Prediction Flag Chances 2017

Troystenvic

Hello Ladies and Gentlemen.

Firstly Apologies for not starting the GF Autopsy thread. (considering I own them)

The off season didnt really throw too many surprises except for XR.

Can we win the FLAG?

Who are we most nervous about?

Who are our greatest threats?

What does the season hold?

Predictions here....

I actually dont think making the top 4 is the be all end all anymore with the bye being kept in 2017, i just think how many more times can we climb the mountain? we have been on the cusp since 2012 thats a long term in modern football to be going deep in September but on the flip side i look at our age profile and i think we actually still have improvement left in us we enter 2017 as the 4th youngest team!

Once again it comes down to luck avoiding your bogey teams example had we been on the other end of the draw and faced Geelong in the GF then we will probably have another flag same case can be said in 2014.

Luck is incredibly important without the bye the Bulldogs have back to back Perth trips in round 23 and the first week of the finals and go out in straight sets instead they regroup get their players back from injury and have one of the most incredible final campaigns similar to ours in 2005.

Our draw is once again pretty timid for finishing 1st i have us again winning between 15-17 games and making the top 4 for the 6th year in a row.

GWS have to be flag favourites for 2017.

But we can do well again. Return to fitness of Aliir, Mills, Jones, Reid, Tippett. Return from suspension of Talia. Marsh will be better for the run in 2016 (should have played in the GF). Heeney more midfield time.

I'm worried with T.Mitchell gone, about midfield extraction, too much on JPK's shoulders. For Luke Parker, taking speccies on the wing might attract Brownlow votes, but the team needs you in and under this year.

But poster Deccas probably nailed in in #151:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/best-22-for-the-start-of-2017.1150024/page-7
..Players like Foote, Robinson, Rose, Talia, Laidler, Marsh, Johnson, O'Riordan, Dawson, Leonardis and the mature rookies like Edwards and Fox [need their opportunities]..

Also draftee Florent looks like Toby Greene to me, so let's see how he goes in the Seniors.

I think we are a very good chance to win it in 2017. The line-up we had this year was every chance to win a flag; we just couldn't pull it off in the end, but Mitchell is the only significant loss from that list, and there are plenty of players with heaps of upside.

Bud is hardly going off the boil, nor JPK.

I think the demons of 2014 were well and truly put to rest with that performance. A lot of people didn't even have us as contenders this year and we amazed everyone, not the least ourselves, by nearly snagging a flag. That talent, that self-belief, is not going away.

There's always the chance we'll collapse in a heap but I highly doubt it. We are pretty much the best-run club in the comp and don't ever descend into bitchiness and recriminations, which is why we've been able to rebuild on the run and make the finals over and over again.

I try to take nothing for granted & I hope the boys do too.

We could have the best run club in the world, with the best talent, but sometimes the talent you put on the field is beaten for one reason or another.

We have a young side. An inexperienced side. With the weight of a lost GF on their shoulders. I don't discount that for 1 second. It's a lot to ask of our veterens to be "up" & rebound yet again, let alone our kids... But I think they will be focused & relentless none-the-less.

Looking at the list this time last year I reckpn we overacheived (which is great!) In 2016. It bought some invaluable experience but also potentially a bit of complacency. "We're always in finals".

As you can see with Carlton, Essendon & Brissie. You can be riding a wave of success, sustained success, then it all crashes down. We need to be aware of the factors which preceed & develop that & mitigate them.

Depth is not good and we are a couple of injuries away from being an average side

Depends which position you're talking about IMO. At the moment, as swansfan51 has pointed out before, we have one reliable contested ball winner in Kennedy, so clearly we will need to improve our depth in this area. Our depth in most other positions (apart from tall forwards) looks reasonable.

Without making any predictions, one thing in our favour is our draw. Having 20 out of 22 games in either NSW or Victoria is a real bonus.

Boooooo!!! (Say WA & SA/NT fans)... And QLD, but they get NEAFL & cheap easy flights down to Syd.

Talking about from the team's perspective as it means less time spent in the air...
Oh yeah, for sure & completely agree.

I guess I'm just very selfish & don't want to fly around the country all year just to see my team play... *sigh*... *looks at wallet*... "Sorry mate" *sigh*

Ironic that our flag chances depend on two ex Hawks

Yeah guess so

Their flag chances may hinge on an ex swan

GWS have to be flag favourites for 2017.

But we can do well again. Return to fitness of Aliir, Mills, Jones, Reid, Tippett. Return from suspension of Talia. Marsh will be better for the run in 2016 (should have played in the GF). Heeney more midfield time.

I'm worried with T.Mitchell gone, about midfield extraction, too much on JPK's shoulders. For Luke Parker, taking speccies on the wing might attract Brownlow votes, but the team needs you in and under this year.

But poster Deccas probably nailed in in #151:

Also draftee Florent looks like Toby Greene to me, so let's see how he goes in the Seniors.
Aww thanks mate.

On Galaxy Nexus using BigFooty.com mobile app

No finals at ANZ? All the way this year!

Wait. Have we invited any umpires to train with us this year? Got to have a proper preseason bbq schedule to have any chance. :D