FTF Idea...

Had an idea, based on a flashback to the Save Our Skin days, that I wonder if the RFC has considered.

I went to the Legends game that was staged out at Princes Park to watch the Legends of Richmond take on Legends of Carlton and remember it being a ripper day which raised from memory a fair amount of du$hkas.

Back then we had Barrett, Bourke, Roach, Jess, Raines etc all running around and I seem to remember there being a Superboot comp at Half Time which Benny Gale (being one of our up-and-comers) won.

Now hear me out... what if the RFC held such a similar thing with modern day recently retired players, as opposed to older "Legends", against lets say the Kangas who need some extra coin too.

We could have Richo, Knights, Free, Turner, the Gale brothers, Broderick etc being coached by T-Shirt Tommy up against the likes of Carey (if they'd have him), Archer, King etc coached by Schimma or Pagan (again, if they'd have him).

The two clubs split the takings, sell heaps of merch, I remember buying sets of reprinted Tiges premiership Weg posters at a premium price etc etc etc

Hold it at Punt Rd oval... get 10,000 punters in at $10 each, plus merch, plus catering, plus photo opps etc

Hold it at Etihad and get 20,000 punters...?

Surely this would work better than calling for the 19th man and putting up crap?

Just a thought. Would love to see big Richo back in the number 12 for another game too! :D

Have we got any wealthy business people/ supporters?
I see the bumbers have raised over $5million in 2 weeks from getting donations from there wealthy supporters. David Evans and family donated $1million. They have not and wil not go there members/supporters for donations to fund there new training centre.

I read today in the HUN that Melbourne have raised over $5m over last two years to wipe out there debt. The majority raised from there foundation members which must be there wealthy business people.
Dont we have these people?
I know one guy at the opening of the ME Bank Centre contributed $500k which was just under a quarter of what we raised.

Should Benny b hitting up some of the wealthly supporters?

Great idea!

Except the Kangas bit, we would outdraw them 3-1 I'm pretty confident, maybe four to one and it's unfair to split the takings 50-50 with them.

I'd prefer maybe doing it with Carlton again.

Carlton and Richmond have a mutual respect for each other professionally. We both have been through shit times and we will both always be powerhouses. So if they can help erase their own debt, whilst we erase ours, than it's a win for both clubs.

That's something I'd split 50-50.

Kouta Vs. Cuz (why not?!)

SOS Vs. Richo

Gale & Kerna running around together (that would be hilarious because they are both CEO's!)

Maybe have Bartlett & Taylor presenting on the day.

I love the idea, lots of work to build it up, but maybe it's a game we can actually beat Carlton in.

I went to that Carlton Richmond game which would have been around 1990 and remember them saying how it had outdrawn the VFA. It had a bit of humour because people like Ron Barrassi and Robbo who should not have been out there were objects of humour. Ron pranced on the ground and did a hamstring. Rex says he did the other one running off.

I must admit that it was a gas at the time but since then I have seen many of them and with the yearly legends game it doesnt have quite the same novelty.

Would still be a good day but just wondering if it would pull that many people after it has been done so regularly.

I went to that Carlton Richmond game which would have been around 1990 and remember them saying how it had outdrawn the VFA. It had a bit of humour because people like Ron Barrassi and Robbo who should not have been out there were objects of humour. Ron pranced on the ground and did a hamstring. Rex says he did the other one running off.

I must admit that it was a gas at the time but since then I have seen many of them and with the yearly legends game it doesnt have quite the same novelty.

Would still be a good day but just wondering if it would pull that many people after it has been done so regularly.

Rex got his commentating gig after that match I'm pretty sure

He had some decent profile before that game. He was getting big around 1989 but had commentary jobs all through the eighties.

He was though at the beginning of his nineties rise to fame and something like that wouldnt have hurt him.

Bang on Peej...

For some reason my memory banks had the game at Princes Park... Checked back over some stuff i had from the game and it was indeed at Windy Hill.

Good stuff mate.