Farmer....Croad....The clock is ticking

• Thread starter Thread starter sabre_ac

It is a fair enough pre season discussion point but farmer is a class act and i have no doubt that he will prove his worth this season, it is a bit early to start talking about ticking clocks. However, despite the fact that both had average seasons, I think we have the right to expect a little more from each of them.

Originally posted by GoEagles
A mate of mine lived in the same street as Trent before he moved house. Do you know if he's still living in the Freo area Suzi, and could that have been a distraction for him at all last year?
Yep he still is living in the Freo area.

I doubt that living in Freo would have been a distraction for him.

Originally posted by suzi_olsen
Yep he still is living in the Freo area.

I doubt that living in Freo would have been a distraction for him.

The amount of chicks hes been through I would say hes enjoying himself over her.
I mean there is a massive billboard of him in the city modeling some jeans.
Cant see why the guy would ever want to leave...
And who said high profile players wouldnt want to come here, there treated like gods.

Hawthorn got Hodge and all ready after 1 season is a better player than both croad and farmer and he cost 10 times less.

Fremantles position is far different though they need to bring big names to there town to bring the supporters and croad and farmer are 2of the biggest and most exciting players on this planet.
Good luck to freo though they have a young lost and 1 of my best mates ryan crowely is over there so i have a soft spot for the dockers,though its very plain to see freo will struggle once again and i think another 9-14 position season for em.
Good luck

Originally posted by sabre_ac
The amount of chicks hes been through I would say hes enjoying himself over her.
I mean there is a massive billboard of him in the city modeling some jeans.
Cant see why the guy would ever want to leave...
And who said high profile players wouldnt want to come here, there treated like gods.
LOL

Originally posted by tige19
Hawthorn got Hodge and all ready after 1 season is a better player than both croad and farmer and he cost 10 times less.

BWAHAHA!!!

Hodge could very well have an ordinary season, get dropped half way through, not to appear again until pre-season training the following year.

Like it or not, he is still a very much unproven player with potential. Every club has 3 or 4 of them. At this stage, superstar he aint.

what do you guys think of farmers effort last year.

Is he one of those angry players whose form can be severely curbed by some young opp player who delibrately gets inside his head ??

A bit like Pe Matera in the late 90's

And - how old is farmer ??

I felt at times when he was doing his midfield runs last year, that he was trying to play a more team oriented game. Where he normally tried to get around a player and then take a ping at the goals from any angle, he was regularly looking inboard to pass.

Campbell Brown learnt not to stir Farmer up.

He can play some very good football without much agitation, but I must agree some of his best football seems to occur after an opponent or coach has got in his ear.

The last season was not his best, but I think 2003 will be alot better playing in that 50 metre arc.

Interesting that Au Blue mentions Peter Matera, I reckon that he and Farmer are opposites with players in their ear. Matera has always been naturally talented and plays well when let loose, but generally spits it and his game falls away with close checking. When Farmer gets close checking he is known to fire up (but yes he can spit it too if scragged).

Originally posted by Au_Blue#24
I thought Brown got the better of the wiz, even tho brown recieved a punch in the guts ??

Farmer easily had the better of both Brown and Chick in that match... And Brown's indescretions were worse than what he received.

Croad

Croad had better perform.

Isn't his contract weighted so that in 2004-5 he will be
on $600k per season?

If he doesn't perform could be a very expensive trade
for Fremantle which could set your club back 5 years at least.

Re: Croad

Originally posted by hawkeyeqld
Croad had better perform.

Isn't his contract weighted so that in 2004-5 he will be
on $600k per season?

If he doesn't perform could be a very expensive trade
for Fremantle which could set your club back 5 years at least.

5 years... nah I'd say 10, 15 nah 30 years. :rolleyes:

Why oh why do hawks fans spend so much time still thinking about/ discussing Croad?

You've stunned me on this thread - here was I thinking they would be battling to know how to tell the time. 2 Very overrated imports.

Here I was thinking you had exported him to Melbourne and now did Melbourne export him or did you import him back - tell me Eric.

Originally posted by hamish
Here I was thinking you had exported him to Melbourne and now did Melbourne export him or did you import him back - tell me Eric.

Nah he wanted to come home to the powerhouse of AFL footy just like Ricky Mott , Peter Bell , Mathew Carr , Des Headland did & Shane Wowowden , Daniel Wells & Josh Carr will next contract.

I hear both of them looked the goods in Geraldton yesterday. Hopefully promise of things to come this year. Just quietly, I reckon Jeff Farmer is an absolute bloody legend. How's the buzz from the crowd at Subi whenever he gets within 5m of the ball? It's because you know something's gonna happen. Maybe goal of the year, maybe a report, always something.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Nah he wanted to come home to the powerhouse of AFL footy just like Ricky Mott , Peter Bell , Mathew Carr , Des Headland did

Difference with Ricky Mott was that he didn't have a choice (he got axed off the Sydney list)

Originally posted by Adrian Shelton
Pretty please!!! open the wallet for Woey, worth it just to see the Pies do their 'wa wa' act a la N Davis

What wallet? - You mean shake the tin don't you :D

Don't know about that. He came from Tambellup, which is in the Bulldogs zone.

Re: Re: Farmer....Croad....The clock is ticking

Originally posted by funky_monk
With fans like you...

Croad was far from a disappointment. 42 goals is a fair return from his first year as a full time KPP forward. If he'd kicked straighter in some games he could have had 50+ (and thats from an average season).

Farmer was a victim of Freos lack of a pacey midfield. He's not a midfielder. More time in the 50m arc will make him waaaay more dangerous.

He's a confidence player and when he lost it he was always going to struggle. Play the boy to his strengths I say.

Couldnt have said it Better... Not to mention Croady will probably be more setted in his WA lifestyle now I expect 60 goals from him this season or 100 between him and Medders. Farmer will no doubt benefit from the stronger midfield with the arrival of Des Headland we will see hopefully none of him plying in the middle