kaij10

Before everyone gets carried away. Let me ask you a question. Did you really think Adelaide was going to win the flag this year? The stats are all there. We haven't beaten a top 4 team all year (beating Pies in round one was not beating a team in the top 4 for me). Yes it is dissapointing to go out in such a way, but hey such is life. Better lose now them make a Grand Final and lose to a team like the Saints which would have been reality if we had made it to the last day in September. 2010 is a massive season for the Crows. We got a defense and forward line sorted. Midfield can improve slightly but that will come with age and we saw in the later part of the season that it got better. These finals loses and wins will only help gain experience and make our team wiser. One thing we need is a B+ to A Grade ruck.

I'm sick of this "did you really expect us to win the flag" as an excuse for poor finals performances. Its Richmond like thinking.

Well said once we got into the finals in great form playing a team out of form and missing key players and a 6 day break compared to our 8 31 pts up Collingwood did not look like kicking a goal in the first half

I reckon I may have used this excuse myself in the beginning but after 5 years its starting to wear abit thin.

In 1993 when i was 12 or 13 i was happy we got to the preliminary final and thought it would happen next year. But it didn't and this group may not go anywhere next year, but saying this year we were close enough in good enough is only an excuse to fail next time. Next year will only become the same excuse, and then the year after.

Why and how did we lose have to be worked out and eliminated from our schema

So what if no one expected us to finish in the top 4. Guess what, we did and we wasted another opportunity. Opportunities like that don’t come around every day. I am pissed we lost – not happy we got to a semi final.

I'm sick of this "did you really expect us to win the flag" as an excuse for poor finals performances. Its Richmond like thinking.

:thumbsu:

I've never seen a player say how great it was to come fifth, or seventh, or second. We should have won last night and there need to be some hard questions directed at the players and staff for last night's debacle.

I didn't expect us to win in 1997 and 1998 either.
I didn't think we'd win the flag - but I expected us to win last night and thought we were going to in the first half but we just stopped in the 3rd quarter - we were VERY ordinary. It wasn't our young guys letting us down - our veterans were ordinary - somethings they did, I'd expect the young guys to go due to inexperience - and that 50 metre Goodwin gave away to give Collingwood their first goal, I don't think I've ever screamed so loudly, someone with his experience should NOT give away 50's like that!

You aren't seriously calling that a "poor finals performance" are you???? Our boys (most of them) gave that everything they had last night. Up by a lot because they gave it everything so as not to get off to our customary slow start, played in 30 degree heat, losing Knights, Pies being a quality opponent fought their way ahead and we didn't give up, fought our way back only to lose it essentially on the final kick of the night??? It was a bloody fantastic game - exciting, infuriating, exciting, shattering. Every possible gamut in the range of footy emotions. Their aint NO way that was a poor finals performance! (Mistakes and all - it's finals, that's what happens).

We were NEVER expected to win the flag, and those that thought we just might, were delusional.

You aren't seriously calling that a "poor finals performance" are you???? Our boys (most of them) gave that everything they had last night. Up by a lot because they gave it everything so as not to get off to our customary slow start, played in 30 degree heat, losing Knights, Pies being a quality opponent fought their way ahead and we didn't give up, fought our way back only to lose it essentially on the final kick of the night??? It was a bloody fantastic game - exciting, infuriating, exciting, shattering. Every possible gamut in the range of footy emotions. Their aint NO way that was a poor finals performance! (Mistakes and all - it's finals, that's what happens).

We were NEVER expected to win the flag, and those that thought we just might, were delusional.

So you were satisfied with this season Jenny? Congratulations. As i said, I am pissed we lost a chance at a premiership, not happy we made a semi final.

All these feelings come out after a horrid last-minute loss like last night.

People need to realise that you are not a legitimate contender for a Premiership unless you finish in the Top 4. And if anyone starts on the "1997/98" bulldust then they should just leave now. The finals system is different now.

If we play well enough throughout the year to finish Top 4 then we are good enough. We were 1W 8L against the Top 4 this year. I know it hurts now, because we were a minute from a Prelim, but fortune usually favours the Top 4.

We aren't the first 5th placed team to nearly make a Prelim. And we won't be the last.

At the end of 2010 minor round if we don't make the Top 4 it will be a failure. As of now, 2009 was so far from a failure it's ridiculous. People need to wake up.

So you were satisfied with this season Jenny? Congratulations. As i said, I am pissed we lost a chance at a premiership, not happy we made a semi final.

How ridiculous. The boys NEVER have a chance of succeeding in your eyes. Only a rare, once in a long time moment will they ever fulfill your criteria. :rolleyes:

Look at how many Clubs have won the premiership in the last 50 years and then tell me how it is you expect our team to win one EVERY year.

