Billy Puller

Sep 5, 2013
Brisbane Lions
Boston Celtics
G'day guys and girls. Who here loves a fish and would love to share some advice with a novice.

I've always loved to fish and this fine Brisbane weather has me in the mood. I mainly fish at the beach but lately have been hitting rivers and streams around brissy. But my big beach rod is a pain in the ass to transport around/maintain and even cast in small areas I've found. As well as walk through bushland to destinations. I'm looking at investing in something smaller yet still suitable for brissy river fishing.

So what would you recommend? Looking at something suitable for sittin on the side of a river or dropped off of a small tinny. Also I would love to get into plastics and lures yet I have NFI where to start.

Any help would be gladly appreciated! Also general fishing thread. Show us ya best catches!

I've been into squidding the past few years. Great time now to be hitting the rocky reefs and weed beds. Haven't had much luck this year at my usual squidding places though...
Squidding hey what does that entail? Sounds interesting I've never even thought about it.

it's really easy and doesn't require much at all. I just use a shimano 2000/2500 reel, 6-8lb braid with a 1m leader of mono at about 8lbs to stop tear from rocks, I find a 2.5-3.0 Yamashita or even the cheapies like Rogue to be good squid jigs and a 9 ft rod. Literally it will cost like 70 bucks for the whole set up from scratch. Land based is perfectly fine.

Best bet is still, clear water when late in the evening when sun is going down (although can get them during daylight but they are no where near as active). From experience tide doesn't really matter that much although some reckon incoming tide is best. Just need to find a rocky reef or outcrop, and seagrass. Pontoons or jetties are good places as well apparently but I haven't tried. Squidding is literally the easiest fishing I've done. Squid are very aggressive and will attack just about any moving jigs and once you find a grouping you can get 10+ good size squid in 20 casts.

It is definitely the best catch and cook you can get. Who can say no to fresh calamari? I always try to get at least 2 squid for a feed. I never sit there and rape the seas bringing home 25+ like I see some asian dudes do.

it's really easy and doesn't require much at all. I just use a shimano 2000/2500 reel, 6-8lb braid with a 1m leader of mono at about 8lbs to stop tear from rocks, I find a 2.5-3.0 Yamashita or even the cheapies like Rogue to be good squid jigs and a 9 ft rod. Literally it will cost like 70 bucks for the whole set up from scratch. Land based is perfectly fine.

Best bet is still, clear water when late in the evening when sun is going down (although can get them during daylight but they are no where near as active). From experience tide doesn't really matter that much although some reckon incoming tide is best. Just need to find a rocky reef or outcrop, and seagrass. Pontoons or jetties are good places as well apparently but I haven't tried. Squidding is literally the easiest fishing I've done. Squid are very aggressive and will attack just about any moving jigs and once you find a grouping you can get 10+ good size squid in 20 casts.

It is definitely the best catch and cook you can get. Who can say no to fresh calamari? I always try to get at least 2 squid for a feed. I never sit there and rape the seas bringing home 25+ like I see some asian dudes do.
Cheers mate I might give it a try

I bought a shinano rarenium a couple of years ago and it has been great. Especially so because it comes with 2 spools. So you can easily chop and change between braid and mono.

Tackle warehouse is the place to go if you're in Brisbane. Guys are very knowledgable.

Fishing Thread