Floreat Pica

Thoughts of the club's motto "Floreat Pica"?

• Love it! Nothing stirs the soul like a robust piece of Latin

Votes: 17 58.6%
  • It's OK I suppose, it does lend a bit of gravitas

Votes: 8 27.6%
  • I had no idea what it even meant

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Care Factor = 0

Votes: 3 10.3%
  • Don't see the point of it really, wouldn't be disappointed if it went.

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Hate it! A Latin motto never had any relevance to a working class footy club

Votes: 1 3.4%

What are people's thoughts on our club motto?

Some people posters use it. Eddie Maguire usually signs off with it in club communiques.

Do you even know what it means?

Is it a good thing to have?

Thoughts?

It means may the magpies prosper. I really don't see the big deal, this motto was on our first ever club logo/shield. Why fix something that ain't broken? Barely used anyway.

I am normally a traditionalist, and I strongly respect the place that Latin has in linguistics.

But I just can't see the point of the Collingwood football club having a Latin motto. Its supporters don't speak Latin. I'm pretty sure they don't speak Latin in the club or amongst the players. What is the point of having it? So it makes us look ye olde worldy and sophisticated or something? We do have the tradition of being a working class, no nonsense, feet-on-the ground footy club. WTF do we need a Latin motto for?

I am normally a traditionalist, and I strongly respect the place that Latin has in linguistics.

But I just can't see the point of the Collingwood football club having a Latin motto. Its supporters don't speak Latin. I'm pretty sure they don't speak Latin in the club or amongst the players. What is the point of having it? So it makes us look ye olde worldy and sophisticated or something? We do have the tradition of being a working class, no nonsense, feet-on-the ground footy club. WTF do we need a Latin motto for?

Yeah I think the majority of supporters have stuck with the "Side-by-Side" slogan as it's in our club song, having said I do like Floreat Pica only because of what it means, oh and it was on a massive poster of Bucks I had as a kid :D

My understanding is the translation to English is actually something different than what was intended.

There's an old thread on Nicks about it, but Floreat Pica when translated is something different.

Oops.:oops:

Just tried out a few "Latin to English" translation tools, and this was the most common result;

to be distinguished for jay

o_O

My understanding is the translation to English is actually something different than what was intended.

There's an old thread on Nicks about it, but Floreat Pica when translated is something different.

Oops.:oops:

Just tried out a few "Latin to English" translation tools, and this was the most common result;

According to Google translate, "Floreat pica" = "Flourish pie" !?!

Why change something that has been part of our history since day nought? Would you know what the term "cakewalk" meant if you weren't a Collingwood supporter? Maybe we should change that too since its not a commmonly used word. Tradition is everything at this Club, that's why we fight so hard when it comes to keeping the guernsey Black and White stripes when everybody else has to change theirs. Leave it alone.

[Brian is writing graffiti on the palace wall. The Centurion catches him in the act]
Centurion: What's this, then? "Romanes eunt domus"? People called Romanes, they go, the house?
Brian: It says, "Romans go home. "
Centurion: No it doesn't ! What's the latin for "Roman"? Come on, come on !
Brian: Er, "Romanus" !
Centurion: Vocative plural of "Romanus" is?
Brian: Er, er, "Romani" !
Centurion: [Writes "Romani" over Brian's graffiti] "Eunt"? What is "eunt"? Conjugate the verb, "to go" !
Brian: Er, "Ire". Er, "eo", "is", "it", "imus", "itis", "eunt".
Centurion: So, "eunt" is...?
Brian: Third person plural present indicative, "they go".
Centurion: But, "Romans, go home" is an order. So you must use...?
[He twists Brian's ear]
Brian: Aaagh ! The imperative !
Centurion: Which is...?
Brian: Aaaagh ! Er, er, "i" !
Centurion: How many Romans?
Brian: Aaaaagh ! Plural, plural, er, "ite" !
Centurion: [Writes "ite"] "Domus"? Nominative? "Go home" is motion towards, isn't it?
Brian: Dative !
[the Centurion holds a sword to his throat]
Brian: Aaagh ! Not the dative, not the dative ! Er, er, accusative, "Domum" !

Centurion: But "Domus" takes the locative, which is...?
Brian: Er, "Domum" !
Centurion: [Writes "Domum"] Understand? Now, write it out a hundred times.
Brian: Yes sir. Thank you, sir. Hail Caesar, sir.
Centurion: Hail Caesar ! And if it's not done by sunrise, I'll cut your balls off.

