us.

We have to play man-on-man in the midfield, and especially on players off the ball.

Originally posted by you_idiot
That wasn't just the case against Carlton, GeeCat, but against St. Kilda the previous week as well. And I'm sure that it's been a bad habit in games of the last couple of seasons as well, as an inconsistency at best.

If you cut off the supply line from the midfield, then the opposition's forwards won't get the high quality of service they've been enjoying so greatly. I've seen that as a fundamental fact, and hence why Gehrig and Fevola managed to kick bagfuls of goals against us.

We have to play man-on-man in the midfield, and especially on players off the ball.

I realise this wasn't just the case against Carlton, because frankly, I've noticed it from so many games aback. It's a trend at Geelong, we never match up man on man. Sure it may look good when we're on top and cruising, as we'll have the run on the wings, but when we're down, our players have no clue how to play simple defense and stick to their man.