goaldrush1977

Suspended
Hawthorn and Brisbane
2004 AFL Finals Series Field Umpires

The AFL has appointed 12 field umpires to officiate in the 2004 Finals Series.

The panel has a range of finals experience. Derek Woodcock and Shaun Ryan will be officiating in their first final series which contrasts the experience of veterans Hayden Kennedy and Darren Goldspink who boast 12 series each.

Hayden and Darren also boast the most finals games of this years panel. The retirement of Bryan Sheehan last year means that they are the closest to the AFL finals record - Jack Elder's 39 finals between 1906 and 1922. Bryan was two games short following and outstanding career.

The boundary and goal umpires's panels will be published when announced later this week.

The field umpires panel is listed below.

Umpire No. 2004 matches Total matches Previous finals Grand Finals
Brett Allen 10 22 274 24 4
Martin Ellis 23 20 163 5 1
Darren Goldspink 32 22 308 28 4
Mathew James 5 22 116 11 2
Hayden Kennedy 7 23 342 27 5
Stephen McBurney 3 21 188 10 2
Shane McInerney 30 22 170 2 0
Scott McLaren 11 23 224 17 2
Corin Rowe 12 22 106 2 0
Shaun Ryan 25 22 37 0 0
Michael Vozzo 2 21 114 3 0
Derek Woodcock 26 22 71 0 0

Congrats to all these guys.
More later.
Source: http://www.aflua.com.au

goaldrush1977 said:
Ray Chamberlain was only a replacement umpire. He might get a proper gig next year.

here's a bit of useless information, remember the Toyota ad which had a family with 2.3 kids and there was a littly blonde headed kid who said at the end "Yeah and Im the point 3?"...That was Ray!!!

Disgustipated said:
here's a bit of useless information, remember the Toyota ad which had a family with 2.3 kids and there was a littly blonde headed kid who said at the end "Yeah and Im the point 3?"...That was Ray!!!
yeah I do remember that ad.

goaldrush1977 said:
2004 AFL Finals Series Field Umpires

The AFL has appointed 12 field umpires to officiate in the 2004 Finals Series.

The panel has a range of finals experience. Derek Woodcock and Shaun Ryan will be officiating in their first final series which contrasts the experience of veterans Hayden Kennedy and Darren Goldspink who boast 12 series each.

Hayden and Darren also boast the most finals games of this years panel. The retirement of Bryan Sheehan last year means that they are the closest to the AFL finals record - Jack Elder's 39 finals between 1906 and 1922. Bryan was two games short following and outstanding career.

The boundary and goal umpires's panels will be published when announced later this week.

The field umpires panel is listed below.

Umpire No. 2004 matches Total matches Previous finals Grand Finals
Brett Allen 10 22 274 24 4
Martin Ellis 23 20 163 5 1
Darren Goldspink 32 22 308 28 4
Mathew James 5 22 116 11 2
Hayden Kennedy 7 23 342 27 5
Stephen McBurney 3 21 188 10 2
Shane McInerney 30 22 170 2 0
Scott McLaren 11 23 224 17 2
Corin Rowe 12 22 106 2 0
Shaun Ryan 25 22 37 0 0
Michael Vozzo 2 21 114 3 0
Derek Woodcock 26 22 71 0 0

Congrats to all these guys.
More later.
Source: http://www.aflua.com.au
Great post Goaldrush. I really admire your passion for umpires. You are one of my favourite posters on Big Footy because of your loyalty too them. :)

I also admire your loyalty to Hawthorn and the way you stuck up for the
former Hawthorn coach.

:)

Draft Pick said:
Great post Goaldrush. I really admire your passion for umpires. You are one of my favourite posters on Big Footy because of your loyalty too them. :)

I also admire your loyalty to Hawthorn and the way you stuck up for the
former Hawthorn coach.

:)
Thanks mate

Going to have a punt on what umpires are going to get what games this week.

Friday Night: Brett Allen 10 Scott McLaren 11 Shaun Ryan 25
Saturday: Corin Rowe 12 Hayden Kennedy 7 Michael Vozzo 2
Saturday Night: Martin Ellis 23 Darren Goldspink 32 Derek Woodcock 26
Sunday: Mathew James 5 Stephen McBurney 3 Shane McInerney 30

goaldrush1977 said:
Nah I'll be right. I probably hang it on him.
Do you know him?

Correct.

He also has another claim to fame. He was a wicketkeeper and not a bad one at that. At the u19s Champs he dropped a bloke 2nd ball of the carnival.
That bloke went on to score 189 and topped the aggregate for most runs scored at a U19s carnival, Jerry Cassell was his nameo.

Disgustipated said:
Correct.

He also has another claim to fame. He was a wicketkeeper and not a bad one at that. At the u19s Champs he dropped a bloke 2nd ball of the carnival.
That bloke went on to score 189 and topped the aggregate for most runs scored at a U19s carnival, Jerry Cassell was his nameo.
Cool bananas! Thanks for letting me know.:)

pazza said:

If this is correct, any minute chance the Saints had on Friday night well and truly evaporated if that hopeless moron is on the field. His decisions in the round 21 game were appalling.

Still cant get over that terrible decision to ping Montagna for travel after Montagna had bounced the ball and had taken 13 steps. One of the worst decisions of the year, closely followed by the decision to kill off the Geelong v Saints game at Card in a Park with his pathetic free kick to Ben Grayham.

