Fringe Players

Gaz_Brownlow

Having finally been satisfied by an intense 4 quarter performance against Port i am starting to get very excited again, especially considering the 'new' depth that some of our illustrious fringe players are starting to display.

Lonergan was one person whom i thought would probably not be up to scratch (admittedly i hadn't checked out many VFL games last year), however he looks every bit the part of an AFL footballer. I even think he could be a bit special if he continues on in a dual role with a bit of exposure in the backline (CHB). Not sure what others think....i have been impressed, was impressed with Tomohawk for most of the first half of season and still think there is room for both. But Tomo definately needed the break...interesting to see that Lonergan has bulked up a fair bit too and even shows a bit more presence out there than when he first started.

Varcoe is starting to look like he belongs - thats two performances in a row now where he has had a bit more intensity around the football. He has slotted in very nicely to his role and i think this guy could well be a key ingredient with his forward 50 pressure. Again he is one guy that i had almost written off this season, but he has taken me totally by suprise with improved tenacity...

Byrnes...much maligned, but think he still can play
a role when needed. Think at this stage i prefer Varcoe, both need to improve disposal, but Byrnes is definately not the worst player going around. Think Bomber will stick with Varcoe though for the moment.

I still don't understand why Gamble was dropped, i would like to see a forward line of Gamble, Hawkins, Lonergan with Mooney, Chapman and Dog on the Half forward line, but is hard to see who he replaces. Definately think he's encouraging form in the 2's will force him back in at this stage.

Of course Prismall has been written about constantly - very Moloney like with that hair cut and build, great disposal and very hard at it. Would like to see him take on a few different roles to help fit in the team though. Maybe a half forward role would be beneficial to add to his potential - don't really see him as a defender.

Last but not least, and maybe not even fringe, but poor Blakey is showing some consistent performances. A couple of soft efforts against Carlton which he needs to be pulled up on, but it seems Bomber is quite happy to have him pulling more share of the ruck work...and he is rucking quite well. Just needs a little more presence, but is getting there. Like what i saw against Brogan and Lade, not sure of what others though of his game yesterday?

I think we have some extremely talented fringe players who are chomping at the bit to get a go, and its great to see them starting to perform. The fact Wojak was omitted is exciting...although i do hope Wojak forces his way back in as he adds a great deal to the side when firing on all cylinders. Varcoe, Gamble, Lonergan, Hawkins, Blake, Byrnes and Prismall would all be first team players at other clubs!!

Agree with most of what you say and there's no doubt that it's the bottom 6 that play a big part in winning a premiership - not just your stars.

Wojak was'nt so much dropped this week ....... more like "rested" as he had a few sore spots and the rest will do him good. In our best 22.

Varcoe ..... has offense to his play rather than getting a game for defensive pressure and tackling. Interesting reading "the mission" and the coaches chat to him in the rooms grand final day .....along the lines of " you were really good for us this year but as the season went on you just got tired". I think he's on the verge of playing some ripping footy.

Gamble ..... has been good and I suspect will play a role towards the finals but they need to manage him carefully given his history of injuries.

Byrnes .... the obvious one to miss from last year. I think Prismall and Varcoe will get the nod based on what I've seen (I could be wrong).

Alot to get excited about ..... but it's only the half way mark in our defence.

Great post!

Ill add Taylor who i consider to be a fringe player. Totally towelled up Treders (dirty bstd) and has got the job done and provided great rebound and support in the backline all year. He was beaten by Cloke but most of our players were beaten that day.

I think Byrnes will really struggle to get back into the team. Varcoe, Pris and Gamble all add more to the team.

Now that Ottens is back it has eased the load on Blake who obviously benefited on Sunday; running harder, made it to every contest and kicked a ripper.

Varcoe looked good when he moved up the ground. There was a particular passage of play where he took on two or three blokes in the first quarter and beat them. Very happy when he's in the team.

Prismall demonstrated why there is so much man love on this board yesterday; not much to be said.

Gamble's time will be next year. There is little chance he will find his way back into the line up but for injuries.

Great post!

