Jericho30

Crows & Bloods
He played a few games mid last season, And to me he seemed really good, I think he has good potential, But I haven't heard of him too recently? Does anyone know what's happened? Injured maybe? And what are your thoughts on him as a player...?

According to the Sydney game thread, he played last night, but wssn't suited to conditions. If we have all of our forwards available, I can't see a spot for him yet & reckon given his still lacking weight, would be best served playing solid football for the Weagles. Hopefully he will be ready come 2006.

Wasn't suited to the conditions? That sucks! I thought I'd seen him play in rain before... -sigh- :(

Kinda concerns me at the moment. OP has made him even slower and he's not particularly agile, another pre-season hasn't really changed his small-upper/big-lower body profile, despite several of the other Crows players coming out of the new weights program well built up.

He is also regularly spotted out at the nightspots and one wonders if he's more concerned about the nightlife than the footy.

I also haven't been overly impressed by him in the Eagles games I've seen, let alone the Crows games - sure, he has aggression, but he drops a LOT of marks and often seems to be caught well out of position.

I'll cross my fingers that his lack of progress doesn't mean he's

a. a dud, or
b. he's going to want to run back to Vic because of lack of gametime (which would double as a reason no Vic club would trade much for him)

but I'm beginning to wonder if there's a goood reason he slipped to no 14...

spindoctor said:
but he drops a LOT of marks

He does, Once he learns to hold on to them though (Well I hope he learns to hang on to them) he'll be a great marker, speccies and all.

spindoctor said:
I'll cross my fingers that his lack of progress doesn't mean he's

a. a dud, or
b. he's going to want to run back to Vic because of lack of gametime (which would double as a reason no Vic club would trade much for him)

but I'm beginning to wonder if there's a goood reason he slipped to no 14...

According to the rumour file on 5AA this morning, Fergus is seriously home sick, and in danger of returning to Victoria. comes from a very close family.

Doesn't sound too good at all, and certainly explains his lack of progress. Could we be in genuine danger of him doing a runner at year end?? :(

While we're on the bad news, this one's for the Port supporters.

No Chad Cornes for this week, and most likely the next 4 games, courtesy of a small break in the bone below his knee. Rotten luck for the young Studley.

Does any one else think that maybe Fergus is too tall for CHF?

I think he stands at something like 196.9 centimetres - he seems to lack mobility and be akward in his attack on the footy. I know he is still 'growing into' his body, and hopefully this will improve as he develops physically, but it does concern me.

Jars458 said:
Rumours schmoumers.

He is performing well at SANFL level. That is the only fact of the matter at the moment.
Glad you're so confident Jars, as I have heard this from a mate at Ch7 who has had a bit to do with him recently and said that he was definitely not settled too well over here. Also another factor that wouldn't be helping is that his dad is CEO of St Kilda, wouldn't be some subtle pressure there would there?

Lets get on the front foot and offer big Fergus Watts and a second round draft pick to St Kilda (at the appropriate time of course) for Justin Koschitzke who is apparently not happy with ‘cornflakes’ (G Thomas) and has already indicated he will walk at season end, or just offer F Watts for Sam Fisher as a straight swap. I was thinking today that he was gone mentally and this could explain it.

A different option to try and help Fergus Watts over come his home sickness would be to PLAY him in the first, give him a game or two and if he plays well leave him in the side and this might allow him to feel like he is part of the club instead of being stuffed around at the WWT it could help and may be a better option instead of being home sick.

macca23 said:
According to the rumour file on 5AA this morning, Fergus is seriously home sick, and in danger of returning to Victoria. comes from a very close family.

Doesn't sound too good at all, and certainly explains his lack of progress. Could we be in genuine danger of him doing a runner at year end?? :(

Damn, that really is disappointing.

It'll be very interesting to see whether we continue with him or not, regardless of his pleasing SANFL form. I believe we could get a suitable trade going, buit Fergus himself is a talent.

But if he's homesick, there's not much else we can do. It's just a shame, because the likes of Reilly have adapted despite early warning signs.

crows98 said:
Lets get on the front foot and offer big Fergus Watts and a second round draft pick to St Kilda (at the appropriate time of course) for Justin Koschitzke who is apparently not happy with ‘cornflakes’ (G Thomas) and has already indicated he will walk at season end, or just offer F Watts for Sam Fisher as a straight swap. I was thinking today that he was gone mentally and this could explain it.

Let's hoodwink them completely... Matthew "Ginger ninja" Smith for Luke Ball.

In all seriousness, there is no way they would part with Kosi for that little. At the very least we'd have to give them Watts and a first rounder just to get them to the table, something Craig almost certainly wouldn't part with.

macca23 said:

No Chad Cornes for this week, and most likely the next 4 games, courtesy of a small break in the bone below his knee. Rotten luck for the young Studley.
Yet another reason to play him. He will either fail, and we lose little if/when he leaves or he will be a success and his trade value goes up. Alternatively he may actually enjoy it and begin to settle in.
It would be damn hard for a young guy to move interstate to play reserves in the SANFL. He must soon play fro the AFC.

dyertribe said:
Let's hoodwink them completely... Matthew "Ginger ninja" Smith for Luke Ball.

