nut

Make him Captain now. He has got the attributes that our other players need more of.

MONGREL.

GUTS.

Desperation.

Never say Die.

ah yeah SKILL

Make him Captain now. He has got the attributes that our other players need more of.

MONGREL.

GUTS.

Desperation.

Never say Die.

Maaate, he was awesome tonight and has been all season. but the guy is a kid and can't be captain.

I loved to way he kept going all nigt with Edwards and King....

Next Captain Bowden... Kane, sorry time is up mate....

Nope.

A Captain isn't our best player week-in and week-out, he's the bloke who can lift our players on-field when the shit comes down. He's the bloke who can shift a mindset from his own gob and win us a game.

Foley is a future leader, but don't labour our currently best player with the burden of leadership just yet. let the kid grow, learn and naturally take the reigns when he's ready and the team's ready.

Bowden should have been captain when Johnson was appointed, but was coming back from a mixed few years of form. Cogs should have been Captain next.

Johnson shoud stand down next year and concentrate on football. Foley is the real deal. A natural born leader on the park. Someone who plays hard.

Next Captain Bowden... Kane, sorry time is up mate....
sorry Bruno ... wrong call

The stench of mediocrity and failure is written all over our older players ... its been the difference between winning and losing all year . The kids have stood tall all year , it`s the experienced that have let us down

Annoint a kid with broad shoulders ... ASAP ! Not saying that its necessarily Foley ... but i reckon we have to make a bold call and give it to a young bloke , help usher in the next generation a bit quicker

he's the bloke who can lift our players on-field when the shit comes down. He's the bloke who can shift a mindset from his own gob and win us a game.

Mate the game I watched, If Folley wasn't on the ground OUR mindset would have been like the last two matches and we would have been flogged AGAIN. What more do you WANT. He set the seen with his clearances and if players like bigger players like Deliedio, Tivendale, Newman(I'm A fan), Pettifer, Shulz, Bowden, etc...... played with Foley's intensity we would have won by 10 goals.

sorry Bruno ... wrong call

The stench of mediocrity and failure is written all over our older players ... its been the difference between winning and losing all year . The kids have stood tall all year , it`s the experienced that have let us down

Annoint a kid with broad shoulders ... ASAP ! Not saying that its necessarily Foley ... but i reckon we have to make a bold call and give it to a young bloke , help usher in the next generation a bit quicker

Who then??? PLease don't say Raines, Newman or delidio??? Bowden has the experience and leadership... you must be at least 26 + to be a captain. It's like being a 21 year old at work and supervising a group of 30 + year old... simply doesn't work sorry.

Watch the tape tonight, Bowden played a smart solid game.....I am sorry, but Kane hasn't impressed me for a long time...

Cause thats what a young player needs to distract him from playing football... the captaincy. This is just horseshit and its people that have reactions like this that are the problem with our football club. The kid looks very promising but this time last year he was barely even in the first team and now on the back of a couple of good performances we're supposed to make him captain? if he does it for the next 3-5 years then yes great by then he'll have the experience and maturity to deal with it and offer leadership to the group, at the moment just let him get on with his footy.

Agree 110%

Who then??? PLease don't say Raines, Newman or delidio??? Bowden has the experience and leadership... you must be at least 26 + to be a captain. It's like being a 21 year old at work and supervising a group of 30 + year old... simply doesn't work sorry.
You don`t have to be 26 to be a captain

Judd and Cousins for a start .

... and if the "older" players got the shits because a kid was appointed over them then just show them the door

I`d rather a 21 year old that is hard and tough and possesses genuine leadership qualities than a limp wristed 30 year old whose who has never truelly cut it ... who has been routinely part of 100 point floggings year after year .. Bowden is and has been a good footballer , but its the lack of intestinal fortitude in those experinced players that have seen us be the worst performed club in the AFL in the last 20 years

Why do you think they gave it to Johnson in the first place ? Because no-one else .. Gaspar , Richo , Bowden ... none of them have ever really put thier hand up before , so Johnson gets it by default .

Forget about the old guard FFS ... We know where the future lies

Why do you think they gave it to Johnson in the first place ? Because no-one else .. Gaspar , Richo , Bowden ... none of them have ever really put thier hand up before , so Johnson gets it by default .

Forget about the old guard FFS ... We know where the future lies[/quote]

Sorry... strongly disagree with you... a cpatain is a leader... a leader is a mentor.. a mentor is someone people look up to.. would you look up to Foley, Delidio, Raines, Tambling, Newman???? None of them are ready...

They all just good solid playing kids... in 3-4 years... yes, but not now....

Captain is not the best player, it's the player that can inlfuence and teach...

Foley has been our most consistently good player this year, but Lids has been our best. He has had some ordinary games (been flogged twice this year by Ling), but he has also been good in the others. I think most on this board judge Lids against a different standard to most of the other players and expect him to do something extrordinary every time he gets the ball. I'd give Lids the captaincy in a heartbeat.

Forget about the old guard FFS ... We know where the future lies

Sorry... strongly disagree with you... a cpatain is a leader... a leader is a mentor.. a mentor is someone people look up to.. would you look up to Foley, Delidio, Raines, Tambling, Newman???? None of them are ready...

They all just good solid playing kids... in 3-4 years... yes, but not now....

Captain is not the best player, it's the player that can inlfuence and teach...[/QUOTE]

....and does johnson inspire you? does he give leadershp on the ground? is he a mentor.

he has had the oppurtunity for two years now and he has shown enough leadership as a wet towel.

whatever we do,

do not make FOLEY CAPTAIN

i had a bet with mates that this bloke would win our B&F at the start of the year

love the way he goes about everything and knew from the word go he had the guts and ticker to be a star

but we dont want the pressure of captain put on him

give it to someone like bowden or newman at the end of the year

let them have it for a few years

then give it to foley