Johnny_3

Read the Franklin V Kennedy Thread.
And just now the defence thread.

Interesting idea to bring bower in on Franklin.

So what do you think for matchups on
Williams
&
Franklin

I'd put Waite onto Franklin and O'hAilpin on Willo but put T-Bird on if Either is getting murdered

Franklin-Setanta.

Willo-I'd like to see Bower/Anderson get the job, but I doubt that will happen. Probably Thornton.
Just wondering i know that sentantas quick for his size but is he at franklin standard?

In a straight line Sentata's faster, it's on the turn or change of direction that worries me.

That's why I suggested Walker, but Waite is worth a try if we're going to play him at CHB all year.

but who have they got for fev

Been snooping around the Hawks Board and the two faves for the job on Fev are Zac Dawson and Stephen Gilham.

On the Hawks website the following stats are recorded:

Zac Dawson - 195cm 79 kgs
Stephen Gilham - 191cm 80kgs

BUT......

In the Record 07 Season Preview Guide, the following stats are recorded:

Zac Dawson - 195cm 93kgs
Stephen Gilham - 192cm 90kgs

Last year, Fev was recorded on the Carlton website as being:

191cm
100kgs

In the Record 07 Season Preview Guide he is recorded as:

191cm
98kgs

Overall, Dawson has stacked on 14kgs, Gilham 10kgs and Fev has shed 2kgs.

Very interesting.......

Read the Franklin V Kennedy Thread.
And just now the defence thread.

Interesting idea to bring bower in on Franklin.

Absolutely. I think Bower would be a sensational matchup. Bower is a natural defender, but also has height, pace and a heap of skill. Pretty sure Denis will give him a run. I would always play Bower in our defense. Surprised he didn't play V Dons. The changes I'm hoping for V Hawks:

Out: Saddington, Young
In: Bower, Edwards

That, would be some lineup. So Bower on Franklin. Thornton to close down Williams as he has done before. Setanta on Roughhead. Waite - try him in the midfield? Why not experiment. Jake Edwards as a fast leading KP forward. We just have so many more options this year. I can see our defense becoming a massive strength. How things have changed from the Thornton/Livo/Teague days. :)

I'd start Setanta on Franklin, play Waite on their CHF (Roughhead?) and have Thornton take Williams. Walker's another option for Franklin but i'd like Setanta to be given first crack.

I wouldn't be too worried about their forward line though. The midfield is where this game will be won. If we can perform well in the middle and the delivery to Fev is quality then he's going to have a day out.

...I wouldn't be too worried about their forward line though. The midfield is where this game will be won. If we can perform well in the middle and the delivery to Fev is quality then he's going to have a day out.

Correct. The midfield is where the focus should be. Our midfield started very well V Dons, but faded a bit. I'm sure Ratten and Bradley will be working on a few things this week. I was very impressed with Russell's game on Saturday. He looks a totally different player. Lots of confidence, and was actually creating play. Looks a natural midfielder. Perhaps they might try Grigg instead of Jackson. Gibbs should do better after getting over the first game. They might have Hodge and Mitchell, but we also have plenty of midfield talent for them to worry about. This should be a very interesting game. :)

Overall, Dawson has stacked on 14kgs, Gilham 10kgs and Fev has shed 2kgs.

Either the numbers are fudged, or both these guys, especially Zac are headed for trouble. Just ask Carlos.
You can't put that much weight onto a frame in that peiod of time and expect your legs to just carry it no worries - would not surprise me to see Hammys, calves or the dredded OP strike either of these two if the weight is correct. Also expect a drop in pace.

Given that its the NAB cup would Russell on Willims be worth a try. He reads the play well, is quick and strong, and may be a really good mid defender type.......just a thought.

Bower would be an interesting one for Franklin, wouldn't mind seeing him have a crack.

