cattas09

Hey guys,

With foxtel having 9 games a week live in season 2012 i am leaning towards getting it. I was just wondering if you think its value for money and does it offer much outside of sport ?

Cheers

Hey guys,

With foxtel having 9 games a week live in season 2012 i am leaning towards getting it. I was just wondering if you think its value for money and does it offer much outside of sport ?

Cheers

No.

Fox 8 is okay but the basic package is really ordinary. I have foxtel for sports and the handy IQ feature.

Movies, New TV Shows, Old TV Shows, Kids, Sport, Documentaries. It's got everything. Highly recommend it.

Best channels would be:

FOX8 - Simpsons, Family Guy, American Dad, KOTH, WWE, Two and a Half Men, and lots of other new shows.

FOX Sports - AFL, NRL, Cricket, Rugby, Soccer,

111 Hits - Old TV Shows. Also has How I Met Your Mother

Comedy Channel - South Park, Big Bang Theory, plus stand up comedians, etc.

Try and pick a package that incorporates all your interests. Platinum package is around $120 off the top of my head, which is every channel (excluding Main Event, RAI, Setanta, Adults Only ;)) . Flick through the online TV guide on the website and see if it has shows that you'd watch...

I only got it for the sport. I still mainly watch sport but I've taken a liking to MASH and have been IQ'ing all the episodes to watch at my convenience.

Otherwise I generally only watch Fox8 etc while having dinner or doing other things where you want something to keep you occupied

Movies, New TV Shows, Old TV Shows, Kids, Sport, Documentaries. It's got everything. Highly recommend it.

Best channels would be:

FOX8 - Simpsons, Family Guy, American Dad, KOTH, WWE, Two and a Half Men, and lots of other new shows.

FOX Sports - AFL, NRL, Cricket, Rugby, Soccer,

111 Hits - Old TV Shows. Also has How I Met Your Mother

Comedy Channel - South Park, Big Bang Theory, plus stand up comedians, etc.

The majority of that is available on FTA, not as often, but unless you do bugger all besides watch TV, it's hardly worth paying to have them repeated a few more times. It is not really value for money at all.

I've had it (Austar) since the start of the footy season, simply because I don't wanna miss any Carlton games or any other good matches. And yes, the sport is great. But, you have to fork out about $40 a month for the starter package firstly, before you can even add the sport on to it (an extra $20 or so). This is all in SD btw, access to the HD channels requires paying extra for the install as well as extra on the monthly payments.

The starter pack doesn't really have much of interest on it at all, most of it is filled with shows that are repeated ad nauseam on FTA. Nor are most of the channels on the other packages (we have them free as part of a deal atm). There is the odd doco that's worth watching and the music channels are alright sometimes, but that's about it.

I'd love it if you could just pay on a per channel basis rather than having to spend an extra $15-$20 here and there for their packages. If I had my own way I'd probably have the a few of the sports channels and nothing else.

If you want it more for TV than the sport, you're better of paying for a few extra GB's on your internet plan (which is a fraction of the cost of pay TV) and enjoying the wonderful world of torrents. ;)

As much as I think most of it is a complete waste of money tho, I won't be getting rid of it knowing I'll be able to see all 9 games live next year.

The best thing about Foxtel is being able to switch it on over brekky or something, and know something decent will be on. Couldn't live without it tbh.

We've had Foxtel at our house (Platinum package, all channels) since 2003, and 95% of the time struggle to find something decent to watch on it. I've lost count of the amount of times I've said "there's nothing on!" over the years. It has more advertising than FTA television as well, and many channels have the same episode of a show repeated 2-3 times a week. Outside of sport, the value for money isn't really there IMO.

I'd love it if you could just pay on a per channel basis rather than having to spend an extra $15-$20 here and there for their packages. If I had my own way I'd probably have the a few of the sports channels and nothing else.

This.

It's not as good as you think it'd be but I still couldn't live without it. No way I could go back to FTA only. I like the documentary channels which I haven't seen mentioned here yet like Discovery, Nat Geo and Crime.

I've looked into it a couple of times, but I basically wanted Fox Sports, The Lifestyle Channel and The Comedy Channel and that required a fairly premium package with a whole lot of crap I wasn't interested in.

Probably for the best. At the end of the day I probably only watch 2 or 3 hours a week because there's so little on that I'm interested in, which is probably good - I get stuff done in the evenings, I rent more movies, etc. It's not like I feel like I'm missing out, and that's the way I'd like to keep it - everyone who gets Fox seems to get addicted to it.

The only stuff I watch consistently on Pay TV is Super Rugby, and I prefer going to the pub for that anyway.

Foxtel probably isnt for you if your kids and kids and remotes confuse you

Otherwise, get it bro, the people who claim it only has the Simpsons have remote problems as well. There are an absurd number of things to watch, people need to understand there are channels outside of Fox 8 and probably get the full package

AFter a few years you will flick through all 100+ channels and think this is just rubbish there is nothing on. If you have never had it before you are probably better off just getting the sport package, you wont have time to watch much else with 9 afl games on anyway :o

Had it a few years ago for about a year. First month or so is great. There's so much to watch. Then it repeats.

I remember friends of ours said once you have it, you can't live without it. Was a pretty easy decision to ditch it.

If I was single, I'd probably look into it for the sport. But being married with a family there just isn't the time to sit down and watch every game of AFL, let alone cricket and basketball. I really only get to seriously watch one game per weekend (and in WA, games starting at midday pretty much eats up your entire day if you're on the couch... should move to Melbourne :p).

Got a call a couple of weeks ago from Foxtel but was in the car and they said they'd ring back. Will see if I can hammer out a really good deal if they do call back, otherwise, no loss. I watch everything I want to watch at my own convenience via other means.

