Veteran 10k Posts
Nov 12, 2004
B.Celtics, FC Barcelona, Leeds Utd
Whew, just for all those fans upset about the trade to Brisbane of Fev, just remember it could have been far, far worse ...

Brendan Fevola sought last-minute trade to Collingwood when Brisbane deal hit a roadblock
BRENDAN Fevola sought a desperate last-minute trade to Collingwood as the frantic deadline day deal between Carlton and Brisbane hit a roadblock.

Fevola today revealed he made a personal phone call to Magpies president and friend Eddie McGuire last Friday morning, urging him to deal with the Blues in an attempt to stay in Melbourne.

The controversial spearhead said negotiations between the Blues and Lions were over with only hours until trade week deadline.

"It did fall over on the Thursday night, I got a call late that night," Fevola told Triple M.

"It's a terrible week to be a part of, I never thought I would be a part of it. I think Friday, about 10am, the deal was off and I rang you (McGuire) and said: 'See what the Pies can do because I think it's over'."

McGuire confirmed the Pies' interest: "We were into it, but they (Carlton) wouldn't deal.''

Fevola, 28, said he also wanted to play for St Kilda before Carlton and Brisbane ultimately resuscitated a deal that saw the former Blue move to the Gabba exchange for pick No.12 and emerging tall Lachie Henderson.

"I wanted to go to the Pies, but Eddie couldn't get a deal done. I don't think the Blues wanted to deal with the Pies. It would have been nice to stay in Melbourne, but that's the beauty of our game, it's a national game and you can go anywhere.

"I would have loved to have gone to the Saints as well, but I don't think they could have fit me in the salary cap. But when Brisbane came up and the way they've traded, it was just a win-win for both clubs and to come up here away from Melbourne with the beautiful weather and the wife loving Brisbane, it made it a little easier."

Whew, just for all those fans upset about the trade to Brisbane of Fev, just remember it could have been far, far worse ...

Thank f##k for that. I could not stand it if he went to the filth. It was bad enough loosing him in the first place but to loose him the them...... I dont even want to think about it.

I would like to thank Collingwood Football Club for their interest... as this was ammunition for Carlton to use against to get a better deal for Fev... I never knew how much the Pies cares for our well being

Thank Christ you didn't transfer the cancer to us, will be deregistered by the AFL before next season if the female reporter decides to talk to the AFL.. let Brisvegas lose a young kid and a pick for nothing :thumbsu: *phew*

Collingwood couldn't trade Google stock...

It's funny that he actually thought we would try and deal with them

I think that when Fev plays Carlton he should take a look at the players in the English Premier League. If he starts over the top celebrating and trying to make us look stupid I will be unhappy.
I think he should have a look at Richard Dunne who scored for Aston Villa a couple of weeks ago against the club he used to captain Manchester City and refused to celebrate.
Also Carlos Tevez did the same when scoring for Man City against West Ham.

I think that when Fev plays Carlton he should take a look at the players in the English Premier League. If he starts over the top celebrating and trying to make us look stupid I will be unhappy.
I think he should have a look at Richard Dunne who scored for Aston Villa a couple of weeks ago against the club he used to captain Manchester City and refused to celebrate.

It'd be nice, but I just can't see Fev doing it

I reckon he will go off his f###ing head with every goal he kicks.

Fev was just worried about the devil he didn't know when it came to changing clubs or states. He obviously wanted out because he knew everyone was fed up with him. Easier to leave than to make amends I guess. If he wanted to stay and it looked like the trade had fallen over, why make calls to get someone else to take you?

When was the last time the Pies sacked a star player over behaviour issues? Eddie doesn't seem to care. Not having a shot at him or the Pies with that statement, just saying that we copped a right royal roasting over appearing not to do enough when I believe most clubs would have acted the same way.

I guess this shows he really wanted to go as much as Carlton wanted him to go, Glad Carlton wouldn't deal with Collingwood.
Think you're getting a little confused mate. He was told he wouldn't be coming back no matter what happened. He really wanted to play AFL again, as much as Carlton really wanted him to go.

You'll all be spewing blood when the AFL deregisters him and you realize you missed a chance to stitch us up :p
We don't want to stitch you up, we just didn't want to give you a leg up. I'm quite content with Collingwood just going about their usual business in their usual way.

Chris Tarrant:thumbsu:
Ah yes, he's quite forgettable. He was good, not top 2 at the club good, not Fev good, but there were high hopes for him.

I'm absolutely amazed at the way Eddie seems to have condoned Fev's actions, basically being a spokesperson for Fev since this happened, blaming Carlton for humiliating Fev, while Channel 9 condemn Fev. It seems like a bit of a ratings grabber for Eddie or maybe an insincere gesture to try to get Fev to the Pies. I'm not sure anybody came out in support of Tarrant like that.

