News FTF Wipes $1Mil From Debt

• Thread starter Thread starter _RT_

Who said I am a member? I am a supporter/stakeholder, When it is worth my while I probably will become a member. I live out of state, there is little need for me to be a member atm. If I knew my membership would not be wasted so that the likes of KB would not have to go and get punching bags for the boys to work out and compete maybe I will become a member!

Mate get a non-game membership it's about $90 per annum.
At least you are adding a membership number.

I live in Perth and get one of these.. although moving to Melbourne in January so I can buy 2 FULL memberships!!! :)

Mate get a non-game membership it's about $90 per annum.
At least you are adding a membership number.

I live in Perth and get one of these.. although moving to Melbourne in January so I can buy 2 FULL memberships!!! :)

There is a country/interstate membership. Plenty of reason to become a member.

Sorry, it was an assumption. What I was getting at, was whether or not as a member you'd somehow missed how you could access this information, and whether or not you'd actually approached the club to obtain the answers to your questions and queries?

Because from personal experience, they've always been very up front and transparent with me or anyone else I know who has approached them with a similar need for information to what you're talking about. Perhaps give that a try before you go making unfounded accusations about transparency or asking people who don't work for the club (and would therefore not be a primary source of information which is useful to you anyway) to regurgitate information for you?

If I'm not sure our family owned local country store which still offers real service and care will be a going concern into the future due to Woolworths trying to run it into the ground, why would I be 'foolish' enough to pay more to support it? Because I see in advance that I'd really miss it if it were gone and I want to do my bit to make sure that doesn't happen.

That's pretty similar to the Richmond analogy, as I see it anyway. Yes it's mismanaged and been that way for decades, doesn't change how much I'd miss it if it wasn't there anymore because not enough people cared enough.

It's everyone's personal choice about if, why and how they contribute to the club, I'm certainly not going to tell you or anyone else how they should go about what is their business. If you want to be sold on the club's vision, learn whatever it is you need before buying a membership, I'm certain they'll be only too happy to accommodate you, it is part of their core business after all.

I love your enthusiasm Rayzor but I can't help but think you are wasting your breath on this one. All the ramblings and lunacy make sense from Magic now. I just don't have time for so-called Richmond supporters who don't buy a membership based on it being worth their while... I buy 2 every year and go to probably 12 -14 games a year. Is that worth my while?? I'm sure there are many Tiger supporters who spend far more than me on the club.... and they don't sook half as much as Magic.... ridiculous

All the ramblings and lunacy make sense from Magic now.

You've clearly had an epiphany which I'm yet to experience pc. ;)

I just don't have time for so-called Richmond supporters...

I've seen too many people stagger out of the bush with gold nuggets worth hundreds of thousands, lay personal claim to mineral wealth worth more than they could spend in 10,000 lifetimes, hit freakish gambling targets and more than enough other really strange things involving money, intelligence and a general lack thereof, to know that there's some chance that quite literally anyone and everyone could quite possibly have never been a member of the club and one day be in a position to throw in more than you and I combined have ever been able to.

So my only philosophy is encourage everyone and discourage nobody when it comes to financially keeping the club afloat.

The 'Membership Stick' gets nobody anywhere IMO, though I surely know why the stick gets pulled out. ;)

So, you're not a member, and you're not going to join until you're convinced the club doesn't need your money, and you can't be bothered doing your own research.

I now regret taking the time to reply to you. Go talk to the trees, I'm sure they'll care about your baseless opinions at least as much as I do.

I do not throw good money after bad!!!

I spend over a 1000K each year just on AFL pay tv subscriptions, let alone the money I churn on the punt!!

If RFC use the money well I will join but , like with many other organisations that cannot be guaranteed.

I love the club and have followed them for 35 years plus and always will but at the moment I believe I am serving their interests better by not being a member. I wouldn't bang on about them on this website if I didn't!

The RFC cannot be run like a charity. If it does it will not survive. Just like govt cannot survive without St Vincents, Australia long term will not be able to compete with the third world globally.

I do not know KB personally, but the fact he had to get punching bags etc... to help the boys out , and SOS is not good enough.

I am no judge but the club needs to be responsible, and I could see this as a teen. I do not like knowing my club I have a passion for could go under when I am a emotional teen a few years back and I can do little to stop this. Treat me as a fan with respect by getting the ship in order and I will respect you. I do not want RFC to be the next fitzroy!!!

When the club gets fiscally responsible , becomes a going concern without handouts from fans and the AFL, apart from membership , I will happily do justice to myself and the club and join.

If the club is on the brink of going belly up I will chip in, and I buy the odd jacket here and there etc... but at the end of the day in any relationship, I am no punching bag for others to exploit and be used for whatever. Look after yourself, and I will become a member and look after you!!!

At the end of the day , a sales pitch like the Greek head honcho is not going to cut it, the debt needs to be wiped out.

Apart, from the colours, song etc.. I picked RFC team when I was four or so because they looked like , and seemed to play like winners.

Show me the club are winners of the field in action like on the field and I will pay back in spades.

