Final Selection: Maric to debut

MELBOURNEfc will debut their sixth player for the year, after Addam Maric was selected to play against North Melbourne on Sunday afternoon.
Maric was Melbourne’s third selection (Pick 21) in the 2007 National Draft. He is a quick , small forward who is dangerous around goals and reads the play well. He has been in good consistent form for Sandringham and collected 31 possessions in a near best on ground performance over the weekend.
The team will also be bolstered by the return of Co Captain James McDonald, who has overcome a groin injury that has seen him miss the last three matches.
Livewire forward Austin Wonaeamirri has been left out of the team, after pulling up sore following the trip back from Perth. Wonaeamirri had played every game since his Round Three debut and currently leads the Club goal kicking list. He will be joined on the sidelines by Paul Wheatley, who will miss with a calf injury.
The emergencies for the match are Nathan Carroll, Jeff White and Austin Wonaeamirri.
The last time these two sides met back in Round Four it was North Melbourne who was victorious by 48 points at the MCG.

Melbourne Team
Backs: M.Whelan, C.Garland, M.Warnock
Half backs: C.Johnson, D.Bell, L.Dunn
Centreline: C.Morton, C.Bruce, S.Buckley
Half forwards: C.Sylvia, M.Bate, A.Davey
Forwards: M.Newton, B.Miller, J.McDonald
Followers: M.Jamar, C.Bartram, N.Jones
Interchange:P.Johnson, A.Maric, S.Martin, S.Valenti
Emergencies: N.Carroll, J.White, A.Wonaeamirri

Team Changes
In: J.McDonald, A.Maric
Out: P.Wheatley (Inj - Calf), A.Wonaeamirri (General Soreness)
Poor Wona having that general soreness, it's a terrible injury that one, hope it doesn't keep him out to long and he can come back in and win the goal kicking. A week off shouldn't hurt him too badly.

Excited to see Maric get a game, good luck to him.

White and Carroll still not getting a game:thumbsu:

Hope Maric kills it, went to the same school as me and in the TAC champs he was a ripper. Has the footy smarts and is a great contested mark as well as the best shot for goal in the AFL

Poor Wona having that general soreness, it's a terrible injury that one, hope it doesn't keep him out to long and he can come back in and win the goal kicking. A week off shouldn't hurt him too badly.

Excited to see Maric get a game, good luck to him.

White and Carroll still not getting a game:thumbsu:
If Wonna has general soreness why is he named as an emergency? Thats crazy talk!!! :eek:

That's what I thought. They've nicely tried to cover up the the fact he's been dropped (don't know why, it's hardly shameful in your first season) and then gone and rolled themselves there!

In for Maric. Can't expect much in a debut, but it's good to see more of our higher picks getting a run.

That's what I thought. They've nicely tried to cover up the the fact he's been dropped (don't know why, it's hardly shameful in your first season) and then gone and rolled themselves there!

In for Maric. Can't expect much in a debut, but it's good to see more of our higher picks getting a run.

You can now after the debut of Dalziell from Brisbane last week. Lets see if Maric can out do him. As for covering up Wona, think of all those kids with number 39 on their back. they would be devasted if he was dropped.

good luck to Maric!

i played with him, and i remember during a game once, an opposition player running past him and 'accidently' slapping/hitting him in the face. he didnt even flinch :eek:
oh and i think he racked up a lazy 30 or so touches that day :cool:

Good to see Maric get a go, good to have some options as opposed to players just getting a game because we've got no one else.

PJ and Jamar should've been told that if they don't play up to a certain standard, which they should've agreed upon between the player & Bails, that they're out for white.

Disappointing that there's no VFL because of the split-round, would've been good for white, yze to put in some more solid form as opposed to being picked next week for players who play shit.

i know its a little far ahead but next week PEGS (maric's school) are in the ags granny. will he play for the dees or pegs???

Not sure if he's played much school footy this year. I'm pretty sure he's played every game of the year for Sandy or 2's, so if he's playing AGS as well he must be playing 2 games a week at times, which i doubt.

I would think that playing AFL would be a lot more important then playing in a school footy GF, he's contracted and being paid by melbourne so that has to be his priority.

Why is Bell still playing?

After last weeks efforts, (Yes he wasn't the only one) but he was well and truly woeful.

I'm happy for Bell to retain his spot. I think he has a lot of ability and can become a very good player for us.

Its also good to see Maric get a game, he's been playing well for Sandy so hopefully that can translate to a reasonable debut performance.

Petterd may also be pushing for selection nearer to season's end.

i reckon no matter how good Maric plays this week he will be dropped but wont play for sandy he'll play for PEGS.

if this does happen it is bullshit as he is good enough for the dees and i'll be playing against him in the granny if he plays.

You can now after the debut of Dalziell from Brisbane last week. Lets see if Maric can out do him. As for covering up Wona, think of all those kids with number 39 on their back. they would be devasted if he was dropped.
Dalziell is about 3 years older than Maric.

Any chance Jeff White will come in!?

:(
None whatsoever. Go down to Sandy if you are that keen to see him play.

Best of luck to Addam, well deserved after a good string of performances at Sandy.

None whatsoever. Go down to Sandy if you are that keen to see him play.

Best of luck to Addam, well deserved after a good string of performances at Sandy.

Mainly for DT purposes but know that would annoy everyone lol.

So what does this mean for White's career? Will he play next year!? :confused:

And camp there for a week because Sandy don't play until next week.

Then realise you're in the wrong place because they're playing at Optus Oval. May as well go down there and watch it actually given that we play on Saturday and they're on Sunday.

Who would have thought Melbourne would play on a day other than Sunday :confused:

Amazingly enough, the next 4 matches aren't Sunday fixtures, but for the final round we return to the Sunday tradition.