Ah yes, he's quite forgettable. He was good, not top 2 at the club good, not Fev good, but there were high hopes for him.

Taz was an AA quality forward. Hardly forgettable either.

I'm absolutely amazed at the way Eddie seems to have condoned Fev's actions, basically being a spokesperson for Fev since this happened, blaming Carlton for humiliating Fev, while Channel 9 condemn Fev.

You need to realize that Ed doesn't have much influence at 9 these days, ever since he got the boot as the CEO. He has absolutely no input with their news/current affair content & contracts his work out to 9 (he is not an employee in the traditional sense).

maybe an insincere gesture to try to get Fev to the Pies. I'm not sure anybody came out in support of Tarrant like that.

Actually when Tarrant first wanted to leave Collingwood in 2000 (he got in some offield trouble), Eddie personally took Taz under his wing. He was also against trading him later, only Swan convinced him of parting ways with Taz.

I would like to know what Collingwood offered. Usually they want something for nothing, all i heard was pick 30 and that in all seriousness is a joke. They couldn't even close the ball deal. This refusal to actually give something decent for something decent may ultimately cost them a flag. They have to realise not all teams are as dumb as Freo.

gee it really sounds like he wanted to go to St. Kilda, he always appeared to have a soft spot for them, I guess the St. Kilda supporter still lives strongly in him from his pre-AFL playing days.

You need to realize that Ed doesn't have much influence at 9 these days, ever since he got the boot as the CEO. He has absolutely no input with their news/current affair content & contracts his work out to 9 (he is not an employee in the traditional sense).

Actually when Tarrant first wanted to leave Collingwood in 2000 (he got in some offield trouble), Eddie personally took Taz under his wing. He was also against trading him later, only Swan convinced him of parting ways with Taz.

Are you suggesting that Eddie acts contrary to what is best for Collingwood and his employer Channel 9, but ultimately carries not much weight? I was under the impression Eddie was professional and respected.

Eddie has lost a lot of his clout at 9 ever since he got dumped as the CEO.

His "Hot Seat" show was a last attempt to save his career at 9. The fact of the matter is he runs/owns "Maguire Media" who sub contract his services to 9. He has absoulutely nothing to do with news content/programming.

In this instance he has helped out a close friend. Loyalty towards an organisation normally take a back seat in this regard.

Call me a cynic but I am starting to think that Channel 9+Eddie were in it together to get Fev to Collingwood.Eddie knew Fev was on the outer and
if he stuffed up he would be out.Bad Luck Eddie your plot failed .
I am rapt :thumbsu: he didnt go.Sorry to see Fev go but thats footy today

I think you guys are misreading Fev's plea a little here. He called Eddie because he did not know who else to try. I think he knew that if no deal could be done, he would not be playing AFL anywhere. I believe he knew the Blues were committed to him leaving the club one way or another, in other words, no trade and he would be sacked by the club.

But not in a way that would leave him able to nominate for the draft (the club would not pay out his salary and let him go to another club for nothing, if they were going to have to pay him out he at least could not hurt us playing for another club). If the club were forced to sack him because they could not get a trade he would have been kept on the list but never played for us again and it would be 2 years until his contract was up and he could nominate for the draft.

According to the article: "Fevola said he feared on the Thursday night of trade week that he would not find a new AFL home" and I believe the above was his real fear, not playing for 2 years.

Thats my take on what Fev really feared and wanted a trade for and who did not really matter all that much so long as he could play.

FWIW, I am sure Vossy must be rapt to hear Fev talking about who he would have preferred to have gone to. Must really reassure him that Fev is 100% on board and on message.:rolleyes:

You can actually hear the full interview Eddie did with Fev on the MMM website. He certainly sounded pretty upset about leaving, and it was clear he hadn't expected it. He said pretty much the entire team had contacted him since being traded, and he would really miss the club and thought we'd go very well in 2010.

When Eddie said to him he can now be like 90% of the population by hating the Blues, he responded with "No, I could never hate the Blues". Early days though I guess.

No problem, happy to get you an untried kid and a pick in a thin draft for the Coleman medallist.. enjoy rebuilding again.. I guess Judd will be gone by then but thems the breaks :p
Pre Collingwood Interest:
Option 1: Lose Coleman medallist for an Ants Midfielder + A Recovery Group Forward

Option 2: Lose Coleman medallist for nothing

Enter Collingwood Interest:
Option 1: Lose Coleman medallist for a 2 year experienced KPP forward or back picked at number 8 in a "super draft" with 10 years to look forward + a pick 12 where we could get another KPP prospect

Option 2: Lose Coleman medallist for nothing

The common denominator in all the above is "Lose Coleman Medallist"
The variable is "for what"
The Differential is "Collingwood Interest"

I again thank thee Collingwood for your wonderful work.

News Fev sought Pies Trade