In all seriousness, there is no way they would part with Kosi for that little. At the very least we'd have to give them Watts and a first rounder just to get them to the table, something Craig almost certainly wouldn't part with.

you never know watts is sorta linked to the saints so they might. I dont think NC would hesitate to throw in the first rounder, kosi is a very good player, and would almost fix our forward set up straight away. We wont have a really high first rounder either, due to our recent wins, so it will depend on how deep the draft is considered to be. The main problem would be getting kosi interest you feel.

If the saints arent interested then we are screwed, cause realistically watts isnt worth a first rounder atm

outback jack said:
If the saints arent interested then we are screwed, cause realistically watts isnt worth a first rounder atm

Sure Watts (#14, 2003) has yet to prove he can play the game at AFL level - but it's still only very early days and it's worth remembering that the only other KPP taken in his year who is beginning to show anything is Keplar Bradley (Essendon - #6, 2003), and he was touted as a top-3 pick prior to that draft.

Guys like Ryan Murphy (Freo - #12, 2003), Troy Chaplin (Port - #15, 2003), Billy Morrison (Collingwood - #17, 2003), Llane Spaanderman (BL - #18, 2003), David Mundy (Freo - #19, 2003), Chad Jones (NM - #24, 2003), Adam Campbell (Freo - #27, 2003) et al.; are all in Fergie's boat

We won't know until the end of the season just where he sits with his progress and therefore how much he might be worth on the market if he does want to go home.

yep sure in terms of what he can do he is 2 yrs away, probably more. The adelaide weights program isnt doing much for him. I mean trade value, if he says i'm going home and thats it then we may be in a tough spot. Any club would be reluctant to trade a earlyish first rounder due to his lack of progress, say he was a SA guy and was coming home, we'd be wouldnt want the afc to trade a first rounder for him i dont think. I expect him to stay anyway is very unusual for a guy to leave after 2 yrs unless he has alot of confidence in his ability. Infact i cant think of anyone recently.

dyertribe said:
Sure Watts (#14, 2003) has yet to prove he can play the game at AFL level - but it's still only very early days and it's worth remembering that the only other KPP taken in his year who is beginning to show anything is Keplar Bradley (Essendon - #6, 2003), and he was touted as a top-3 pick prior to that draft.

Guys like Ryan Murphy (Freo - #12, 2003), Troy Chaplin (Port - #15, 2003), Billy Morrison (Collingwood - #17, 2003), Llane Spaanderman (BL - #18, 2003), David Mundy (Freo - #19, 2003), Chad Jones (NM - #24, 2003), Adam Campbell (Freo - #27, 2003) et al.; are all in Fergie's boat

We won't know until the end of the season just where he sits with his progress and therefore how much he might be worth on the market if he does want to go home.

good point. however I am worried that this might also be that the year was just a bit crap for bigs. Look at the draft positions and they don't show a lot of faith, but rather hope against hope they will come good.

My gut, and I am hoping to be proven wrong, is that Fergus will not be at the club in 4 years. Whether through trade, walking away, just not making etc. something just doesn't sit with me. Best scenario is a trade while his value is still high, and he returns a first rounder. if I'm wrong - better than even chance - then feel free to bookmark this for every good game he plays.

outback jack said:
Any club would be reluctant to trade a earlyish first rounder due to his lack of progress, say he was a SA guy and was coming home, we'd be wouldnt want the afc to trade a first rounder for him i dont think.

2 names
- Barry Brooks. El busto
- Scott Thompson. Viva el Scotty

both of which contradict the above

macca23 said:

Oh great another superb draft pick wont matter as by the end of the year Meesen,Maric and Gibson will be ahead of him Meesen maybe already there

Crow-mosone said:
2 names
- Barry Brooks. El busto
- Scott Thompson. Viva el Scotty

both of which contradict the above

no i meant if ferg was a SA guy, we wouldnt be willing to trade a 1st rounder for him.

Thompson is 21 not 19, and that was a dodgey trade anyway. If port werent going hard at him we would have given less. We need atleast two clubs wanting watts to get a good deal.

St.kilda are incompentent, so that explains brooks, that really was an odd trade.

outback jack said:
1. no i meant if ferg was a SA guy, we wouldnt be willing to trade a 1st rounder for him.

2. Thompson is 21 not 19, and that was a dodgey trade anyway. If port werent going hard at him we would have given less. We need atleast two clubs wanting watts to get a good deal.

3. St.kilda are incompentent, so that explains brooks, that really was an odd trade.

1. Agreed, on what he's shown to date I couldn't see us handing over a 1st rounder if he was a SA boy coming home.

2. Jack, we r*ped Melbourne getting this lad for draft pick 12. He is a superb physical mid-fielder ready to play, and has 10 years in front of him. He'll become the replacement for Roo in many ways IMO. We could never have got him for less, or we would have been in jail for daylight robbery. ;)

3. St Kilda have done some odd things. The Brooks trade was one of those.

Crow-mosone said:
I am worried that this might also be that the year was just a bit crap for bigs. Look at the draft positions and they don't show a lot of faith, but rather hope against hope they will come good.

Another good point, which is all the more valid considering just how well some (not many mind you) of the onballers from that year are doing - granted talls take longer to develop of course.

macca23 said:

If we lose this lad I would be absolutely shattered :(