How ridiculous. The boys NEVER have a chance of succeeding in your eyes. Only a rare, once in a long time moment will they ever fulfill your criteria. :rolleyes:

Look at how many Clubs have won the premiership in the last 50 years and then tell me how it is you expect our team to win one EVERY year.

Get stuffed. If it was the other way round and we came from 31 points up with Collingwood having complete domination of the game only to lose by a kick – that would have been fitting for how the season has gone. But it wasn’t, we had complete domination and we were 31 points up during the second quarter. I know 31 points is not a winning lead but that 31 point should have much, much more with how much domination we had.

You are unbelievable. Like some people like to chuck that old adage out there – I’m glad you’re not running this club or we would be mediocre forever.

I reckon I may have used this excuse myself in the beginning but after 5 years its starting to wear abit thin.

It's a bit different this year though. We have a potent forward line with some young and exciting goal kickers, a strong defence, which we've had for a while now, and a young and talented midfield.

Our list is not only capable of reaching the finals (and getting to the semi's) atm but actually has alot of scope for improvement, unlike other years.

I would be very disappointed if, in 3 years time, we haven't made a grand final. That's when our list will be very strong.

I believed you guys could have gone all the way. I thought of you guys as a smokey, and no one suspected it.

And last night, it was all going as planned... but for some reason, you lost your steam, and let Collingwood get on top.

Last night wasn't supposed to happen.

Good luck for the future anyway.

Yeah because on average teams win the flag once every 5 years or so don't they? Get with ****ing reality. You're following a competition where you will routinely go for years and years without a premiership, and there will be the cruelest of heartbreak again and again and again along the way until eventually you break through and finally snatch one. That is AFL football, that is why it's the most demanding sport in the world emotionally to play and follow.

What I'm sick of CaptainDangerfield, is your continued piling of praise on a rival coach in Malthouse who has delivered no flag to the Collingwood Football Club in 10 years of coaching. Neil Craig has been in charge for just 5, and we are in the middle of a complete rebuild. Accept that it's a long process and you can and WILL lose many, many finals that will rip your heart out, all in the pursuit of that occasional, elusive flag. Because if you don't, it won't matter who the hell you follow, you'll have the exact same thing to say at the end of each year that you do about the Crows right now. The grass isn't greener on the other side.

need to finish top 2 next year with two home finals to have best chance of flag when we are a non victorian team. i know we finished there in 2005/06 but we are a more complete side now then we were a few years ago.

People forget how young we are as a club. We will go through periods of dominance, just as we will go through periods of slump. Don't for a second think that we will always be "around the mark" just because we generally have been for 10 years. We will go through very low periods, and very high periods. We're in a period now where we are potentially bulding a side that could dominate the competition for a few years. It's a matter of taking the chance. This year was not that chance.

Well said once we got into the finals in great form playing a team out of form and missing key players and a 6 day break compared to our 8 31 pts up Collingwood did not look like kicking a goal in the first half
Ah, here they are again turning up in this thread to spread negativity and doom with gusto ... captaindanger, bitdman and crwos98 ... like only they know how.

I do wish they'd f'off to "support" another team and drag them down instead.

From their posts, anyone could think they were damn media entities. Rooch clones.

some people are posting on pissed off emotion from last night.. have a couple of good nights sleep and come back wednesday.

it was brilliant the way our season form turned around after the gabba game. and i was devo as much as anyone else last night after the loss, right up there with 93. i didnt move on the couch til about 1130 and still woke up hurting.

but, IMO this yr wasnt as bad that some people are suggesting (remember every yr, 15 teams "fail" in the raw sense). absolutely gutting yes, but in a few days we'll have all calmed down and the reality will sink in that this yr we didnt win enough games to get into the top 4. and as history shows, top 4 is the way to go to finish deep in september.

not finishing top 4 next yr however, at this point in time, i would say is definitely underachieving. i only hope that for once all craigys talk about "learning" is actually true after this game, and the new brigade are hungrier than ever in 2010. time will tell.

Good post. Harsh judgment is warranted, surely you at least expected a Prelim after the last half of your season.

No one wants to be Richmondesque :p

Good post. Harsh judgment is warranted, surely you at least expected a Prelim after the last half of your season.

No one wants to be Richmondesque :p

Nope. Expected at the start of the pre season for us to finish 5th and get knocked out in a semi final which is exactly what happened. Next year I'm expecting a preliminary final at worst, with a very realistic chance of a GF berth.

Ah, here they are again turning up in this thread to spread negativity and doom with gusto ... captaindanger, bitdman and crwos98 ... like only they know how.

I do wish they'd f'off to "support" another team and drag them down instead.

From their posts, anyone could think they were damn media entities. Rooch clones.

yep i'm with you mate, all this nasty negativity sucks. we lost another final against an evenly matched team. yep, happy days.