Ill add Taylor who i consider to be a fringe player. Totally towelled up Treders (dirty bstd) and has got the job done and provided great rebound and support in the backline all year. He was beaten by Cloke but most of our players were beaten that day.

I think Byrnes will really struggle to get back into the team. Varcoe, Pris and Gamble all add more to the team.

Now that Ottens is back it has eased the load on Blake who obviously benefited on Sunday; running harder, made it to every contest and kicked a ripper.

Varcoe looked good when he moved up the ground. There was a particular passage of play where he took on two or three blokes in the first quarter and beat them. Very happy when he's in the team.

Prismall demonstrated why there is so much man love on this board yesterday; not much to be said.

Gamble's time will be next year. There is little chance he will find his way back into the line up but for injuries.

Not sure about Gamble, i think he is going to be forcing his way in ... and i reckon bomber will be in favour of having a leading target to assist Moons. Question is, who does he come in for? I really hope we keep in Lonergan (or Hawkins) as the big men have presence that should not be underated...but god do i miss Nathan Ablett, just can't help thinking that he could nail a spot in this side.

It is true that your only as good as your bottom 6, but geez, what a good bottom 6 we have. I can see Bomber really forcing the issue with Varcoe and Pris now, i think his masterplan all along was to play them for only 2/3ds of season (much like what he did with Jimmy Bartel in 2003). Looking at the team list, there is probably a regular spot for 3 of those 6 players...I am tipping Lonergan, Prismall and Varcoe and maybe Gamble coming in intermittently for Varcoe.

Varcoe looked so much more composed and at ease yesterday. He could be the goods.....

There is no way they will let Prismall go. He should be aware that in a few years he will be well and truly cemented into the side. He has been unlucky (if you could call it that) that nobody in front of him has been injured

Im still concerned with the tall forward situation...hawkins in the vfl and seemingly not up to scratch yet, 1 goal between Lonergan and Mooney. Mooney looked out of sorts big time failing to back up his previous game. surely this crap wont fly come finals.

It is a worry. So much ball supply and the big guys don't seem to figure greatly just on looking at the match summary goals and bests

On the other hand, the have a game style which is built around sharing the ball through the forward line and this means the big guys make a hard lead, mark the ball and then centre to a smaller forward or midfielder. They certainly contribute well to the victory but don't rack up goals like Brownshaw

It is a worry. So much ball supply and the big guys don't seem to figure greatly just on looking at the match summary goals and bests

On the other hand, the have a game style which is built around sharing the ball through the forward line and this means the big guys make a hard lead, mark the ball and then centre to a smaller forward or midfielder. They certainly contribute well to the victory but don't rack up goals like Brownshaw

...or Frankhead

suppose you think we should get kingsley back??? mooney was very good against port in all facets except his conversion(shades of kent) hawkins will be a champion in a couple of years and will be more than handy When he regains his spot

i think we've been spreading it around just right for the fringe players.give them a crack....keep it super competitive.it aint easy breaking into the best team in the comp. trav must me stoked to string a few together. loved his chase and tackle last week. and the priz has impressed....how solid are we when hawkins, vegas and byrnes (reality is, most other clubs he'd probably play consistent senior footy), tenace, varcoe etc all struggle to play senior footy at our club....they'd all be walk ups at most other clubs. hawkins could be a machine down the track....i really hope he gets super fit and starts having a shot at goal when in good position.

In my opinion, apart from the way he used the ball (eg. passing off, missing shots), he played ten times better than against North. He kicked about six from the goalsquare last week remember.

He took 13 marks on Sunday - most contested.

In my opinion, apart from the way he used the ball (eg. passing off, missing shots), he played ten times better than against North. He kicked about six from the goalsquare last week remember.

He took 13 marks on Sunday - most contested.

Yep, Moons looked fantastic on Sunday. He is a great contested mark and he could have easily kicked three or four goals. We are just about to click and it is due to Mooney's performance up forward to a large degree.

Against North I was having a joke with one of my mates that Mooney had become a seagull cherry picking goals.

Against Port I poked that same mate and said Mooney back.

I reckon he was far move valuable against Port. Pretty much marked everything put in front of him.