[Brian is writing graffiti on the palace wall. The Centurion catches him in the act]
Centurion: What's this, then? "Romanes eunt domus"? People called Romanes, they go, the house?
Centurion: [Writes "Romani" over Brian's graffiti] "Eunt"? What is "eunt"? Conjugate the verb, "to go" !
[He twists Brian's ear]
Centurion: [Writes "ite"] "Domus"? Nominative? "Go home" is motion towards, isn't it?

Centurion: Hail Caesar ! And if it's not done by sunrise, I'll cut your balls off.

I just want to say that this is the best read on BigFooty I have come across. I doff my hat, sir.

Yes I must say levity is much desired in the off season.
Glad you like it but I can't take all the credit, Monty Python played their role too.:p

Don't Carlton and the saints also have Latin mottos? Keep it. It's part of our tradition. Let it be the official motto with 'side by Side' being our unofficial motto ( or in Latin 'pars per pars' o_O o_O

[He twists Brian's ear]

Stwike him centurion vewwy wuffly

Why change something that has been part of our history since day nought?

I am a traditionalist. I'd agree with you if Collingwood was founded by the Romans. Or if the great Jock McHale used to rev up his Machine Team with stirring renditions of Latin (think Dead Poet's Society). Of if ear busting chants "Floreat Pica" once filled the grandstands of Victoria Park in their heyday.

Maybe there is some solid foundation of tradition that our use of a Latin motto is based on? Happy to be told. Otherwise I feel that it's like somebody went out and bought some bight shiny urn from the local oppe shoppe and turned it into a family heirloom.

I feel like I'm the seventh generation looking at this dusty piece of kitch, and wondering if it ever had any legitimate historical significance? Or whether my forebearer simply picked it up from his local Op Shop

Would you know what the term "cakewalk" meant if you weren't a Collingwood supporter? Maybe we should change that too since its not a commmonly used word.

Rubbish! It's a very commonly used word, I've heard it heaps over the last three seasons. :)

'Cakewalk' was once part of the common lexicon. Actually, I know first hand that it was a commonly used term as recently as the 70's. Eventhough we don't use the term today outside of our club song, it has a historical significance. The song that it is in has huge historical significance. 'Cakewalk' stays.

But - to my knowledge - the good folk of Collingwood never conversed in Latin.

Tradition is everything at this Club,

Agreed. I suspect that 'Floreat Pica' was created at a time when our club had no tradition. They tried to manufacture something. Our club now has a solid base of legitimate tradition upon which to draw upon. Fake traditions like this (if that is what it is - happy to be educated otherwise) are no longer required.

that's why we fight so hard when it comes to keeping the guernsey Black and White stripes when everybody else has to change theirs.

Totally agreed, the stripes should not be changed. I was very disappointed when the AFL got rid of the old goal umpire uniforms (still am, I should move on)

Cant get rid of it my tattoo has the magpie emblem with floreat pica on top and side by side down the bottom

They get rid of it, and I'll go on a rampage, I'm not even joking.

Same boat as you, have a tatt of a Magpie hanging off the 'T' on my Floreat Pica tattoo. I remember a few years back getting Pie fans' opinions on this, and ended up going with someone's design from our board.

^ That's funny MMD. :)

I have a Greek Orthodox background and everytime life forces me to church (wedding-funeral-baptism) I suffer through an hour of sermon in ancient Greek. I have no f&^%ing idea what the priest and his men are singing, just like I have no clue what Floreat Pica means. It's a great way to alienate your audience. :)

^ That's funny MMD. :)

I have a Greek Orthodox background and everytime life forces me to church (wedding-funeral-baptism) I suffer through an hour of sermon in ancient Greek. I have no f&^%ing idea what the priest and his men are singing, just like I have no clue what Floreat Pica means. It's a great way to alienate your audience. :)

I went to a Greek wedding a few weeks ago. It was an absolute hoot. The dancing was a heap of fun - after downing half a dozen ouzos. Alas, no plate smashing but.

Whilst I'm against the whole Floreat Pica thing, I'm not suggesting we liquid paper it (or tattoo remove it) out of existence. I'm just suggesting, like, when our club President writes to us, he speaks a language I understand, like English. I mean, what's wrong with "Go Pies!" ? That's what most of us seem to use.

I can walk up to some random bloke on the street wearing Collingwood gear and fistpump "Go Pies!". We instantly have a connection. I then ask "Mind if I date your daughter mate?". His answer every time: "Sure, no worries mate, go right ahead, show her a good time".

Now if I walk up to some random bloke wearing Collingwood gear and yell at him "Floreat Pica!! - mind if I date your daughter?" Well, I suspect the primal response might be a little different. Anyone tried it?

Sic gorgiamus allos subjectatos nunc
ipsa scientia potestas est