JSFish

Oxx mentioned today (yes hard to believe that he found a worthwhile point to mention) after Fev had led up to take a mark the tactic Ratten has obviously implemented where a number of Carlton players stand around in the hole, about 30 out from their goal, almost like the huddle from a kick out, then break out wide. Fev then just charges straight up the middle, and assuming the kick isn't terrible, takes the mark.

Assuming they do this next Saturday, what should we do to counter it? Just stick Polak back in the hole? Because if they do do it, we have to do something, as it's virtually unstoppable if we don't.

Yeah, Polak probably the best option, or Richo when he's pushing back but I suppose it has to be someone who is going to play in defence the whole game. Thursty a chance to be back this week? Might be a bit risky.

Oxx mentioned today (yes hard to believe that he found a worthwhile point to mention) after Fev had led up to take a mark the tactic Ratten has obviously implemented where a number of Carlton players stand around in the hole, about 30 out from their goal, almost like the huddle from a kick out, then break out wide. Fev then just charges straight up the middle, and assuming the kick isn't terrible, takes the mark.

Assuming they do this next Saturday, what should we do to counter it? Just stick Polak back in the hole? Because if they do do it, we have to do something, as it's virtually unstoppable if we don't.

Arguably, it's more important to contain Carlton's other goalkickers (particularly mids), constantly pressure their delivery inside-50, and play an attacking game ourselves. Filthy's kicked plenty of bags before in their losses - did again on the weekend. If he's flying solo (i.e. blokes like Judd, Stevens, Murphy, Carrazzo and Simpson aren't adding goals) they'll lose for certain.

Still, we'll no doubt plan for the tactic, probably the best way to do so is as you say, just leave a loose player in the hole for when they do break. Be interesting to see how we play it.

We need to do what we did against port and get the pill inside our fifty more times then them... and then convert. Carltons defense isn't the greatest.

Expect a shoot out.

Fevola is red hot and will be hard to stop...Judd is a far more serious threat than he was in round one , but I have a bad feeling about Betts , the same bad feeling I had about a certain other sneaky little runt before the Saints game.

We need to do what we did against port and get the pill inside our fifty more times then them... and then convert. Carltons defense isn't the greatest.

Expect a shoot out.
Ooooh gotcha. We get the ball in our attacking zone more, kick more goals, and we win the game? I think you need to take over from Terry nut.

At the end of the day, Fev has been arguably the form pure FF of the whole comp for the last few years. He has kicked bags of goals against plenty of better sides than the Tigers and on plenty of excellent full backs so it's gotta be more about pressure on his supply line out of the middle as well as other defenders filling the hole.
I don't know if I like just dropping a loose player at CHB because it will probably mean Carlton will be able to have someone like Waite loose in our front half.
I would rather we took them on man-on-man all over the park because after their top 3 or 4 guns, I believe we match up better everywhere else.
So for me, Thursty if totally fit gets Fev... otherwise probably Moore but it's gotta be up to the other defenders to not get sucked in too far on dummy leads.

It will come down to how much midfield pressure we apply to guys like Judd, Stevens, Simpson and Murphy.

Moore will play on Brad Fisher, we need Thursfield back or McGuane will have to take Fev.

I am an utter goose to suggest that we not discount Newman for Fev?

Fevola is getting a heap of his goals from strong leads then conversion, so it's more pace than height that is the issue. Newman is also a bloody strong bastard so would not be disgraced in body-on-body.

The Bowden at FB idea doesn't inspire me.

Then again, Fev did get 7 goals on Sunday and the Blues were pantsed so he's no guarantee of success, though surely stopping him stops the Blues

I probably am an utter goose...

Fevola is a bogan.

Spot on...and why would anyone have a crack at pug face Bingle when you've got quality like Fev's missus sitting at home? Not to mention comes across as a complete sook whenever he's on the footy show, but having said that.....he can play a bit.

Kel Moore done ok on Franklin earlier in the year i'd give him first crank at Brendan Bingle :)