Given that its the NAB cup would Russell on Willims be worth a try. He reads the play well, is quick and strong, and may be a really good mid defender type.......just a thought.
I say leave Russell where he did well last week. He needs more of that winning feeling.

Fevola will be a massive worry for the Hawks. I don't believe they have anyone capable of going with him, and if Carlton decide to go tall in the F50, then this could be a real advantage for us.

After seeing what Fev can do vs the best and the worst of defenders over the last year, I doubt they'll put a young kid on him.

I reckon they will go with Rob Campbell on Fev.

After seeing what Fev can do vs the best and the worst of defenders over the last year, I doubt they'll put a young kid on him.

I reckon they will go with Rob Campbell on Fev.

Interesting choice that.
He'd have 4-5 in the first quarter if they made that move. With Brown now suspended, they might just have to throw Zac to the wolves.

Went to the Hawthorn v Melbourne match on Sunday evening. From what i saw, Franklin plays in a half forward flank style role. This is one of the reasons he is so dangerous - he is not only an excellent leading option, but his ability below his knees is second to none for a man of his height.

But fear not. Carlton are fortunate to be blessed with 3 very capable defenders who could all match up well with him. Those three are Waite, Walker, and O'Hailpin. Each could be used on Franklin depending on where the Hawks decide to play him.

Waite is the most probable and best option, as Franklin plays alot of the the game roaming outside the 50m. Waite will be extra comfortable with him here. Also, Waite will be more than capable of handling him when Franklin does venture deeper into attack. I also like playing Waite on Franlkin because young Buddy reckons he's pretty tough. Waite, as we know, isn't afraid of physical contact whatsoever, and whilst Franklin likes to act big and mean, Waite is big and mean. So, good match up there for us i think.

This leaves Walker to play on Williams. Walker is our best option to play on Williams. Young Bell who plays for Melbourne did an excellent job on Williams on the weekend, and i think Walker is a more polished and experienced defender than Bell, so hopefully we can expect Walker to not only subdue Williams but to also provide us with his customary dash and questionable disposal out of defence (he is getting better though).

O'Hailpin can then play on Boyle, who was the other Hawk tall on the weekend. Piece of cake for Bad Santa i think. He may also be required to pick up Cambell or Taylor if they rest forward in between ruck duties (Clarkson rotated them off the bench on Sunday though).

This leave Thornton to pick up any other tall the Hawks play forward. Possibly Muston, possibly Tom Murphy or Croad if they bring these two back from injury. Thornton can therefore provide us with heaps of rebound from our defence, especially if he plays on Muston.

Basically we have them reasonably well covered. Scotland might find young McGlynn more trouble than he expects, but it's not going to decide the match.

The game will be won and lost in the midfield. If we can get on top here, we will win and Fev will kick a massive bag against reasonably (very) weak defenders. Ackland and Cloke will have their hands full against Taylor and Cambell. Taylor is alot better than everyone thinks - he was actually Hawthorns number one ruckman on the weekend and was dominant in the clearances (against pretty poor opposition however).

Carn the Blues.

Interesting choice that.
He'd have 4-5 in the first quarter if they made that move. With Brown now suspended, they might just have to throw Zac to the wolves.

Campbell is actually pretty good.

It's a certainty that Fev will kick a few goals no matter who they put on him.

I just reckon that would be a good test for both players.

Chuck Setanta on Franklin or maybe Waite.

Throw Walker on to Williams.

If we can match up their forward line well as they don't have many options for e.g:

Setanta/Franklin
Walker/Williams
Thornton/Roughead

Who do they have in the forward line left? They've probably got Tim Boyle as next best option, play Waite on him and tell him to run forward at every single opportunity, maybe even sneak into the forward line and snag a couple of goals ala Adam Hunter.

Whitnall, Fevola, Fisher, Waite, Kennedy - that's a bit of a headache for the young Hawks isn't it? Yes it's a bit top heavy but they would be rotating and Waite will only be sneaking down there a couple of times a quarter or something.