tiggywigs

I have just checked the broadcast guide for the weekend. RFC has been bumped to Fox yet again. (I have lost track of how many weeks it has been since we were on FTA.) Yeah, I know the Cats and Dogs is a good game. But isn't it time that league HQ got involved and made it clear that a minimum number of each clubs games have to be FTA? Access to Fox is not automatic/practical for some fans (and it is killing our exposure for potential new fans - as has been pointed out on these boards before).

It hasn't been bumped. It's been fixtured like that since November.
Geelong vs Dogs is a much more appealing game for FTA and they are the ones who forked out the big bucks.
Also, Foxtel with the sport package costs $55 per month. Less than what most people spend on beer and ciagarettes in a week.
Yes, it can be frustrating for those that don't have it, but the FTA networks pay the money that keeps the clubs afloat. Without it, clubs (including ours) would probably die.

Just go to the game mate

EDIT: Missed the whole hobart thing

Yeah, I'd love to but, as you noticed, it's a bit of swim and even with cheap airfares, the family round trip would cost more than $500. (And yes they are all footy fans.)

As for Cogga, I'm guessing you are sub 40 and have bought the afl HQ line that FTA is a privilege not a footy fan right. Two things, $55 pm is a lot of dough for someone on sub average weekly earnings (and there's a lot of us). Thought this was the 'people's game'.
Second, VFL/AFL only became the pre-eminent footy code in this country because of FTA. It's all about exposure. You can kiss our club goodbye if we keep getting relegated to the Fox bin.

Makes you wonder.

AFL don't care about massive crowds anymore cause they have Foxtel to collect money from.

**** remember the old days when you only got the REPLAY of the LAST QUARTER?

At least it made people go to the games.

Have people forgot how good our run was early in the year and how good its going to finish on FTA?

It's shitty the way they've split the games for us but still we get an 11-11 FTA to Fox split.

Over 22 rounds we are not getting ripped off.

Yeah, I'd love to but, as you noticed, it's a bit of swim and even with cheap airfares, the family round trip would cost more than $500. (And yes they are all footy fans.)

As for Cogga, I'm guessing you are sub 40 and have bought the afl HQ line that FTA is a privilege not a footy fan right. Two things, $55 pm is a lot of dough for someone on sub average weekly earnings (and there's a lot of us). Thought this was the 'people's game'.
Second, VFL/AFL only became the pre-eminent footy code in this country because of FTA. It's all about exposure. You can kiss our club goodbye if we keep getting relegated to the Fox bin.
I take it this was meant for me?
I never said $55 wasn't a lot of money for some. But, a lot of footy followers do complain and then somehow find the cash for beer and ****. It's about $1.50 a day.Just putting it into perspective. If you can't afford it, then I'm not going to pay out on you for that. Some can and then complain that they can't because they want everything given to them.
As for FTA vs Pay TV...sorry, but get used to it. No point complaining (although it's your right to do so) as it's going to get worse..not better.
As for the 'people's game' then you have obviously bought the AFL's spin on that issue as well. It's no longer the people's game at all. It's a corporate business and we, the punters, mean very little although we're made to feel we're the lifeblood of the game. Bullshit! We mean nothing. You can't even stand in a designated standing area at Telstra Dome because there is none. The AFL meant it when they said it was a 'boutique stadium'.
Pay TV will become mandatory pretty soon if you want to watch ANY footy on your TV. FTA will be a thing of the past. Pity the soccer lovers who can't watch any A-League games or the rugby league fans down here who can't even watch their own side on FTA TV.
Also, you make a good point about exposure for our club being on FTA TV. But that will happen as we get better as a club and our onfield performances start improving. We have no Friday night games this year. I'm tipping we'll have a few next year and then a bucketload the following year.

Makes you wonder.

AFL don't care about massive crowds anymore cause they have Foxtel to collect money from.

**** remember the old days when you only got the REPLAY of the LAST QUARTER?

At least it made people go to the games.

LOL Smasha... sounds like you may be a similar vintage to me!

"Footy Replay" on Ch 7 wasn't it? Around 6:30 on Saturday nights showing the last qtr of 2 or 3 games from memory.
Some of my earliest memories of this game - watching Bartlett, Bourke, Clay, Sheedy, Dean etc on the crusty black & white TV on Saturday night whilst eating dinner.
Followed later on by The Penthouse Club with Mary Hardy with live crosses to Mooney Valley for the trots!!!!

Quality entertainment!! :D

"Footy Replay" on Ch 7 wasn't it? Around 6:30 on Saturday nights showing the last qtr of 2 or 3 games from memory.
Some of my earliest memories of this game - watching Bartlett, Bourke, Clay, Sheedy, Dean etc on the crusty black & white TV on Saturday night whilst eating dinner.
Followed later on by The Penthouse Club with Mary Hardy with live crosses to Mooney Valley for the trots!!!!

The Big League - 6.30pm to 8.30pm.

Thats it...
Hosted by Mike Williamson wasn't it?

Actually... just from left field... I think The Banana Splits Show was on earlier in the arvo as well.

How embarrassing! :o

Mate i was just shocked that the bloody bommers were not on TV this weekend

i was sure we were going to be on this weekend because we were playing them the amount of coverage they get....

Thats it...
Hosted by Mike Williamson wasn't it?

Actually... just from left field... I think The Banana Splits Show was on earlier in the arvo as well.

How embarrassing! :o
LMAO. We are of the same vintage. I used to love that show.

The Penthouse Club!!!

What a show!

This thread:

abewavebig.gif

:D

go back a bit further...footy inquest with all the experts sitting behind a white picket fence with Mike Williamson as the anchor man in the middle. Followed by the footy replay. Then followed by the Penthouse Club with Mary Hardy and Bill Collins, with live trots from the showgrounds....;)

LOL.

Hr Puffn Stuff.

Remember that?

Once upon a summer's time
just a dream from yesterday
a boy and his magic golden flute
lured a boat from off the bay
Come and play with me Jimmy
Come and play with me
and i will take you on a trip
far across the seeeeeeeeeea

But the boat belonged to a kooky old witch
you had in mind the flute to snitch
for her broom broom in the sky
she watched her plans materalise
She waved her wand
the beautiful boat was gone
the sky grew dark
the sea grew rough
and the boat sailed on and on and on and on.

But puff n stuff was watching too
and knew exactly what to do
he saw the witches bold attack
and as the boy was fighting back
he called his rescue racers who
as often they'd rehearsed
and off to save the boy they flew
but who would get there first?

But puff arrived to save the day
which made the witch so mad as such
she shook her fist
and screamed away

H R Puff n stuff
he's your friend when things get rough

H R Puff n stuff
can't do a little and he can't do enough.

"calling all evil trees"