deliberate!!

I realize some people can't stand Caro Wilson and/or Hutchy but last night on 'Footy Confidential' it was interesting when the panel was talking about the VFL Grand Final and after praising Geelong Caro wanted to talk about JON and the recruiting down at Richmond (and she was going to suggest it was crap....you could sense it), when Hutchy decided to talk over Caro and say something like 'No Richmond, we're not talking about Richmond'.

I think Hutchy is still pissed at Caro after she nailed him about his connections to Butters. Fair enough it was going to be a "let's piss in Geelong's pocket" type of night, but 2 teams played in the VFL Grand Final, Hutchy you moron.

Both these journos are pains in the butt, but of the 2 of them.....I'd never smack a woman! lol

**Note to the JON Lovers here: It's not just us so called "football know-nothings" here who think JON is a dud & waste of time. Independent journos are picking up on it now!

Mountain out of a molehill.

They wanted to talk about Geelong because of the implications on the senior team and the AFL grandfinal.

They don't discuss the WAFL/SANFL finals.

If you watch it again....You'll see Caro about to unleash on the Tigers Recruiting Department...
And watch Caro's face when she comes back from the ad.....she was pissed and distant...

There was 2 things going on there...
Caro had to shut up cause Hutchy was pissed at her, permanently, and isn't it his show?
And Caro was about to give it to the RFC.

If you think it is a mountain out of a mole hill, I'll bet you she unloads on us about this issue in an up coming newspaper article BECAUSE Hutchy, the sour boss of the show shut her up.

It's not a mountain out of a mole hill....it pertains to our club....

Watch it again.

They would talk about the WAFL/SANFL if their was an AFL drafted player languishing in the Reserves.....and not even being good enough for that level.

If you watch it again....You'll see Caro about to unleash on the Tigers Recruiting Department...
And watch Caro's face when she comes back from the ad.....she was pissed and distant...

There was 2 things going on there...
Caro had to shut up cause Hutchy was pissed at her, permanently, and isn't it his show?
And Caro was about to give it to the RFC.

If you think it is a mountain out of a mole hill, I'll bet you she unloads on us about this issue in an up coming newspaper article BECAUSE Hutchy, the sour boss of the show shut her up.

It's not a mountain out of a mole hill....it pertains to our club....

Watch it again.

They would talk about the WAFL/SANFL if their was an AFL drafted player languishing in the Reserves.....and not even being good enough for that level.
I don't believe it, I agree 100% with deliberate!!!!:thumbsu::thumbsu:

Carro was cut short big time.

Hutchy hates to be shown up and Carro shows him up all the time. He seems to feel threatened by her knowledge and tries to big note himself all the time as if he is some football demi-god.

On the radio yesterday she had a dip at JON and on a few others (Hughes Schulz and Meyer).

She said that they are all way to soft for the big time and need to learn to really have a dip instead of being so soft.

Also after the game Bondy on 3AW had a fair old crack at JON and really emphasised the fact that he was such a high draft pick and so far has shown nothing at all to suggest that he will make it.

I would love to be able to defend JON but on the games that I have seen for Coburg this year I can not see him ever making it at AFL level short of having a heart transplant. He has real natural ability but does not know how to use it, he seems to play as if he doesn't want to be touched and panics when ever anyone gets near him.

I realize some people can't stand Caro Wilson and/or Hutchy but last night on 'Footy Confidential' it was interesting when the panel was talking about the VFL Grand Final and after praising Geelong Caro wanted to talk about JON and the recruiting down at Richmond (and she was going to suggest it was crap....you could sense it), when Hutchy decided to talk over Caro and say something like 'No Richmond, we're not talking about Richmond'.

I think Hutchy is still pissed at Caro after she nailed him about his connections to Butters. Fair enough it was going to be a "let's piss in Geelong's pocket" type of night, but 2 teams played in the VFL Grand Final, Hutchy you moron.

Both these journos are pains in the butt, but of the 2 of them.....I'd never smack a woman! lol

**Note to the JON Lovers here: It's not just us so called "football know-nothings" here who think JON is a dud & waste of time. Independent journos are picking up on it now!

which independent journos?

