Warhorse

I know, another Ablett thread. There doesn't seem to be any for what will be his last game

One of the greatest players we have seen.

I think the talent was there from the start. in his first season he had a 68% contested possession rate to go with his 10 goals. He was a slow to start, taking over 100 games before he got his first 30 disposal game. But pre 2007 was one of the best small forwards in the league.

A kick in the arse in 2007 led to a period of dominance that included 5 X MVP

2 Brownlow's but could have won 5

For, what separates himself from the other great midfielders in the AFL era is his ball use. Exceptional on both feet and his ability to get his hands free in close for a hand ball is right up there as well. Beautifully balanced player, strong through that hips and in his prime years was nearly impossible to tackle. Teams were told to corral him rather than tackle due to his power and agility.

He has had a rough couple of years, with his son struggling with health issues and the passing of his sister.

All the best in retirement Gary

End of an illustrious era. I took my daughter to the MCG in 1994 when she was 4 to witness Gary Ablett Senior just so she could one day say “I saw Gary Ablett”. I had no idea then that another Gary Ablett would emerge and provide such entertainment and sustained excellence.

What a fitting occasion to bow out.

Just do it!

When he played footy like champions do, he was one of them.

When he played one/two footy and i don't wanna play sore footy and i so so so want those awards footy, not so much.

One of the greats, not one of the greatest. His dad was another level.

Imo.

Mate u know he had two really bad shoulders, could of been an even better not for those injuries.

His stint at the GC soured his reputation, still tho one of the greatest players to play the game.
If anything it elevated him. Proved that he could do it all in a poor team. Didn't have to rely on Cats stars to be an amazing player. If it was a fair world he'd have 4+ Brownlows.

Easily the best mid to ever play the game.

Mate u know he had two really bad shoulders, could of been an even better not for those injuries.

Everyone could have been better without setbacks. Carey for instance played through, and with, dusted shoulders for years.

It's a small knock on Gazza that at times he didn't front up when he was expected too. I'm sure the world won't stop with my praiseworthy, with a few question marks, post.

When he played footy like champions do, he was one of them.

When he played one/two footy and i don't wanna play sore footy and i so so so want those awards footy, not so much.

One of the greats, not one of the greatest. His dad was another level.

Imo.

His worst tackles per game average at the Gold Coast over an individual season was equal to his highest ever tackles per game average over a season at Geelong. Players get injured. It’s what happens when you are getting belted every week because you are the best player in your team.

Picking that out is utterly ridiculous.

As is somehow denigrating him because he got 1-2 handballs.

You see it 25 times a game because it helps create space. Why wouldn’t the most damaging running ball player in the sport use it to help creat space?

Pity he played for GCS when he did, a fantastic player, not as dynamic as his old man but, who could be?

His old man was a brutal, aggressive beast who was built like a Sherman tank and loved to hurt people.

A wonderful weapon that could inflict damage to opponents and add to the scoreboard on a regular basis.

An all rounder.

Totally different type of footballer.

His worst tackles per game average at the Gold Coast over an individual season was equal to his highest ever tackles per game average over a season at Geelong. Players get injured. It’s what happens when you are getting belted every week because you are the best player in your team.

You see it 25 times a game because it helps create space. Why wouldn’t the most damaging running ball player in the sport use it to help creat space?

Are Geelong blokes gonna arc up at anything other than bowing down on one knee this whole thread? For heaven's sake, my post was acknowledging of a champion and one of the greats, with a few small points in a rather small timeframe when he played less like a champion imo.

I'll leave you guys to pounce on your next prey i suppose.

He was a sook at times playing for the Suns.

People forget how many times he stepped out of playing games because of his “ injuries”...as captain no less.

Try putting that flaw on J.Selwood ( the toughest player i’ve ever seen with M.Voss)

He took the big coin and joined a piece of #### side and lost respect..in my eyes and many others in the footy world.

The hype is real.

Are Geelong blokes gonna arc up at anything other than bowing down on one knee this whole thread? For heaven's sake, my post was acknowledging of a champion and one of the greats, with a few small points in a rather small timeframe when he played less like a champion imo.

I'll leave you guys to pounce on your next prey i suppose.

It’s just a pointless observation. Has there ever been any player of high possession who only ever has a disposal that impacts the scoreboard or gains huge territory? No.

If you actually made an observation that was central to Ablett himself like ‘he isn’t the best tackler’ I’d agree with you straight away.

He was a sook at times playing for the Suns.

People forget how many times he stepped out of playing games because of his “ injuries”...as captain no less.

Try putting that flaw on J.Selwood ( the toughest player i’ve ever seen with M.Voss)

He took the big coin and joined a piece of #### side and lost respect..in my eyes and many others in the footy world.

The hype is real.

He literally missed 5 games in the Suns’ first 81 matches then did his shoulder.

By that stage he was in his 13th season of AFL football. For context, Selwood is right now in his 14th.

Bravado doesn’t win matches. If he’s not fit, he’s not fit. Almost every match he missed thereafter was part of a block of missed matches - ie. because he’s genuinely injured.

As for taking the coin - yes he took the coin and had the Suns finals bound in their fourth season of existence when he got injured.

They were 9-6 when he got hurt.
They went 1-6 afterwards.

That would have been a greater achievement than any of his flags or awards.