OzBomber

Liverpool, Ricciardo
Hi guys,

I just got an email inviting me to an interview at Maccas next Tuesday.

I'm just wondering if anyone has any tips on what I can do at an interview. I'm going to be pretty nervous, so if anyone has any ideas to conquer that, it'll be appreciated. :thumbsu:

my advice, dont work at maccas.

but since you'll probably ignore that first point...just dont act like a stupidhead and you should be good enough to get a job at maccas.

and if they ask when you're available to work, just say: basically anytime after school (i assume you're in school). then when you get the actual job you can turn down work if you cant be bothered.

my advice, dont work at maccas.

but since you'll probably ignore that first point...just dont act like a stupidhead and you should be good enough to get a job at maccas.
Well I didn't really want to work there, but mum said I had to start somewhere.

Being nervous is a no no, so I suggest a few stiff drinks before the interview, just make sure you use breath mints after it. :D

Good Luck mate. :thumbsu:

Good luck Sean...

When you shake the interviewers hand, look them in the eye and call them by name. Make it firm, but don't break their hand. You know how much a "wet fish" handshake sucks, so don't give them one of those either...

Be honest about your sporting commitments, but tell them you'll juggle sport around work...

Answer questions with more than one syllable..."yeah", "nah", "nuffin'" and "stuff" are great for parents and teachers, and Maccas are an equal opportunity employer and all, but don't be a ****** for your future employer.

You'll be fine...

Make sure you are available often. Your contact hours should be flexible. You should be willing to sacrifice all social engagements.

Also try to be nice and pleasant since no one wants to work with a horrible person.

Assuming you haven't yet, apply for a job at Coles or Woollies.

Opening boxes and placing the contents onto a shelf is not a difficult task to perform, but the astounding number of people who struggle with the concept means that if you can do it you'll have guaranteed hours for the next 70 years. Most decent sized supermarkets have filling 5-7 nights a week, and general day time staff are usually needed too, particularly if they are cheap.

Walking around doing (minor to moderate) physical labour is also better for your health and fitness than working in a confied environment dealing with **** customers, working with oils & fats everywhere and eating cheeseburgers, plus you won't get fired when you turn 18 - unless you're a complete gimp, in which case you'll be promoted to middle management.

I remember my first one a few months ago and i was pretty freakin nervous. My advice is to practice on your mum or something all the answers you would give, pretty simple really.

God, Sean, it seems like your life is run by your mother... You need to make your own decisions.

Your your mum's bitch.

haha, same here. i used to work at coles and started when i was about 15.

i only went because my mum and dad said i should get a job...i tried to fail the interview i really really did, but when the shop is right near your house it was hard for them to turn me down.

i ended up working there for about 3 years, i quit about 6 weeks ago actually. way too long, i should've got out earlier.

i got half fired/quit...we got a new bitch of a manager who runs the place like a concentration camp and pretty much from the first day she didnt like me and i told her i was quitting...she seemed pretty happy. man the pay was shit though, i got $13 an hour at 18...now my new job i've been doing it for about 6 weeks i get $18 an hour for wayyyyyyyyyy easier work (assistant surveying).

i only went because my mum and dad said i should get a job...i tried to fail the interview i really really did, but when the shop is right near your house it was hard for them to turn me down.

i ended up working there for about 3 years. way too long, i should've got out earlier.
Well I don't want to and I do want to work. Because I want to start earning my own money so I can get things that I want.

i ended up working there for about 3 years, i quit about 6 weeks ago actually. way too long, i should've got out earlier.

i got half fired/quit...we got a new bitch of a manager who runs the place like a concentration camp and pretty much from the first day she didnt like me and i told her i was quitting...she seemed pretty happy. man the pay was shit though, i got $13 an hour at 18...now my new job i've been doing it for about 6 weeks i get $18 an hour for wayyyyyyyyyy easier work (assistant surveying).

Wow, that is pretty much exactly my story. Was on about 13 bucks an hour and started working with my family business as a surveyors assistant. Pretty solid pay for an 18 yr old. How are you finding it btw?

well my sister's boyfriend got me the job at the place because he's a surveyor there and i reckon its a pretty awesome job.

especially when we got out to far places so i spend about an hour in the car just chatting then when the surveyor draws up the plans i just listen to music, so theres lots of time wasted and when we actually get down to work...its not like its back breaking labour: i look through the jigger, find the prism then press measure --> record --> enter. simple as.

btw, i've never eaten so much deli food in my life. every lunch consists of chiko rolls, crumbed sausages, crumbed schnitzels and choc milk.

i've even changed my uni course now, i was doing commerce but i've deffered this semester to work full time. but when i got back im going to complete a bachelor of commerce and surveying (property).

hell laid back.

Yeah, I applied for Coles as well. Haven't heard from them though. I had to do a bloody 45 minute test!

The sad thing is, i failed that 45 minute test for Coles. Its surprisingly hard to find a job these days, even with 2 years retail experience.

Good luck with your interview, and if you get the job, DON'T do what I did and quit your job when you got sick of it, expecting to find a new job fairly soon. Having no money for beer is extremely depressing:(

Thats my advice.

The sad thing is, i failed that 45 minute test for Coles. Its surprisingly hard to find a job these days, even with 2 years retail experience.

Good luck with your interview, and if you get the job, DON'T do what I did and quit your job when you got sick of it, expecting to find a new job fairly soon. Having no money for beer is extremely depressing:(

Thats my advice.

lol.

In the 8 years I have been a member of BF, seen a lot of kids grow up.:D

How did it go Sean, any news yet?
Haven't had it yet, it's next Tuesday. I found out yesterday that one of my friends has an interview there as well next Tuesday. So a bit of competition.

What would I need to bring? I know I'd need resume, passports/birth certificate, but anything else?