Hutchy's a di**, and his stories are always sh**. Who else turns off the footy show when Hutchy comes on? All that segment is is 10 minutes of Hutchy shitting on about the most boring story in afl, hutchy, we care about footy, not about rod butterss and grant thomas. We don't wanna hear about them three weeks running. In short, you're annoying, and Caro goes for the Tiges, so go caro

agreed, i cant stand the w***er.. i would love to kick him in the head real hard:D

who basically are independent journos that are just like us, football know-nothings, but have to make it look like they really know something. ;)

If you are taking the word of these "independent Journos" then you have to worry about your credability.

They come out at the start of the yearand all say Kangaroos and Collingwood are bottom 4 teams. Melbourne is a top 4 team. They are as reactionary as the rest of us, if not more so to stir up trouble.

If JON comes out in 2 years and tears the league apart they will be the first to jump on the bandwangon. Just as they all jumped on Collingwood and the Roos this year.

If you are taking the word of these "independent Journos" then you have to worry about your credability.

They come out at the start of the yearand all say Kangaroos and Collingwood are bottom 4 teams. Melbourne is a top 4 team. They are as reactionary as the rest of us, if not more so to stir up trouble.

If JON comes out in 2 years and tears the league apart they will be the first to jump on the bandwangon. Just as they all jumped on Collingwood and the Roos this year.

Should have said 'media' instead of 'independent Journos' as a comparison to us.
(I know...no Journo is actually 'independent'.....bad choice of phrase)
There...happy?

Calcium.....I don't have to worry about credibility.....we're on a friggin net board...
And if you worry about credibility on an online footy board,
then you're a deluded tosser...

Cause I don't know you, and I don't give 2 hoots about your credibility (whatever that is?...lol)
So I expect the same from you...

My Point was....we are not in the media, and a part of the posters here think JON is a waste of space....and now the media is saying the same....
(Again, see Tiger67's post on the thread.....and if you want to deny it's happening in the media now.....there is a tooth fairy!!)

Cheers

Should have said 'media' instead of 'independent Journos' as a comparison to us.
There...happy?

Calcium.....I don't have to worry about credibility.....we're on a friggin net board...

Cause I don't know you, and I don't give 2 hoots about your credibility (whatever that is?...lol)

My Point was....we are not in the media, and a part of the posters here think JON is a waste of space....and now the media is saying the same....
(Again, see Tiger67's post on the thread.....and if you want to deny it's happening in the media now.....there is a tooth fairy!!)

Cheers

Yeah and im saying the media have about as much chance of predicting the future as us. The media are the biggest turn coats of all time. They will praise Didak one week then jump on his back the next. They cant believe Deledio went no.1 after the geelong game after the essendon and collingwood games the kid is a superstar. Kangaroos have no future, they make the prelim and have some the countries most talented kids.

Richmond bashing has been a media favourite for a long time. They love to kick us while we are down. Usually giving a very onesided perspective.

Plenty of high draft picks take timer to mature, especially when like JON they have had a lot of injuries. Im not saying he will make it, but he has the tools to work with, im just saying give the Kid a chance he is only 19 and hasnt even done an AFL preseason.

but he has the tools to work with, im just saying give the Kid a chance he is only 19 and hasnt even done an AFL preseason.

And played all his junior days on wide, sandy grounds, often with nice accomodating weather. He MUST have shown something to be rated.

Has had a tough start, so in 2 years, at the old age of 22, I think he should at least be given that amount of time to see if he can develop into an AFL player. And THEN talk about whether he can be a top 5 B&F type, in hopefully a top 4 side.

At 19, give me a break.

Our priority is obviously to get the best young players going around...but not at any cost. Of equal importance, we should be targetting the best recruitERS. Brisbane seem pretty good at it, as do Port..even gotta begrudgingly give Pies some credit here.

Miller, whilst no longer head of recruiting, is still dining out on the Wayne Carey "fluke" - that's 18 years ago! Too often fools gold since.

