Flashback: Semi Final Win vs Carlton

• Thread starter Thread starter Tulip

I really enjoyed watching this, and thought I'd share. If the blokes of rebuild 2.0 show as much passion and fight than the original Millenium cast, and successfully relegate rebuild 1 to the history books, we may just see some successful Dee wins at last.

Listened to the last quarter of that game on the radio after coming back from seeing my Mum in the hospital after she had a stroke. Firing up with the old man as we stormed back to win is something I won't soon forget.

Enjoyed smashing the shit out of Norf a fortnight later even more.

I've had that video on stand-by for the last couple of years. Many's the time I've trudged home from the G and watched it to cheer myself up.

Always feel sorry for Brad Green (and to a lesser extent Bruce) though, to him it looks as if everything is only going to get better from there, but in reality (with a couple of exceptions) it just gets much, much worse.

Was sitting at the punt road end when we stormed home in the last. We really had no right to win, Carlton dominated for most of the match. Easily my favourite game I've been to.

One of those games where every Carlton supporter would have been walking away from the game thinking 'how in the hell did we not win that??' We simply took our chances when it counted.

No doubt. Even though we were a good side, probably third best over the season, we were still very hot or cold. That game plan was electric when it worked though and at our best we could dice up any opposition (except Essendon, who were unbelievably good).

Also bit pedantic but it was a qualifying final not a semi.

No doubt. Even though we were a good side, probably third best over the season, we were still very hot or cold. That game plan was electric when it worked though and at our best we could dice up any opposition (except Essendon, who were unbelievably good).

Also bit pedantic but it was a qualifying final not a semi.

Correct. It was a QF.

Also like the fact HFF is going for the flashback of a game where he was just 5 years old! Would have been having his daily nap at 3 quarter time! ;)

I was 10 years old and this was my first final and i still remember it perfectly, still remember losing it when Yze goaled off the ground. Was a fantastic last quarter, the Prelim final was also good that season too :thumbsu:

Correct. It was a QF.

Also like the fact HFF is going for the flashback of a game where he was just 5 years old! Would have been having his daily nap at 3 quarter time! ;)
My first ever game mate IIRC. First I remember going to anyway.

And what a first game it was! Shame it's been all downhill since then...

And off topic, my first was the 1987 final round win over the Dogs. I was 4. My old man went nuts so much I cried and some old lady had to console me. And I totally understand why he went off his rocker that afternoon!

I was at this game, best game I've been to. That last quarter was amazing, down by 21, kick 5 strait goals to be up by 9, carlton kick the next 2 to get back the lead, Leoncelli snaps to get us back in front, Cam Bruce then finishes them off. 4 second half goals (3 in the last quarter) to Brad Green lead the comeback. Remember it like yesterday.

You lads had some good first games, mine was getting smashed by the saints in 97. Pouring rain at night bottom of the ladder vs the top. Not a great memory but one that was remarkably Melbourne.

Thanks for sharing this. Brings back fantastic memories of being there at this game.

God I loved that team of 2000. Led by Neitz and the Ox. The class and skill of Yze, Farmer and White. Woewodin was huge that year. Every club would love to draft a Steve Febey-type player. Green and Bruce as youngsters. Robertson and Johnstone causing havoc.

We also had blokes who were not the most talented footballers but they had a crack every week like Walsh, Powell, Leoncelli, Ingerson.

I just want to go to a game of finals footy and have the chance to yell out "Come on the Dees!" in the last quarter when the game is on the line. It has been far too long...

Still remember my first live match - also against Carlton.
We smashed them in the first half, they came back and we held on to win by a goal. Brent Heaver kicked 5 on debut and I thought he was going to be a star for us.

I was at this game. Man they were all over us for 3 quarters and just didn't put us away. Then queue Green and Bruce! Great game, but i prefer the more comfortable wins like North the next week where the wiz nuts. I still miss Farmer.

Was a sweet victory, got sick of hearing Carlton flogs blaming injuries that game having no Kouta and stuff, winners are grinners!

Bloody hell did Sandy Roberts love the Wiz.

"Oh the Wizard's in town again!!"

Was at this game and was a definite highlight for a long suffering demon fan.

I still remember being down at half time but thinking we were still in it. Brad Green was super impressive and Kevin Sheedy must have thought the same when they targeted him a cpl of weeks later in the GF.

The WHIZ along with Schwarz have given me the greatest satisfaction to watch over the years. I still remember Farmer kicking 9 goals in a half against Collingwood after being dragged for not touching it in the first half one day.

Quality memories of the top deck of the old Ponsford. I loved that area, and admittedly it was full of normal people that day, but usually you'd go to some 25,000 crowd slopfest and every second person up there would either be drinking smuggled in booze or smoking.

To be fair you could probably still do that in the top deck of the Ponsford for most of our games but it's not as impressive when people are sitting down instead of milling around at the back looking suspicious.

I scored tickets to that QF against Carlton, sat up in the 3rd tier in front of where The Ox held up the ball as a booted a goal in the last, best game I've ever been too. 2000 had a lot of quality wins though, I even remember us winning interstate, which seems crazy to think of.