Fire Harvey

• Thread starter Thread starter YelloMit

My point is that with such a small sample 1 outlier can make a big difference. However, you are dismissing the other factors that I mentioned. Time of game, weather, moon phase, etc.

Imagine if Barlow is named this week. We may get 42000 there and this year's attendances will be higher than last year. 1 game changing from under last year to over suggests the variance is not statistically significant.

The only consistent way to measure is by comparing corresponding games. For a club that finished strongly in 2010, to have poorer attendances for all of the Geelong, North and St Kilda games is terrible. It goes against trend of every season that comes after a good one for Fremantle's 17 season history.

Maybe the law of diminishing returns has kicked in. We've maxed out our current supporter base available with our minimum scraps of success and it's going to take some serious sustained success for others to jump on.

And our minor drop-offs this year could be explained by the softc*ck Freagles realising their #1 team isn't totally pathetic this year and thus they don't feel as compelled to live vicariously through us instead. Who knows?

There's all sorts of variables at play but you have to admit we're not doing to badly in the bandwagoning stakes if we're only quibbling about 1 or 2 thousand compared to the massive fluctuations most other clubs get.

My point is that with such a small sample 1 outlier can make a big difference. However, you are dismissing the other factors that I mentioned. Time of game, weather, moon phase, etc.

Imagine if Barlow is named this week. We may get 42000 there and this year's attendances will be higher than last year. 1 game changing from under last year to over suggests the variance is not statistically significant.

I don't think these factors matter for more than one game. I believe four games is a large enough sample size to begin making judgement (given the maximum number of home games in any year is 11).

I doubt 42k is possible even with Barlow in, but with Essendon's strong supporter base and relative better form this year, we should be expecting close to 40,000.

Maybe the law of diminishing returns has kicked in. We've maxed out our current supporter base available with our minimum scraps of success and it's going to take some serious sustained success for others to jump on.

I'm not sure how that translates to a lower turnout than last year, 2006 or 2007.

I'm a little puzzled also

How does a thread about wanting to Fire Harvey (horrible idea), turn into a thread discussing membership and crowd figures

Only on BigFooty I guess :thumbsu:

I'm a little puzzled also

How does a thread about wanting to Fire Harvey (horrible idea), turn into a thread discussing membership and crowd figures

Only on BigFooty I guess :thumbsu:
Primarily because the idea of firing Harvey is horrible, and if you want to analyse where the missteps were made in the off season, they were by and large not made by the head coach.

Our 2 membership seats have been empty almost every game this year but I live a 3 hour drive away and my brother has been on a lot of overseas business trips. Maybe there are a quite a few other people that aren't always in Perth but don't want to give up their seats for when they return with the almost full stadium?

Was going to give them to my Bomber supporting mate this weekend but the idiot forgot and had already purchased tickets. Shame really, the lady that sits on one side is a bit of a mole, he would've driven her nuts :)

Our 2 membership seats have been empty almost every game this year but I live a 3 hour drive away and my brother has been on a lot of overseas business trips. Maybe there are a quite a few other people that aren't always in Perth but don't want to give up their seats for when they return with the almost full stadium?

Was going to give them to my Bomber supporting mate this weekend but the idiot forgot and had already purchased tickets. Shame really, the lady that sits on one side is a bit of a mole, he would've driven her nuts :)

A number of members that sit around me have taken jobs up north. They have attended one game this year (ANZAC Day). They too do not want to give up their seats. Maybe this is part of a broader trend that is effecting crowd numbers.

See that's the thing - the eagles members are all pensioners with nothing else to do, so the only time they don't show up is when they're having one of their spoon years or when the game clashes with Antiques Roadshow.

Whereas our members are still young enough to have things like work/sport/etc getting in the way of games.

I only saw a couple of games live last year and we were awesome to watch for the most part. After all the rubbish seasons I've sat through as a member, somehow I miss out on 2010.

Hmmm given I've been to all of them this year, maybe I'm the problem...

The same friend went to an Eagles v Bombers game a few years ago and some old bloke said to him 'shut up buddy, I bet you've never even played played the game!', to which he replied 'Why do you think I was late to the game?? It was because I was playing a game of footy this arvo you ****wit'.

Classic.

I think Harves needs some credit for today's effort. Moved MJ forward which was a smart move (considering his form in the backline), kept Pav in the middle despite an array of criticism which proved vital today, the confidence in Zac seems to be paying off (not many would' ve persisted with the experiment) and other match ups i.e Deboer vs Zaharakis & Crowley vs Watson were both very effective as well.