Greg Miller is/was the Graham Teasdale of recruiting. (apologies to Graham and family).
Obviously luck is a significant factor but it's just too coincidental that we rarely snap up a good high draft pick, never mind a late bargain.

Our priority is obviously to get the best young players going around...but not at any cost. Of equal importance, we should be targetting the best recruitERS. Brisbane seem pretty good at it, as do Port..even gotta begrudgingly give Pies some credit here.

Miller, whilst no longer head of recruiting, is still dining out on the Wayne Carey "fluke" - that's 18 years ago! Too often fools gold since.

Greg Miller is/was the Graham Teasdale of recruiting. (apologies to Graham and family).
Obviously luck is a significant factor but it's just too coincidental that we rarely snap up a good high draft pick, never mind a late bargain.

Pretty spot on, still reckon Miller is not a bad list manager in that he has cleared a lot of duds and done some astute trading for Simmonds and Polak(failed Solomon deal excepted).

I agree with Deliberate, Carro not only singled out JON, but also Hughes. Started to say how JON was pick 8 in 2005 and thats when Hutchy talked over her.

He was doing that all last year, and the start of this year before he got the boot from AW.

I once e-mailed them about it and naturally no reply. It used to piss me off sooooooo much when she wanted to talk Tiges and that goose used to shut her down:(

Anyway, Hutchys bullying tactics over Carro no doubt saved JON, Hughes and the Tiges recuiting dept a nice end of season spray.

Its not recruiting thats the problem its Development. Guys like Hughes, JON and Meyer clearly have talent to be very good footballers. They need to be developed. Meyer and Hughes obviously need help with making sure they do extra training sessions and building up their body. JON needs help with decision making.

Decision making would be one of the hardest things to develop, as it is mostly an instinctive thing. But agree that they all have showed something

There...happy?

Cheers

So what if some journos come out and bag players - that's what they do! Play well and you are great; Play poorly and you are crap. Most have little imagination, and probably look at these boards to get a feel for the attitude of the fans, and then sprout it out as if it's fact. In a funny sort of way, they have probably seen how people like you have gone feral on JON, and are recycling it back to the general community, so claiming that journos are backing your argument is bizarre.

Of course JON will be criticised for his poor displays in recent weeks, the media exposure becomes more intense in finals. I'm not saying he should escape criticism - if you play then you are fair game. But there is a big difference between saying he has struggled, and then going to the extreem and saying he is a hack and will never make it. His saving graces have been pointed out several times already and i wont repeat them, but i wish people will take everything into consideration before they declare that particular players are doomed.

Fair dinkum, you take a reasonable aproach on these boards about a player under the gun, and people call you "JON-lover" and make cheap shots.

And someone said JON needs a heart transplant - well he shows good courage going back for marks, so its hardly his major problem.

Wake up people. Guys like schulz have been given several years to prove themselves, so stop bitching and give JON at least 2 more years before you send him to the wreckers.

Independent, yes. Unbiased? Well, that's another matter entirely. :)

P.S. I'm not a JON lover. I'm on the fence and waiting two years for the final verdict. Has some ability, but looks shaky and low on confidence right now. Give him time to mature.

I wonder how many of the same people calling for JON to be cut are also whinging on the threads about Rodan being let go? Both have talent. Both had no preseasons, both were going backwards in the VFL week by week as their confidence drained out of them with every match.

Rodan....showed glimpses - and yet we still couldn't get the most out of him (OUR FAULT)
Oakley-Nichols.....is a dud (HIS FAULT)

People always forget that this isn't the under 12's in some far flung country league.
This is the ELITE level of Australian Rules Football.

Show SOMETHING or you deserve to go.
Turn over the kids till someone 'takes' at this level.
This is done in all ELITE sporting endevours.

AFL football is not a ****ing nursery or the stock market where we have the time to speculate. Other young players who have stepped up, grow old waiting for these duds to come good......and they don't. JON's shown us NOTHING. We haven't got the time to give JON 5 years, just to be proven wrong.

Wake up supporters!!

Isn't it called Footy Classified?