Only have it for the sport + iQ. Also HD is worth the extra $10 a month - it might not seem like a worthwhile investment but for something like the EPL the quality increase is huge. Plus with the iQ HD box you get double the hard drive size (320GB, you should never run out) and you can also tape two shows at once while watching a third live (big plus :thumbsu:).

You know that thing they say about watching SD television on a HD TV... sort of like using standard unleaded petrol on a Lamborghini.

yeah forgot to mention the benefits of IQ

Its more than just extra channels now, with live pause/rewind and all the recording/series link features, its almost worth the price just being able to use your TV to its full potential

Docos are really underrated, people tend to think all docos are lions chasing zebras in the jungle or rhinos having sex. There are so many great reality TV docos following around people/groups of people in unique jobs

The sport is everything, basically if someone shits on a paddle and throws it you can find it on foxtel

Movies are great, just because you dont know the title of a movie doesnt mean its not good. With on demand, all the good recent movies are a click away

Entertainment, theres always something on to keep the mind busy. Give me Keeping up with the Kardashians over Ready Steady Cook anyday

yeah forgot to mention the benefits of IQ

Its more than just extra channels now, with live pause/rewind and all the recording/series link features, its almost worth the price just being able to use your TV to its full potential

Docos are really underrated, people tend to think all docos are lions chasing zebras in the jungle or rhinos having sex. There are so many great reality TV docos following around people/groups of people in unique jobs

The sport is everything, basically if someone shits on a paddle and throws it you can find it on foxtel

Movies are great, just because you dont know the title of a movie doesnt mean its not good. With on demand, all the good recent movies are a click away

Entertainment, theres always something on to keep the mind busy. Give me Keeping up with the Kardashians over Ready Steady Cook anyday

Do you work for Foxtel?
Very good promotion bro

I am definitaly looking at getting foxtel in a few months just specifically for the sports.

Have heard from a few mates that one of the best things about Foxtel is the IQ so might have to get on that.

I ordered it last week and it gets installed Next Friday.

I have been watching the entire England V India Test series on live streaming on my lap top and it was driving me mad. I want to choose which footy games that I watch, not have 7 and 10 decide for me. I want to watch cricket from overseas. I want to watch NBA, NFL, Premier League soccer, some Championship soccer. (I may get to see Doncaster Rovers on tele before they get relegated). I want to watch the Rugby World Cup, Super 14 Rugby, some Rugby league etc....

Then there is Showtime which has Dexter, True Blood and other stuff that I do not want to wait foron FTA.

I got HD and IQ because I figured I may as well have the benefits.

I need to have some discipline and not just watch bog diving or cheese rolling just because I have Foxtel, but I reckon I can get the balance right, by enjoying it enough to justify paying what I have to and spending time with the family doing dad, husband, brother, uncle type stuff.

The sports channels are worth their weight in gold. EPL, AFL, NBA, NFL and the MLB coverage in particular is exceptional. Fuel TV is great for shows like The Ultimate Fighter and other UFC products.

I don't have Setanta, but it televises a lot of European rugby and soccer so that's worth looking into.

Entertainment isn't so great, but I don't mind watching the odd HIMYM ep.

I used to work for foxtel so hopefully I can offer come insight. Agree with most that some shows do get quite repetetive/ad filled. No way would I pay what they are asking for. While I was working for them I had the platinum package with IQ plus another set top unit in another room all for $10 a month.

In terms of sports I beleive its essential. Live footy with ad free quarters is great not to mention all the other sports shown.

What I highly recommend people do is whether you are in contract or not (works better if you are out of contract) is give them a call, be put through to the retention department and tell them that your enjoying the foxtel but need to cut costs and am thinking about getting rid of the foxtel. The people in that departments main goal is to prevent you from disconnecting. They get obivously a base wage and then commisions on top that based on number of calls taken times number of 'saves'.

Where I am going with this is that they will offer you a better deal straight up. If its just money off your plan then they can offer up to around $32 off your monthly bill assuming the new price is the same or above the price of the basic channel. They may offer you $20 off for 3 months no contract or $32 off for 6 months on a contract. Both parties can end the call on a good note because all have benefited...apart from 'Foxtel' but who cares. Kim Williams doesnt need anymore money.

I used to work for foxtel so hopefully I can offer come insight. Agree with most that some shows do get quite repetetive/ad filled. No way would I pay what they are asking for. While I was working for them I had the platinum package with IQ plus another set top unit in another room all for $10 a month.

In terms of sports I beleive its essential. Live footy with ad free quarters is great not to mention all the other sports shown.

What I highly recommend people do is whether you are in contract or not (works better if you are out of contract) is give them a call, be put through to the retention department and tell them that your enjoying the foxtel but need to cut costs and am thinking about getting rid of the foxtel. The people in that departments main goal is to prevent you from disconnecting. They get obivously a base wage and then commisions on top that based on number of calls taken times number of 'saves'.

Where I am going with this is that they will offer you a better deal straight up. If its just money off your plan then they can offer up to around $32 off your monthly bill assuming the new price is the same or above the price of the basic channel. They may offer you $20 off for 3 months no contract or $32 off for 6 months on a contract. Both parties can end the call on a good note because all have benefited...apart from 'Foxtel' but who cares. Kim Williams doesnt need anymore money.

I can confirm this having renegotiated my package twice now after first threatening to disconnect.

I have IQ2, All HD channels + the basic SD package for around $70 a month.

The difference with HD and SD sport is far more noticeable than on FTA and IQ2 is a must.

The Hawks having a couple of delayed games on FTA this year has me cemented in continuing Foxtel for the foreseeable future.

Next season it will be essential.