At the moment, tough love is the best medicine the way I see it, and the best way I can help RFC out is to get them to get their off field conditioning right and healthy regarding the balance sheet by them being forced to for their own good. Debt is a drug like Cousins ectasy or whatever, and RFC needs to be weened of it IMO!!

Champions perform best when their backs are to the wall, so when RFC pulls the trigger and gets out of the debt issue I am happy to be a partner!!!

$1000K on AFL pay tv subscriptions? :eek::eek:

And I bitch about my bill for $120 a month

For a mill a year, I hope they threw in the pr0n channels for free :thumbsu:

I spend over a 1000K each year just on AFL pay tv subscriptions, let alone the money I churn on the punt!!

If RFC use the money well I will join
but , like with many other organisations that cannot be guaranteed.

Ironic.

The point is, I spend 1K a year on AFL subscriptions (typo is 1000K ) but RFC is better off without my $90 membership coin atm IMO.

It is not about me obviously but I want RFC to stand up strong on its own to feet and not be dependant on AFL HQ or any other subsidy.. I want RFC to get the best most competent toughest strongest people around to exploit the most out of the little they can get. I do not want operators dependant on excess spending from handouts!! I do not want another barren budget for the players to progress etccc. and I like 10 year plans sustainable, not 3 year visions but that is just me!

I will join eventually, because but not at the moment I get no benefit from becoming member except to help RFC as I am away from attending games physically except on TV. Naturally, if I was in Melbourne I would have to join to go to the footy but it is different when you are interstate!

If I think I can help RFC more by not paying $90 until it gets it debt in order I will because RFC no heading down the Fitzroy path operationally is a higher priority than winning a premiership!!!

The point is, I spend 1K a year on AFL subscriptions (typo is 1000K ) but RFC is better off without my $90 membership coin atm IMO.

It is not about me obviously but I want RFC to stand up strong on its own to feet and not be dependant on AFL HQ or any other subsidy.. I want RFC to get the best most competent toughest strongest people around to exploit the most out of the little they can get. I do not want operators dependant on excess spending from handouts!! I do not want another barren budget for the players to progress etccc. and I like 10 year plans sustainable, not 3 year visions but that is just me!

I will join eventually, because but not at the moment I get no benefit from becoming member except to help RFC as I am away from attending games physically except on TV. Naturally, if I was in Melbourne I would have to join to go to the footy but it is different when you are interstate!

If I think I can help RFC more by not paying $90 until it gets it debt in order I will because RFC no heading down the Fitzroy path operationally is a higher priority than winning a premiership!!!

Can I just say that you are an absolute douche and this will be the last time I even remotely take anything seriously from you. :thumbsd:

You've clearly had an epiphany which I'm yet to experience pc. ;)

I've seen too many people stagger out of the bush with gold nuggets worth hundreds of thousands, lay personal claim to mineral wealth worth more than they could spend in 10,000 lifetimes, hit freakish gambling targets and more than enough other really strange things involving money, intelligence and a general lack thereof, to know that there's some chance that quite literally anyone and everyone could quite possibly have never been a member of the club and one day be in a position to throw in more than you and I combined have ever been able to.

So my only philosophy is encourage everyone and discourage nobody when it comes to financially keeping the club afloat.

The 'Membership Stick' gets nobody anywhere IMO, though I surely know why the stick gets pulled out. ;)

I'll still happily discuss club related things with non-members, but when someone is having a rant with a clear lack of understanding of what's happening and complaining about not having information, yet being unwilling to do even basic research...He's not worth my time.

I love your enthusiasm Rayzor but I can't help but think you are wasting your breath on this one. All the ramblings and lunacy make sense from Magic now. I just don't have time for so-called Richmond supporters who don't buy a membership based on it being worth their while... I buy 2 every year and go to probably 12 -14 games a year. Is that worth my while?? I'm sure there are many Tiger supporters who spend far more than me on the club.... and they don't sook half as much as Magic.... ridiculous

Same. I upgraded to a 3121 membership this year, even though I really don't care much about the vast majority of the 'extras' it brings. I just figure I could afford a bit extra, so I did I (if FTF had been launched then, I might have put the money there instead).

As an example, one 'benefit' I considered was that it gives social club access, which I never used, but it gives me access to a grand final if/when we make it. Now, all but the most opimistic would probably agree that if I saved that money, I could buy one of those commercial 'event' packages, and save money overall. But my hope is that by doing it this way, will, in my own small way, bring that day closer, so I did it.

I must say Mr Magic I find your logic puzzling to say the least. The whole point of the FTF is to fund the improvements required to make us competitive, which in turn will increase our membership, which will in turn make us wealthier, which will in turn allow us to get red if the debt. There's a whole chicken and egg thing going on here, and to me you are arguing that until the club is successful you won't give them money, which is what I think they need to be successful.

Out of interest, at what point will you be convinced that it's no longer a 'waste' to give them a modest membership fee?

Personally, even though I live interstate I purchase an Interstate Membership on the rationale that I watch them every week, and therefore even though I'm not at the game they are providing a service (entertainment if you like) that I feel obliged to pay for.