Forward Trades

• Thread starter Thread starter Cattas_21

phatandphreaky said:
A lot of supporters still see as a bunch of young and ordinary players who have a dip, and have just been very lucky this year.

Guess it takes some sustained good form to change opinions.

Are you talking forwards or the whole team?, to be honest 3 of the forwards (guess who :rolleyes: ) are better than just ordinary.

Small forwards dont win you grand finals though, and therein lies the problem

nananana catman said:
It's quite ironic how we "dont have a forward line" yet can be playing off in a preliminary final. Lets make our defence even stronger so we only concede 5 goals a game, surely we cant lose then :D

We tried that in hte late 80s with Malarky and Nankervis and co

We had a very good backline but even 8 goals would beat us

We really did have very little in the forward line back then.

I agree, we need to strengthen up our forward line.

Whilst we're on the subject of potential 'forward trades' i heard a rumour today, from not a particularly realiable source (i'll give you that) that Geelong are interested in acquiring the services of former Demon and Docker, Troy Simmonds.

Personally, i don't think much of him, but i suppose he could take a few grabs.

Shaitan said:
Whilst we're on the subject of potential 'forward trades' i heard a rumour today, from not a particularly realiable source (i'll give you that) that Geelong are interested in acquiring the services of former Demon and Docker, Troy Simmonds.

Personally, i don't think much of him, but i suppose he could take a few grabs.
anyone who can kick 5 goals on scarlett is worth a look :P, proves if you can deliver it to him right he could be good.

nananana catman said:
anyone who can kick 5 goals on scarlett is worth a look :P, proves if you can deliver it to him right he could be good.

This is true, but Matthew got carved up a few times at the start of the season.

There are a few at the other WA Club that wouldnt be too bad. Ashley Hansen and Paul Johnson I think are players to look at. For Paul, I wouldnt think we would have to give up too much at all. For Ash, maybe a little bit more. I am sure we would be able to pick up a good young forward this trade/draft period!!

yeah aparently paul johnson wants to come back to victoria. he wouldn't be a bad pick up. only cheaply though
Ashley hansen just signed a deal so he won't be going anywhere

Paul Johnson hasn't been able to get a kick in the WAFL.

Don't think he'd be worthy of a spot on our list.

Tweak Talent said:
yeah aparently paul johnson wants to come back to victoria. he wouldn't be a bad pick up. only cheaply though
Ashley hansen just signed a deal so he won't be going anywhere

Paul Johnson is a hack.

West Coast would ask too much for Hansen.

Shaitan said:
Paul Johnson is a hack.
Shaitan , WHY?. What is hackish about him.Is it metal or physical?
No doubt he played very little senior footy but as I believe he had his fair share of injuries, has a fair amout of competition for a spot and might be to the point where he has lost confidence.I dont know enough about PJ but his situation sounds very similar to Koolouritis.Early pick,then Injuries, no chances and loss of form- we draft him suddenly he gets fit, gets a chance, gets confidence from playing with better players and is now playing finals.

Shaitan said:
West Coast would ask too much for Hansen.

WC are probably thinking that they heavy in tall talent and that 2 or 3 of them are marketable to try to top up other areas of their list.
Hansen and Johnson would be down the list on Gardiner,Cox,Lynch, Seaby and McDougall.How many can they keep happy?

Paul Johnson was grossly overrated as a junior simply because he was much bigger and stronger than everyone else in the under 18's. He was built like a man at the age of 16.

Since going to the Eagles he has had some injuries, but even when fit has barely managed to get a kick in the WAFL. Has looked out of his depth in that league, which is pretty damn weak.

Turbocat said:
WC are probably thinking that they heavy in tall talent and that 2 or 3 of them are marketable to try to top up other areas of their list.
Hansen and Johnson would be down the list on Gardiner,Cox,Lynch, Seaby and McDougall.How many can they keep happy?

Don't think Shaitan was pointing out Hansen would be off limits, just the fact that their asking price would be too much for us to please. Having a list full of good young talls doesn't mean they can't ask for a fair bit in return.

I reckon we should have a crack at simmonds...prolly wouldnt take much to get him..i know he isnt the best forward goin around but at least he'll be an extra option up there! should try to con them into trading him to us for spriggs and chambers

I will give you Whitnall for Spriggs / 3rd round pick

Is this that bad of a risk. What a 3rd round pick, and what value does Spriggs have anymore, you seem to have an abundance of midfielders.

Any trade like this is simply a calculated risk, not being, smart or smug, all depends on what (potential) you guys think you can reignite in the big man.

Now the smug stuff-

Pre season just place a parma or big mac on the end of a rope drive it around on the back of a car and let him chase it.

Cattas_21 said:
how about ty zantuck? hes proved that he can be a half decent player! he can play up forward or in defence

On field its not a bad suggestion.Asked to play as a tall when he isnt,released to play as a small tall like Archer could be handy.There are player that where much worse at there previous clubs than him that are in our side this week.Previously nom a Rising Star,hes got the body type that Thompson likes, BUB (built to bump).
The querry,Why is he leaving, if its clean slate and / or not enough support on field he could be a handy pickup.
The Sting,COST.Too much probably
If I had a choice Id rather go for Egan,hes in our system, we know him and hed bleed to get a chance to play along side Scarlo & Harlo in the Hoops in the big time.

Brad Ottens and Nathan Thompsons names have been thrown around in the draft and trading board and i was wondering what other people thought about these 2 players?

Personally i think either would suit geelong very well and if either is available i would jump at the chance of getting them.

Tweak Talent said:
Brad Ottens and Nathan Thompsons names have been thrown around in the draft and trading board and i was wondering what other people thought about these 2 players?

Personally i think either would suit geelong very well and if either is available i would jump at the chance of getting them.

Agreed, depending on the price of getting one of them.

In the hearld sun it says that Geelong has "apparently" (ill use that word because its the boston bun) offered a contract substansially more than the one he would recieve at richmond, wallace wants him to take a pay ct, and he is said to be seriously considering this.

What would you offer for Fevola? Attitude problems not going down too well with the administration at Princes Park.

With Whitnall, Spriggs and a 3rd round pick is laughable.

BluesPrez said:
What would you offer for Fevola? Attitude problems not going down too well with the administration at Princes Park.

With Whitnall, Spriggs and a 3rd round pick is laughable.

True on Whitnall.

Mind you, a second round and Spriggs would suffice, IMO.