Allen and Ryan are Ok, and i wouldn't mind Kennedy. All three are good consistant umpires. Just not Mclaren and McBirney. Please!!!

pazza said:
Going to have a punt on what umpires are going to get what games this week.

Saturday: Corin Rowe 12 Hayden Kennedy 7 Michael Vozzo 2
Saturday Night: Martin Ellis 23 Darren Goldspink 32 Derek Woodcock 26
Sunday: Mathew James 5 Stephen McBurney 3 Shane McInerney 30

Here's mine.... ;)

Friday Night - Gabba
Derek Woodcock 26, Martin Ellis 23, Shane McInerney 30

Saturday Afternoon - MCG
Stephen McBurney 3, Hayden Kennedy 7, Darren Goldspink 32

Saturday Night - Telstra Stadium
Brett Allen 10, Michael Vozzo 2, Corin Rowe 12

Sunday Afternoon - AAMI Stadium
Mathew James 5, Scott McLaren 11, Shaun Ryan 25

Boundary umpires panel

Umpire 2004 Total Finals Grand Finals
Michael Bell 18 184 9 0
Amin Chehade 19 161 10 0
Jonathan Creasey 18 59 1 0
Jamie Giles 18 98 1 0
Scott Hutton 20 162 8 0
Shane Jansen 20 202 20 2
Sam Leslie 20 232 14 1
Gordon Muir 20 142 11 2
George Pampacos 18 111 1 0
Glenn Sinclair 20 144 10 2
Matthew Vitiritti 19 218 17 2
Darren Wilson 14 71 20 6 (6 seasons for 6 GF's!)

Goal umpires panel

Anthony Black 17 200 16 4
Leo Corrieri 10 115 7 0
Andrew Curtis 10 80 3 0
David Dixon 16 130 9 1
Glen Dryburgh 11 68 4 0
Mark Harrison 16 153 6 1
Cos Martino 10 71 6 1
Ante Perkovic 13 80 5 0

goaldrush1977 said:
Jack Elder's 39 finals between 1906 and 1922.
Thats a pretty impressive figure when consider there would have been normally only been 3 or 4 finals a year, or about 63 finals over that time, all with only one umpire. Compare that with nowadays where you have 9 finals a year and three umpires. You gotta wonder why today's umpires are so weak that they just don't seem to be able to challenge that record.

piefan2002 said:
Boundary umpires panel

Michael Bell 18 184 9 0
Amin Chehade 19 161 10 0
Jonathan Creasey 18 59 1 0
Jamie Giles 18 98 1 0
Scott Hutton 20 162 8 0
Shane Jansen 20 202 20 2
Sam Leslie 20 232 14 1
Gordon Muir 20 142 11 2
George Pampacos 18 111 1 0
Glenn Sinclair 20 144 10 2
Matthew Vitiritti 19 218 17 2
Darren Wilson 14 71 20 6 (6 seasons for 6 GF's!)

Goal umpires panel

Anthony Black 17 200 16 4
Leo Corrieri 10 115 7 0
Andrew Curtis 10 80 3 0
David Dixon 16 130 9 1
Glen Dryburgh 11 68 4 0
Mark Harrison 16 153 6 1
Cos Martino 10 71 6 1
Ante Perkovic 13 80 5 0

Darren Wilsons record is fantastic...

Great to see 6 South Aussies on the AFL Umpires Finals Panel in 2004...i reckon at least two of them will make it to the last day in September :p

I tip Darren Wilson to continue his dominance on the boundary, and umpire his 7th GF in a row!

After being named emergency umpire for last years GF (and IMO he was a bit stiff), i tip goal umpire Ante Perkovic to officiate in his 1st AFL GF. (Partnered by Anthony Black from Victoria).

pazza said:
Surprised to see Black on the list, after his errors in Round 20.

When you consider the best goal umpire on the rise, Jason Venkataya isn't even on the list.

Black is a quality umpire...i missed his round 20 game what did he do???

i was lucky enough to see both Black and Venkataya umpire together earlier in the year at TD. Blacks' a great umpire, and as u say Venkataya is a quality up and comer.

Ante Perkovic was stiff last year not to get the GF ahead of Mark Harrison i thought. I think barring any errors during the finals, Ante Perkovic will umpire the GF, probably with Harrison or Black.

Tyson20 said:

i was lucky enough to see both Black and Venkataya umpire together earlier in the year at TD. Blacks' a great umpire, and as u say Venkataya is a quality up and comer.

Ante Perkovic was stiff last year not to get the GF ahead of Mark Harrison i thought. I think barring any errors during the finals, Ante Perkovic will umpire the GF, probably with Harrison or Black.
three major goal umpiring errors.
All to do with scores

Tyson20 said:

As Suzi alluded to, made 3 errors in the Essendon versus Collingwood game, and getting canned for it by all and sundry who saw them...2 were involving questionable goals that appeared to be touched through as an example.

pazza said:
As Suzi alluded to, made 3 errors in the Essendon versus Collingwood game, and getting canned for it by all and sundry who saw them...2 were involving questionable goals that appeared to be touched through as an example.

coaches will always back their umpires in if there is any doubt...sounds as if he was given the benefit of the doubt. and touched calls can be difficult, esp if u dont see a deflection. it can be the faintest of touches, which doesnt delfect and u dont hear it...but the players know that they touched it! if u dont see or hear it, u cant call it....

being a friday night game im sure Eddie and Co wld have been giving it to him... :rolleyes: